Warrior Dash Recap

I have been wanting to do a mud run for about a year and a half but it hasn’t worked out with my race schedule until now.  Saturday morning I woke up nice and early to get ready for my first mud run.  I did what I normally do when I first wake up on race morning and checked the weather.

weather

Say WHAT?! 39 degrees?! Temps like that are unheard of in Mississippi this time of year.  I grumbled a bit to my husband’s 17 year old cousin who was doing the race with me.  This was his first race ever and I was excited that he was such a good sport to go with me.  He doesn’t want to be on the blog so there won’t be any pictures but I just have to say that we made a great team! I seriously wouldn’t have been able to make it over some obstacles without him.

My wave didn’t start until 10 but we had to be bused into the event grounds so we left the house around 8.  On the bus ride into the Warrior Dash I noticed just how soggy everything was.  It had rained pretty hard in the days before the race so there was plenty of standing water.  Think swampland(ish).   Registration was a breeze as was our gear check so we had plenty of time to wander around and snap a few pictures.

warrior dash

I watched a couple waves go off and then lined up about 15 minutes prior to our wave time.  Unfortunately, people were getting into waves they didn’t sign up for so I ended up waiting an extra 45 minutes.  On the plus side, it warmed up into the 50’s by the time my wave started.

IMG_2665

3….2….1….And we’re off! 3.6 muddy miles of barbed wire, rope climbs, swimming and FUN.  Because of all the rain earlier in the week, most of the course was under at least  1″+ of water so my shoes were soaked before the first obstacle.  Also, because of the rain, it was hard to tell some of the pits that the Warrior Dash had dug out until you saw someone fall waist deep into what you previously thought was solid ground.

IMG_2668

This was the first & last picture my hubby took before the finish line. The course was completely out of the spectator’s view.

After 10ish minutes (no Garmin = no accurate time) I came to my first obstacle which was the barbed wired crawl.  The trick to this one is to keep your butt low to the ground which for some reason is hard for me. I got snagged a few times but made it out with my clothes in tact.

In the effort of NOT turning this post into a book, I’m just going to post pictures of the remaining obstacles.

These were the obstacles. (If you can't tell, it's from their post race survey.)

These were the obstacles. (If you can’t tell, it’s from their post race survey.)

Storming Normandy. Reeeeeeal barbed wire.

Storming Normandy.
Reeeeeeal barbed wire.

Trenches I wasn't a fan of this one. I couldn't see the end of the tunnel and felt incredibly claustrophobic.

Trenches
I wasn’t a fan of this one. I couldn’t see the end of the tunnel and felt incredibly claustrophobic with so much mud on top of me.

Vertical Cargo Climb. Super easy - thankfully!

Vertical Cargo Climb.
Super easy – thankfully!

Deadweight Drifter. Must know how to swim! (And be able to tolerate frigid water, too.)

Deadweight Drifter.
Must know how to swim! (And be able to tolerate frigid water, too.)

Giant Cliffhanger Should have been super easy but the mud makes it super slippery.

Giant Cliffhanger
Should have been super easy but the mud makes it super slippery.

Meeeeee on the  backside of the Clif Hanger.

Meeeeee on the backside of the Clif Hanger.

Warrior Roast Meh, highly overrated.

Warrior Roast
Meh, highly overrated.

MuddyMayhem_1

Muddy Mayhem
This was my absolute favorite obstacle! Right before you finished you had to crawl through a ton of sloshy mud.

Me crawling/sliding through Muddy Mahem.

Me crawling/sliding through Muddy Mahem.

There were a few obstacles that I couldn’t find pictures on but you get the idea.  After running, jumping, crawling and pulling myself over things, I had finally made it to the finish line.  Bruised, beaten but so pleased with myself.  I had totally underestimated the difficulty of the Warrior Dash; it was definitely a team effort (which included random strangers, too) because there were some obstacles that were impossible to do without help.

warrior dash

After collecting my medal I headed to the shower area (a large pond) to try to get some of the crud off before going home. I had mud in places I didn’t even know was possible…. All-in-all, this was a fantastic event that I would do again in a heartbeat.  It was difficult but not too difficult for a first time mud runner.

Awesome race shirt! We also got a fuzzy horned hat but I didn't think to take a picture of that.

Awesome race shirt! We also got a fuzzy horned hat but I didn’t think to take a picture of that.

Be prepared to have VERY attractive post race legs.

Be prepared to have VERY attractive post race legs.

