Weekly Workout Recap

First things first, good luck to all the wicked fast runnahs conquering Boston today! You all amaze and inspire me!

I’m still trying to get into some sort of groove with my exercise.  Since starting CrossFit I honestly feel a bit lost with my workouts these past two weeks and I’m logging some of my lowest miles in over a year and a half.  Now when I started CrossFit I knew that my running would be put on the back burner but I didn’t count on how much I would miss my runs.

I think part of the problem is that I haven’t set myself up on a new training plan since running my last marathon in February.  I thought I would like the flexibility of no plan, but I really thrive on structure.  This week, I’m going to make an effort to come up with something a bit more concrete with my workouts; find a better balance between running and CrossFit.

I’ve also realized through crossfit how stiff my body is.  I don’t know if it’s a lack of running or just lack of consistent yoga but I am horribly tight.  In an effort to loosen myself up in the morning and also work on improving my technique, I’ve created a mini am circuit to do each day this week.  I’m curious to see if I’ll notice any benefits with my flexibility and technique after this week.

workouts (edited)

Without further adieu, my workouts from last week.

Monday: Yoga

Tuesday: 2.5 mile warmup, Crossfit (rowing & pushpresses)

Wednesday: Weights – upper body (biceps, triceps, deltiods)

Thursday: Yoga, Crossfit  (wall balls, pushups, and a feeble attempt at rope climbing)

Friday: 13 mile kayak trip with my hubby ❤

Saturday: 8.75 mile run

Sunday:Rainy, lazy day.  (Love thunderstorms!)

Saturday was actually supposed to be a 10 mile run but I wasn’t properly fueled; my energy tanked and I started feeling a bit woozy.  I even took a gel at mile 5 to keep me going but it didn’t help a ton.  Usually I don’t have to fuel at all on 10 mile runs.  Long runs and lack of fuel was one of my concerns with switching to a Paleo(ish) diet so I’m really going to have to make an effort to research various whole foods to get my glycogen levels up.

So even though my workouts were less than stellar, I actually had an amazing weekend.  Lots of fun in the sun and quality time with my hubby.  It doesn’t get much better than that!

download

kayak

My view all day Friday.

kayak 2

Question:  What activities do you like to do with your significant other, family or friends?

13 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap

  1. Nice pictures, Gina! I totally thrive off plans and structure too, so I can relate to your need for a workout schedule. I think my family may visit this weekend (woohoo!), and we’re planning to do a cupcake walking tour. 🙂

  2. Ohhh the kayak trip looks so nice and peaceful! Eat sweet potatoes for dinner the night before your long run 🙂 They’re GREAT for prerace/LR fuel. This past weekend the SO and I went to Busch Gardens to walk around and see the animals and ride a couple of roller coasters!

Leave a Reply

