Weekly Workout Recap & The Beginning of the End

First things first.  Let kick today’s post off with my recap of last week’s workouts:

Monday: 3 miles speed work + HIIT workout.

Tuesday: 4 mile run.

Wednesday: Yoga

Thursday: Workout fail.

Friday: Another workout fail.

Saturday: 7 mile run (with some walking)

Sunday: Third workout fail of the week.

You may or may not have noticed a pattern emerging over the past several weeks with my workouts.  They’ve been significantly decreased in both the amount I workout in the week and the intensity/duration of my runs.  That fact really bothers me (and simply isn’t acceptable) which brings me to the 2nd part of today’s post: The Beginning of the End.

June will be Noshing on Asphalt’s last month.  This isn’t a decision that I’ve come to lightly; I’ve actually been contemplating this for several months now.  I fought the idea for a while because I feel like a have a responsibility to you, my lovely readers, but the truth is that I have some personal things going on in my life that need my attention.  (Don’t worry, nothing’s wrong with me; I’m not sick or anything.)

I’ve been trying to juggle things but I keep coming up short. I don’t have enough time to get things done and it’s been putting a strain on me emotionally and now physically.  The only thing that I can do to create more time is reduce my hobbies and I’m not willing to nix the workouts – especially with training for marathon #3 starting soon.  The time I spend running helps me clear my mind.  It’s my time to be selfish, to problem solve, to chat with my girlfriends.  Basically, running/working out is my sanity.

When I started Noshing on Asphalt (my first post almost exactly a year ago) it was a way for me to keep my family and friends updated with training for my first marathon which I was running in memory of my brother.  I didn’t anticipate my little slice of the blog world growing the way it did but I have enjoyed every minute of it!  I’ve met some amazing people, worked with some great companies and really have learned a lot about myself.

I can honestly say I’ve pushed myself harder this past year then I have any other year of my life.  I’ve enjoyed shattering barriers and pushing past my limits.  Your constant motivation and encouragement has been a huge part of my growth. Whether you realize it or not, you held me accountable for the goals I set.

The next few weeks you can still expect my usual Monday, Wednesday, Friday ramblings but Wednesday the 26th will be my last one.  I don’t know if it will be the last Noshing on Asphalt post forever, but at least it is for the foreseeable future.

Question: Do you ever find yourself struggling to balance things?

42 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap & The Beginning of the End

  1. Ohh my goodness this makes me SO sad, but you have to do what is best for you!! BE SELFISH!! Please! I hope things start to smooth out in your world. I contemplated the same thing actually because my life is crazy right now. I feel like I am being thrown into the wringer of finally figuring out who I am and every thing has changed in such a quick time. It’s been hard, but I do find at times blogging helps. To each their own though! I hope you still keep the blog alive, and that way you can pop in anytime you want! I’ll of course be reading your posts for the rest of this month, and after that I hope to see you on Instagram occasionally!!! I admire your decision!!

    • I’ll still be around! =D Blogging definitely helps me sort through things and decompress but lately it’s been more of a stressor which led me to make the decision. I might pop in from time to time just so my cranial cavity doesn’t burst from all the stuff I have running through my head. Please tell me that at random times of the day your brain just starts writing a post without any consideration as to if you have the tools to write it down. I always have thoughts run through my head when I’m not near anything to write them down.

  2. This makes me super sad, but I am proud of you for the realization – it’s not an easy one! You gotta take care of you. While, of course, I hope we’ll NoA come back, I’m so glad for our connection. And that’s what Facebook is for, no? 😉

    xoxo Cheers to balancing, having a happy life, and taking time for YOU. ❤

  3. Absolutely understand..

    I’ve noticed in the past year since I’ve been blogging that bloggers seem to come and go.. but it’s sad when one of my best bloggy buddies is leaving the blogosphere! You’re the third one of my besties in the past couple months!

    Obviously you are #1 most important to yourself and if blogging is getting in the way, it’s a logical step back.

    I will miss you 😉 And hope you at least stay in touch on my blog or Facebook or twitter! 🙂

    And if you ever find that helicopter headed towards Detroit.. you better stop!

    • Aw, blog bestie. *tear* I promise I will still be around on the web. And of course I can’t stop following my crossfit inspiration while she trains for her first 1/2 marathon!! Don’t doubt yourself, Jen, you can totally do it. And yes, if I ever find that magical helicopter, I will totally head to Detroit! You can make me do clean and jerks and I’ll make you run. Sound like a deal?

  4. oh no 😦 I feel ya sister. I’ve been so crazy balancing my life with studying, being a wife, working full time, and then blogging..it does get really hard. I know that I have to step back some days and not post even though I want to. So I understand what you’re going through. At least I can alllllways fiiiinnnndd youuuu 😉 xoxo

    • Yes, you’re a supa doopa busy lady, too! Although blogging will do nothing but help your future personal training business so no shutting down Sneakers and Fingerpaints, ya hear?! And seriously, I’m to come find you, Beka and Kris for a race sometime – maybe 2014??

  5. Gina, you will be greatly missed but you are an inspiration in so many ways! GOOD FOR YOU for putting yourself first! Sadly, I think that women especially, judge themselves on how much they can do at one time when really, setting priorities and taking care of ourselves is so much more important! Proud of you!