Warrior Dash Do’s and Don’ts

Do:

  • Be a team player. Unless you are racing this event to win, stop and help your fellow mud runners when they’re struggling. Chances are there’s an obstacle up ahead that you’ll need help conquering.
  • Wear shoes you want to donate. ‘Nuff said.
  • Wear your hair in a braid (if you have long hair). Trust me on this one; it a lot easier to wash the muck out of your hair if it’s braided vs. loose in a ponytail.
  • Bring extra towels. And clothes…and shoes (preferably flip flops).
  • Take a before picture. This will be priceless when coupled with your after picture.
  • Look up the course obstacles in advance. It’s good to have a plan of attack before you get to the obstacle.
  • Get to your corral early so you can get in front. 
  • Be prepared for cuts, scratches and mega bruises.  Think of them as battle wounds.
  • Have fun! Embrace this event and all of it’s muddy gloriousness.

Don’t:

  • Bring your phone unless you want a new one.  You will be crawling through water and mud on your belly and sliding through water and mud on your back. Plus you will need both of your hands.
  • Race it for a certain time.  The running part is fine but be prepared to wait your turn at the obstacles. They get incredibly backed up.
  • Wear fashion tights or leggings. While fashion tights/leggings are very cute, they rip incredibly easily – especially on barbed wire. Wear athletic leggings/capris instead. They are made for more strenuous activity and are a bit thicker. There was a girl on Saturday that had to run the entire race with her bum hanging out because she went for the cute tights. 😦
  • Wear makeup. Unless it’s like extra waterproof and it’s in some awesomely warrior-like design. Otherwise, let the mud be your makeup. Some people pay top dollar in spas for the treatment you’re about to receive.
  • Jump right into the middle of the mud pit. Unless you have a strategy out. (And climbing over the poor person stuck next to you isn’t a strategy.)  If you jump into the middle, you will get stuck immediately and not be able to climb out.  Stick to the outside edges.
  • Be afraid. You knew what you were getting into when you signed up. Now is no time to be scared. It’s going to be hard but it’s going to be a blast. And the best part? You won’t get in trouble with your mom for getting your clothes dirty.

Don’t forget that today is the last day to enter my ViewSPORT sweat activated t-shirt giveaway!

44 thoughts on “Warrior Dash Recap

  1. Woahhh you really had to get down and dirty in the mud. I would have been terrified to run through fire, overrated or not. I’m a chicken 😉

  2. So glad you had a good experience…I enjoyed the race but the pre and post race mess we had at the Georgia race made me never want to run it again.

    • Oh no! You’re the second person to mention issues with WD. The only thing I wasn’t a fan of post race was the lack of places to wash off and change. Wading through a muddy lake to wash off is kind of futile and changing muddy clothes in a portopottie is less than ideal. But other then that, I don’t have any complaints.

  3. I’m glad you had so much fun doing this. I think people don’t realize those types of races are not for time and if you are running quickly, you aren’t paying attention and chances are you will get injured. I love those types of runs (mud runs, color runs) but I’ll never run them fast because I’d rather have fun and not get injured.

  4. Some of these obstacles have me shaking in my boots! I’d like to do a mud run eventually but might stick to something easier!

  5. What a kick ass review!!! I would have done this in a heart beat! I want to do one of these kinds of races, but I don’t have a group of friends to do it with ahha. Manfriend would go, so I guess we’d have to make new friends to help us too haha. I love your list of do and don’t.

    • I’ve decided that you and I could totally be BFFs. Shame there’s like a million miles between us. Guess you’ll just have to get the bearded dragon (I think I’m remembering your affectionate name for him right) to go with you.

  6. This looks so fun! I am so excited for my first obstacle run this summer so I am totally eating up every recap I can get my hands on. Thanks for all the helpful tips – looks like you had a blast!

    • Definitely go for the braid. The mud (at least for me) couldn’t soak into nearly as much as if it were in a loose ponytail. Can’t wait to read your recap – you’re going to have a blast this weekend!

    • What’s really sad is the worst bruising isn’t even pictured. They surfaced days later making me extra attractive… o.O I haven’t heard of a Savage Race, I must Google it. Now.

  7. look at you, lady!! wow. I am so proud of you. I cant imagine doing one of these races. what an experience!!! you seriously rock!!! <3333

  8. Sounds like you had an awesome time! I might have jumped back in that water after the race to wash the mud off, freezing cold water and all 🙂 Also loved the Dos and Don’ts for the race. If I ever do one, I’ll be sure to reread your post first! And that race shirt is AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

