Weekly Workout Recap

Earlier this month I mentioned that I was shutting down Noshing on Asphalt and that my last post would be on June 26th. Unfortunately one of the {unspecified} life events that I mentioned on my horizon has officially (and unexpectedly) jumped forward. It’s now staring me in the eyes, demanding my full attention. I hate it when life doesn’t follow my timeline….Ugh. So this Friday will be my last post. I’m sorry to be so vague but since this is a public blog I don’t want to advertise everything to the world. A girl’s gotta have some secrets, right? 😉

As far as workouts go last week, they were hit or miss.  Honestly, more miss than hit since I was dealing with some personal stuff.

Weekly Workout Recap:

Monday: Yoga.
Tuesday: Nada.
Wednesday: 6 mile beach run.
Thursday: Nothing.
Friday: Nothing….again.
Saturday: 7 mile run.
Sunday: House/yard work. Lots of it in 103* heat index.  Totally counts as a workout, right?

Speaking of Saturday’s long run, I have a confession to make.  It almost didn’t happen.  Friday night, I was the embodiment of a stress eater which is something that rarely happens.  I got home late, got some not so great news and didn’t have any clean or paleo food prepped. I was tired and didn’t feel like going to the grocery store to get ingredients to make anything.  So what did I do? I hopped online and ordered pizza.

download

And I paid for it dearly…..let’s just say my body HATED me.  When 4:30am came around to get up for the long run I was still feeling incredibly sick. Why did I eat that crap??  I know my body can’t handle it.  I considered not going but I knew I needed to for my own sanity.  So I hauled my butt out of bed, questioned what in the world I was doing, and got dressed. I selected my Zombie Run t-shirt since it was most reflective of my grumpy disposition…and I felt like the walking dead.

Yikes. No makeup, 4ish hours of sleep and

My poor running girls, this is what they had to deal with on Saturday.  Grumpy, sick Gina with only 4 hours of sleep and no makeup.

I met my favorite running girls for 7-10 miles (ended up with 7) and I was so glad I did. By the end of the run I had perked and felt much better.  I ❤ my running girls.

I’m so disappointed with myself and my workout last week but it is what it is.  And this week isn’t going to be much better. Although, I know I will at least get some exercise this week since I’m committed to a duathlon. YAY!!! This was my first ever duathlon and last year I placed 3rd in my age group. I’m in better shape this year so  hoping to come home with another trophy.

My running buddy Lorena signed up, too, which made this race even better!

From last year’s duathlon.
This is Lorena, one of my best running friends. She keeps me accountable when I don’t want to be (or when I eat pizza the night before a run).

Don’t forget, today’s the last day to enter my Gymboss giveaway! 🙂

Question:  Were your workouts hit or miss last week?

12 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap

  1. I’m so sorry to hear things in your personal life are difficult right now and I hope things get better for you. Obviously I’ll miss your posts so much but this is for the best for you. Some weeks are better than others. This just happened to be an off week. Look at it as some nice rest before your training for the duathlon picks up!

  2. I’m excited for you about your duathlon. I’ve thought before I wouldn’t do a tri, but would love to do a duo!
    Papa Johns pizza is my favorite!
    I will definitely miss you. I will be praying for you girlie!

  3. Ugh. Sorry to hear you had a yucky long run. It’s so easy to give into temptation in a weak moment. My workouts last week were spot on, thank goodness. I was on vacation and there were a LOT of calories consumed. 😉
    Good luck with your life changes!

  4. It’s the worst when life doesn’t follow the plan, ugh. Hang in there, friend–sending positive vibes your way! (And please let me know if I can do anything!) Anyway, on a positive note, I’m SO excited to hear how you kick butt (yes, it’s inevitable) at your duathlon! 🙂

  5. I’m sorry to hear about all this, but I’m glad a good run got you feeling a little better. I’ll be praying for you hardcore, and I hope things start to look up. And I can’t wait to hear about your duathlon! I’ve been toying with the idea of doing one someday.

  6. This past week my workouts were a MISS MISS MISS, I worked a lot and used that as an excuse not to run! I did walk a lot..I’ll take that hahaha.

  7. GIna:

    Best of luck to you in all your endeavors. I can only imagine the time that a quality blog takes. I know I speak for everyone in thanking you for the time and effort. You have a great writing voice and I hope time allows you to express it in the future.

Leave a Reply

