Weekly Workout Recap

Another amazing weekends in the books! I’m sad to see it go but that just means that I have all week to plan another one.  I had the Warrior Dash this weekend so the hubby and I took off work Friday and went on a road trip 3 1/2 hours north.  We made a small detour to one of our favorite national parks, Vicksburg National Military Park.  If you are into Civil War history at all, put this park on your must visit list.

vicksburg

One of the many state monuments in the park.

wild flowers

Springtime in Mississippi. Love all of the beautiful wild flowers!

Saturday was spent getting all muddy (and bruised, too).  I have been wanting to do a mud run / obstacle race for about a year and half but the timing hasn’t worked out until now.  Let me just say, I can’t believe I’ve waited so long. I’ll have a full recap on the Warrior Dash later this week but it was an absolute blast!

warrior dash

Last week I mentioned that I was feeling a bit lost with my workouts and lack of training schedule.  I had planned on creating a new training plan but ran out of time.  So that’s going back on my to-do list this week.  Before too long, I’ll be starting to train for my next marathon – exciting!

Weekly Workout Recap April 15 – April 21:

workouts (edited)

When you see AM circuit, this is what I’m referencing.

Monday: AM circuit.

Tuesday: AM circuit, Boston Prayer Run 5k, CrossFit (run, walking lunges, push presses, pull-ups, and rows).

Wednesday: Recovery day; super sore from the night before.

Thursday: AM circuit, 2 mile run, Crossfit (pistols, run with sandbag, rope climb, sandbag throws, and monkey bars).

Friday: Nada, nothing.

Saturday: Warrior Dash.  3.6 miles of mud, barbed wire and jumping fire.

Sunday: Sat in car all day – blah.

Don’t forget to enter my ViewSPORT giveaway! Only a few days left to win an awesome sweat activated t-shirt.

Question:  What fun activities did you get into this weekend?

20 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap

    • Yaaaaaaaaaay for getting muddy!! Two quick tips – 1.) make sure to wear tight bottoms and 2.) don’t be afraid of the mud. I’m planning on having the recap up on Wednesday. 🙂

  1. Woahhh now THAT is muddy! I want to try one but they all seem so expensive for me to just go roll around in the mud for awhile. You are definitely tempting me!

    • Totally understand about the price thing. I’m a deal person so I actually registered for this race on Cyber Monday for $35; the person I ran with paid $60. I’m not sure I would pay that much to get covered in mud….

  2. Can’t wait to read about your full Warrior Dash experience! I loved my WD race and can’t wait to do one again soon! There’s so many out there now, it’s making it a lot easier to find one in a good location at a good time.

    And that park looks GORGEOUS – wow. Hooray spring!

    • Yes, I definitely want to do another one! There is a Spartan race coming to where I live in October but I’ll be in the final weeks of my marathon training (number 3, can you believe it??) so I won’t be able to do it.

  3. I also would really love to do a mud run, but I can’t swim so it would have to be one where I could skip some of the water parts. I’m so jealous. This weekends fun for me, was a get together with the family. My workout was running back and forth to the grill in the rain. 🙂

    • I’m sure there are mud runs that don’t involve swimming. Or maybe you can doggie paddle? Whenever you’re able to find one that works for you, I know you’ll have a blast!!

      Running back and forth in the rain definitely counts for something. Cross training in extreme elements. 😉

Leave a Reply

