Weekly Workout Recap

Hi y’all! Did you miss me? Maybe not. I won’t fault you if you didn’t realize I’ve been AWOL for the past several days from this overly connected online world I’m part of.  No blogging, facebooking, tweeting or instagramming since last Friday.

Instead, I’ve been having a blast with The Hubster traipsing around the Great Smoky Mountains.  We had plenty of online opportunities at our condo but I decided to take advantage of the time with my hubby and completely unplug. It was glorious having that online connection severed for almost 5 days. I highly encourage you to unplug every once in a while.

Just one of the many ahhhhmazing views from this weekend.

Just one of the many ahhhhmazing views from this weekend.

I realize that posting my weekly workout recap on a Wednesday is a but out of character for me but I feel like it keeps me accountable during the week knowing I have to post it for everyone to see.  Don’t worry, I’ll post more pictures of my Smoky Mountain getaway soon.

Weekly Workouts (4/29-5/5)

This is the am circuit I reference. It kicked my butt.

This is the am circuit I reference. It kicked my butt.

Monday: AM circuit, 4 mile run w/4 strides, 80 walking lunges.

Tuesday: AM circuit, cycling 8.36 miles in 30 minutes (hill work + 30 sec intervals of 140 rpm), weights – pecs, deltoids, biceps, abs.

Wednesday: Yoga – hip flexors, all other exercises cancelled thanks to a crazy storm. 😦 I’m talking flash floods, tornado warnings and people being evacuated from their homes.

Thursday: 2 rounds of am circuit (plank to failure only once). I was literally dripping sweat.

Friday: Travel day…Great Smoky Mountains, here we come!

Saturday: 8 mile mountain hike, 2 mile shakeout run (18:48).

This sea-level girl definitely noticed the elevation and over 700 ft. elevation gain.

This sea-level girl definitely noticed the elevation and over 700 ft. elevation gain.

Sunday: 30 minutes easy cycling (6.06 miles). Our hiking plans were squashed thanks to a heavy rain; ironically the same weather system that thwarted my Wednesday run plans at home

Question:  Do you ever take time for yourself or with your family and just completely unplug?

21 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap

  1. I need to unplug more often! I swear at times I am attached to my phone. It’s embarrassing really. I will try to unplug at least once a week!

  2. Completely unplugging has really helped me grow to enjoy blogging more. Like running breaks, taking blogging breaks make me want to actually blog versus feel pressured to do it you know?

  3. I have been MIA lately as well. I have taken a bit of a rest in the workout front and just in general haven’t had much to talk about. I have been spending a lot less time glued to the computer screen – and work has been crazy busy!

  4. I definitely missed your posts and am super jeal of your trip!! Ive always wanted to go to the smoky mts! Im so glad u had a great time!!

Leave a Reply

