Weekly Workout Recap

For the first time in a long time, I feel like I’m finally getting back on track with my workouts.  I wish I would have gotten a few more miles in but I’m definitely happy with myself.

My view from Saturday's long run. Gorgeous.

My view from Saturday’s long run. Gorgeous.

Monday:  3.5 mile beach run.

Tuesday: Cycling (8.54 miles in 30 minutes), weights – hip abductors & adductors,  triceps, biceps and deltoids.

Wednesday: Happy National Running Day! 4.5 miles with my two favorite running girls.

Thursday: Quickie weights session – biceps, triceps, deltoids, lats.

Friday: Rest day – holla!

Saturday: 10 mile run.  First double digit run in way too long.

Sunday: HIIT workout.

Well there you have it, last week’s sweat sessions.  And I have big plans on the workout front this week, too.  Ok, not really.  I’m just hoping to keep up the momentum, add some yoga and foam rolling into the mix.  I definitely feel less stressed when I can get some good workouts in.  I sleep better and am a happier person to be around – my hubby can vouch for that.

Speaking of The Hubster, I have to brag on him for a minute.  He ventured outside of his NON-clean eating comfort zone to try some Paleo banana raisin bread I made.  And {drumroll please} he liked it!  Maybe I shouldn’t have written him off as a lost cause. =D

970444_640860555942369_1063899956_n

Big props to my friend Carrie at Fitness and Frozen Grapes for the awesome recipe.  It was super simple to make and I can vouch that it’s worth the ingredients to try it.  Although, I noticed that I lacked a bit of self control -3 huge pieces right out of the oven- so I will only make this periodically.  Even though it’s paleo, it still should be viewed as a decadent treat.

Question:  What did you do this weekend that made you happy?

21 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap

  1. haha hubs eats what I buy but I see him sneak unhealthy stuff here and there….grunt-grunt-men..I WENT TO DISNEY!…sorry, I didn’t steal you to go with 😉

  2. That bread looks really delicious! Sounds like you had a great week of workouts too- yay for getting the workout mojo back and good luck adding in the yoga.

  3. Great workouts sweetie! I went to an art fest in the city and had a wonderful visit w a sweet friend of mine this wkend! A lovely much needed break!!

  4. Ohh great workouts!! I also love that you got your husband to try some caveman food! I swoon for men that are open to new foods! I ventured to Seattle this weekend, and it was marvelous!

    • Why thank ya ma’am! I was absolutely shocked that the even tried it, let alone liked it. My hubby doesn’t venture too far off the beaten path (which happens to be lined with hamburgers). Glad you had an awesome weekend in Seattle!

    • I definitely think a disclaimer would have been appropriate. Something like, “Caution, this bread has been known to cause spontaneous bouts of binge eating and loss of control. Bake at your own discretion.”

    • It ’twas fantastic, Abby! I used almond flour so technically it’s low carb/high protein ‘bread’. Don’t ask about the fat content though. That’s a different story altogether.

  5. I’m glad to see someone elses significant other is really good at cooking. Tim makes a ton of bread…and I can’t bake at all. Maybe it’s different for you LOL. Great workout week as well. Hope you are able to keep the momentum going! 🙂

  6. The banana bread looks delish!! I feel off balance since I’ve had such a busy weekend and beginning of week! Two days working at aquarium followed by a LONG drive to LA! Yesterday I went for a swim but was still super wiped out….but yes I understand feeling ‘out of sorts’ when your regular workout routine goes out the window and how good it feels to get back to it!

    Today I’m heading to a yoga class and maybe doing some strength training in the afternoon (depending on how I feel, if I’m still wiped from weekend craziness!)

  7. Pingback: Fit-Fashion Friday | Sheer Embellished

Leave a Reply

