Friday Favorites

Hoooooray for Fridays! In anticipation of the weekend, I thought I’d share some bits and pieces of things in my life that I’m absolutely loving lately.  These things never fail to bring a smile to face.

Cat bearding. Seriously. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, stop whatever you’re doing and search #catbeard on Instagram.  It’s so wrong in so many ways but I just die laughing.

My failed cat beard attempt.

Failed cat beard attempt. My poor cat….

Gymboss.  I have been wanting an interval timer forever and finally have one! I especially like that it looks & feels like a ’90s pager.  Every time it vibrates and beeps I’m temped to make a huge scene in the gym like I just got an emergency page. If only I had the stones to actually do it…. Be on the lookout for a fun Gymboss giveaway I have coming your way.

Kickin' 1990s style complete with neon.

Kickin’ 1990s style complete with neon.

Vega Energizing Smoothie.  This made my favorites list for two reasons.  1.) My breakfast isn’t complete without it, and 2.) I’m lazy and this is a great way to get nutrition in a glass.  Breakfast is a meal that I really don’t like spending much time on.   With this shake (it’s not smoothie in my book) I get to start my day with two servings of veggies, protein, fiber and Omega-3.  Plus it’s gluten/dairy free.  I like a bit more protein so I still eat either eggs or turkey sausage with it.

Vega

Vega Energizing Smoothie. I’ve gone through 3 1/2 bags of this in 8 weeks…

Freshly cut grass.  Did I just admit to that? Whatever. I don’t care if you know I’m weird like that.   I love it. It instantly reminds me of summer and floods me with memories from growing up.  I don’t know why, but I have Minnesota (where I spent a lot of my childhood) attached to that smell.

The beach.  I guess because I live on the coast most summers I don’t have much of an interest in going to the beach.  I mean I run it ALL the time but never just go and hangout.  However, I’ve already enjoyed several days this year of lounging around with my Nook and I plan on enjoying several more.

Super windy trip to the beach.

Super windy trip to the beach.

Woodchuck Hard Cider.  No, this isn’t real food and yes, I realize that this is absolutely nutrient void.  I don’t drink Woodchuck Hard Cider very often but when I do, one word: YUM! This gluten free cider is the perfect compliment to my hubby’s fantabulous grilled steaks.  I recently discovered the summer version which has just a hint of blueberry.  Plus it’s paleo approved which makes me feel a bit less badly about imbibing it.

woodchuck

Question:  What are you loving lately?

41 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. Beachhhh. I won’t be loving it by next week when I’ve been there for 40 hours already. I’ve never seen the interval thing but that’s really cool! Have a great weekend 🙂

  2. What I would give for a beach getaway right now! Instead I’m going to Montauk, which is still an escape from the city, so it’s fine. 😉 Happy Friday, Gina!

    • I just had to Google Tribe Everything Hummus and now I’m seriously jealous that I’ve never seen it in any of my grocery stores. I loooove hummus! And country music, too. Hey Pretty Lady is currently at the top of my list – I’m a sucker for a sweet song.

      • me too!!! anything luke bryan and blake shelton is what I am clearly digging these days! hahaha. omg.

  3. First of all, I think your cat bearding attempt was pretty good! I’ve only seen a handful of them, but they all make me laugh. And I absolutely love the beach – hoping this tropical storm is completely gone by tomorrow morning because I plan on spending some serious time reading on the beach.

    • Haha, thanks Taryn! I’m not sure I’ll attempt a cat beard redo so that one will have to do. =D Fingers crossed that nasty Angela goes away ASAP. It’s not a great sign to have a TS this early in the season.

  4. I THINK YOUR CAT BEARD looks great!! If you look at it just the right way you will die laughing, or maybe that’s just me haha. I think a LOT of people love the smell of fresh cut grass! IT brings me the same memories as you. I recently tried Angry Orchard Hard Apple Cider and OMG YUM! I can’t handle much more than that though haha.

    • Girrrrrrrl, I die laughing just because I’m me. 😉 Life’s WAY too short to be serious all the time. Definitely check out Woodchuck’s hard cider, I actually like it better than Angry Orchard – it’s that good!

  5. LOL, that cat beard. Why had I never heard of that…now I literally cannot stop laughing LOL. I think perhaps we have the same sense of humor I suppose. I also like freshly cut grass/trees but I don’t have allergies.

  6. haha catbeard!!

    hmm fave thing right now would be to get this brace off and go for a pain free relaxing run somewhere it’s about 55 out!

  7. Your cat beard is hilarious. I’ve seen these and I die laughing all the time. 😀 I TOTALLY LOVE that Vega energizing smoothie. It’s SO delicious, I can’t believe it’s plant based. I used their vegan protein powder a few years ago and couldn’t help think it tasted like dirt. They’ve really improved on their products.
    Ah the beach. What I would give to be able to wander down the beach, sit in the sun and listen to the ocean. Instead we have a big cold lake (which I still love, I’m not gonna lie) and less than ideal temps for early June. I wore BOOTS yesterday. Not winter ones but boots none the less. I should be wearing sandals by now. 😦

    • I’m so glad I’m not the only one who finds cat bearding hilarious! I haven’t tried their protein powder but I’m in the market for a new one and was considering them. However, I’m not a big fan of dirt – lol!

      I love living so close to the beach! I can’t imagine boots in June unless they’re rain boots!! Although, I grew up in the land of 10,000 big cold lakes (i.e. Minnesota) so I understand where you’re coming from.

  8. I was thinking of getting an app that does what the gymboss does, lol. Had no idea something like the gymboss existed! I too live by the beach, but I don’t ‘hang out’ there cuz its always super breezy and not the stereotypical ‘gorgeous beach days’.

    What I love right now are my asymmetrical long sheer skirts! And wedges 🙂 I have a graduation to go to next weekend and I’m so excited to wear cute clothes! Not many opportunities when I am in lab or at home working…. Plus I’ll be doing thesis coding poolside when I see my mom next week 🙂

  9. You can come mow my lawn if you want that fresh cut grass smell! We’ve had so much rain that our yard is quite lush.

    Things that I love. My cats, even though they wake me up in the middle of the night just to be petted. My Melaleuca Fiberwise, a fiber drink that I drink daily and would be lost without it. My crazy awesome family (extended included 😉 ) that is so supportive. I have so many more, but I’ll leave it at that!

    • Trust me, you don’t want me to mow your lawn. I attempted to mow my lawn once nine years ago and Jody banned me from ever doing it again. I did that awesome of a job… o.O

      I love your cats, too! They all have such amazing personalities. {Just like our crazy awesome family}

    • Obviously, I really like it but it does take a bit of adjusting to the taste. I’ve tried all of the flavors and my least liked one is the bodacious berry which is a shame because it has such a great name. The choc-a-lot is the bomb though.

  10. I’ve heard some great things about VEGA products so I’m going to be giving them a try. I’m excited to experiment!

  11. Pingback: HIIT it Like a Boss! {Gymboss Giveaway} | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