    • Thank you so much, Melissa. ❤ I think you're right about how we tend to pile stuff upon ourselves. Why in the world do we do that??? You can mail me the bill for your professional LMSW (LCSW??) opinion. =D

  6. Hi Gina! Even though I seldom comment, I’ve been following you for almost a year now. I’m so sorry to see you go! Your first responsibility has to be to yourself, because without that, you can do little else. I will miss reading your exploits but hope to see you on the course someday (perhaps when I run my first Princess in Feb?) I’ve learned a lot from you so want to wish you much success in whatever it is that you are working on. Find your balance and come back anytime!

    • Hi Robin! Thank you so much for following my crazy journey! I’m surprised you didn’t jump off this crazy ride awhile ago – lol. I’m so excited for you to run Princess (hello, amazingly fun costumes) and I know that you’ll have a blast. Thank you so much for the well wishes my friend.

  7. Gina – you have to do what is best for you. I applied for an ambassadorship/position (I don’t know what to call it). I took it very personally when they said I didn’t blog consistently enough. I was offended. Then, I looked at the last couple months (this was a while ago) and I saw that I must be doing other things I really wasn’t blogging consistently. That said, I still only blog when I have something to say. Realize we are all out here for you, whenever and however often you want.

    • I think companies don’t realize who they pass up when they set silly limitations like that. I would rather read a blogger that periodically posts genuine, heartfelt content then one who just puts up stuff to have something up. Good for you, Nicki, for staying true to yourself. That’s hard to do these days. Thank you for the kind words, too, they really mean a lot.

  8. I’ll miss you in the blog world and I do hope that you will check in (if only via twitter) once in awhile but I also completely understand where you’re coming from. Real life comes first. Every time. The blog world is great but it can’t replace the relationships and every day events, nor should it. I think you’re making the right decision for you, and that’s what matters.

    • I’m terrible with keeping twitter updated but who knows, with a bit more time on my hands I might just keep up with it now. 🙂 I promise to keep sharing my race exploits and groans about training and other mundane (but fun to me) running things.

      PS – You’re completely right. Real world trumps virtual any day.

  9. 😦 I’m sorry to hear this. You have been an inspiration for so many and I know you’ve touched a lot of people. I’m so blessed that I get to keep contact with you! You are an amazing writer and you have an eloquent way with words that really speaks to people. I know you are making the best decision for you and Jody and this was just one path on your life journey. It’s time to move on. Love you so much my dear and I can’t wait to see you in person in a few weeks! ♥

    • Why thank you my sweet friend. I don’t feel at all worthy of the adjective ‘inspiration’. Honestly, I really feel quite narcissistic with always talking about myself and my escapades. So thank you for saying that, it really made my day when I read it. I’m so incredibly excited to see you soon, too!

  10. I’m so sad to see this is the end of your blog, but I totally get why it is. Real life comes before blogging, and it’s so, so, SO important to realize that we can’t do it all, at least not all at the same time. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and reading your posts, and I wish you nothing but wonderful things going forward. I’m happy you’ll carry to the end of the month, but I hope to see you again after 🙂

    • Thank you, Amanda. ❤ It was a hard decision but I know in my heart that it's the right one. And don't worry, I'll still check in on your hotter then hades (i.e. summer) 1/2 marathon training.

  11. Awww, this is sad news, Gina, but I know you’re making the right choice. Thanks for letting us tag along on your running adventures!

  12. Oh no so sorry to see you go. You and your blog have really been an inspiration for me. Thank you for the time that you did spend with us! Best of luck in the future, and I still hope to see you pop up on Twitter to tell us about all your running awesomeness!

  13. Noooooo….don’t go Gina Loo!! How about just backing off, maybe blog once every couple weeks, once a month- something, anything! (I know all the right things I’m supposed to say, but I’m feeling selfish at the moment. ;))

  14. Oh my gosh. I am completely heartbroken right now!!! I have loved reading your posts and building a friendship with you over the last year, but i totally understand. I am planning to now just stalk you all other methods possible ;0) heeheehee i love you gina!!!

    • No, don’t be heartbroken! But I do understand how you feel. I miss my Daily Smile terribly. The lovely thing about all of this is that we can still keep up with each other on facebook. ❤

  15. Oh Gina I will miss you lots my dear! I understand the need to take an extended/possibly indefinite break from blogging, I find I’ve been lacking on my blog lately since I really really REALLY need to finish my Masters by the end of the year. Its just hard trying to keep up with everyone, blogging all the time, doing my masters and dealing with my changing family/home life.

    I know this is not ‘the end’, but I just wanted to say that you are such a kind soul and I’m really glad to have gotten to ‘virtually’ know you over the past few months. Hugs to you and Riley!

    • I have no doubt that you will finish your masters this year, Nicole. You seem so dedicated and in love with what your studying. Don’t feel bad to take time for yourself away from blogging. As fun as it is, maintaining the blog just takes SO much time. From updating social media, to researching material for posts to keeping up with my favorite bloggers, it really started to consume almost all of my extra free time. I’m sure it’s pretty similar for you, too.

      Thank you so much for joining me the past few months on my various journeys. Big Sur still tops my marathon racecation list so hopefully our paths will cross in the future. After all, you are Master TO Marathons! 🙂

  16. Pingback: Beat the Heat: Summer Training Tips | Noshing On Asphalt

  17. This is really sad to hear Gina (as you were def one of my favorite bloggers). If you want to send me an email: lolzthatswim at gmail-I’d love to add you as a friend on facebook and keep in touch. You are incredible.

    • Aw, thanks Hollie! You’re not rid of me yet, I promise to still keep up with your pancake/waffle making, speed demon, race winning self! I’ll try to stalk you on facebook, too. =D

  18. Pingback: Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

