CrossFit….The Original Alphabet Soup

Funny title, right?  I’ll explain in a minute.  Last night was my first night of CrossFit. Oh. My. LANTA. What in the world have I gotten myself into?  A whole lotta of pain is the answer that jumps into my brain first.  Followed quickly by the answer something amazing.

Obviously I conduct myself in only the most serious manner at CrossFit. I named this my 'poo' stance. Life's too short to take yourself seriously!

Obviously I conduct myself in only the most serious manner at CrossFit. I named this my ‘poo’ stance. Life’s too short to take yourself seriously!

After work last night I headed to Bandit Crossfit for my first on ramp class.  I was a bit nervous so I got there early and did an easy 2.25 mile run before class to get the jitters out and loosen the muscles.  Not sure if that was a good idea or not but I think I’m going to make it my routine.bandit

My class is pretty small, 8 women, one guy and our instructor.  She keeps it small so she can keep an eye on us newbies.  Make sure we don’t do anything really dumb.  One thing that I’ve heard about CrossFit is how supportive the community is so I’m definitely looking forward to sharing some serious blood, sweat and tears with the ladies in my class. Well, hopefully no blood.

I don't know about you, but I see a lot of death and injury in this waiver. *GULP*

I don’t know about you, but I see a lot of death and injury in this waiver. *GULP*

My instructor is Janice Marie Ferguson.  She’s really sweet but hardcore at the same time.  Like I’m pretty sure she could take down just about any guy.   She’s competing in the CrossFit Games….with a broken arm.  She really seems like she’s a take no crap type of instructor which I’m looking forward to.

Do you see her legs? I would kill to have legs like that!

Do you see her legs? I would kill to have legs like that!

Getting back to the title of this post, CrossFit….The Original Alphabet Soup, that comes from my utter lack of all CrossFit vernacular.  WOD (ok, I knew that one), AMRAP, CFWU, SS…. You get the point.  I’m pretty sure the guy who founded CrossFit was eating a bowl of alphabet soup one day and just started making phrases out of the letters he found.  And here I thought the military had some insane abbreviations…. Luckily, Janice didn’t throw very many of the abbreviations out last night but I’m sure they’re coming.  If you’re curious to learn some yourself, I found this article which is awesome.

I’ll learn them eventually.  Or I’ll at least pretend to know what they mean and then try to slyly pull out my cell to Google it.  I realize you may be wondering why in the world I’m stepping so far outside my runner’s comfort zone to play with weights.  And the answer is simple.  I want to get buff.  Not like Arnold buff, but I want to increase my overall strength.  By doing this, it will do nothing but benefit my running {and help me look good in my running shorts}. 😉  Win-win, right?

I also want to learn proper technique, too.  I did my first WOD last night and caught myself unintentionally trying to cheat. (Pushups without bumping my chest to the ground, pullups without extending my arms all the way, etc…)  There’s really no point in me doing CF if I’m going to self-sabotage like that.  I got caught up in the time factor and wanted to finish quickly.  My next class I’m going to make sure to not cut any corners.

First WOD

-1st WOD-
200m row, then descending sets (15-12-9) of squats, pushups, & pullups, finished with a 200m row. That time can only get better as I learn more.

Overall, I think I’m really going to enjoy this next month.  I thrive in structured environments and am looking forward to pushing my body to its physical limits.  I know that there will be challenges and times where I don’t think I can do something but I can’t wait to prove myself wrong.

Question:  Have you ever tried CrossFit? If not, what’s holding you back?

39 thoughts on “CrossFit….The Original Alphabet Soup

  1. You’ll learn SO much! I miss it but the price just didnt fly with me and I think being a runner I like to work out on my own time…no scheduled class lol?.Going ROGUE!

  2. Yay! I am so glad u had a great experience last night!!!! I have always been way too scared to try crossfit. I applaud you!!!!!!

  3. Crossfit is so intimidating but I’m excited to hear what you think about it! I’m such a runner I don’t see myself ever really switching over and the high intensity exercises have always scared me. I’m glad you liked it so much though!!

    • Not that I want to get injured, but now that I’m not training for anything I can afford to try some of the more intense things. One of the things I’m most excited about is how it will improve my running since I don’t do enough cross/strength training.

  4. woo hoo! I’m glad you enjoyed it! Let me know when the DOMS hits you hehe 🙂 I loved the structure too, and for some reason I pushed myself SO HARD in the environment. I learned that I tend to take it easy on myself otherwise. You will see results that is for sure. Give it about 3 weeks – you’ll notice how flat and firm your tummy gets. I need to get back on the WOD train and make some of my own.

    • I’m fully expecting not to be able to move tomorrow; DOMS seems to peak for me on day 2. Which is just fabulous because I have another class tomorrow. Fingers crossed I don’t have any issues like you had with your arm.

  5. I absolutely love, love, LOVE that picture of you, Gina! Life is definitely too short to not have fun when you’re working out. 🙂 I’m so excited to read along and see how your CrossFit journey goes. As runners, we need to be fast (obviously), but I think overall strength tends to be overlooked. There’s no doubt you’ll improve as an athlete–and get those super-awesome legs! 😉

    • In my mind, muscle strength and speed are connected. The stronger my over all body is (not just legs) the more efficient / faster I’ll be at running. I have a feeling there will be a few more pictures posted like the above one. I have no shame. And I like to make people laugh around me with my facial expressions and sometimes (ok, frequently) inappropriate comments.

  6. That picture is one of my favorite things of the week. Thank you, Gina.;)

    I am seriously thrilled that you gave it a try! AND that you are so positive about it, too!

    You have a whole month of classes? How often are you going to go? Can you walk today? 😉

    • Bahahaha – you’re welcome! Yes, I’m totally looking forward to it. Will it hurt? Yes. Will it be worth it? Totally. My class meets Tuesday and Thursday but it looks like I can go whenever she’s open (I think) so I might try to get a Saturday class in if I can. I want to get the most out of this experience.

  7. One of these days I’ll do this! I can’t do a proper push up…ah! I’d be the lowest in the class the first few times hahaha. You are awesome!

    • I thought I could do a proper pushup….HA! When she said your boobs have to touch the ground, I knew I was in trouble. I’m considering wearing a high padded bra filled with water balloons to the next class. 😉

  8. Congrats on trying drinking the Kool-aid. I have been out for awhile, but will be heading back to the box this Friday. That fact makes my soul very happy. Can’t wait to hear about more Crossfit adventures from you!

  9. Hahahah alphabet soup! That or the guy was an engineer (like my parents) and use abbreviations ALL THE TIME! Grew up with that….

    Anyway, I still love your squat expression! Not sure why it is immature or inappropriate, I think you look like you love the burn! Its a happy scream face, not an “im-constipated-and-having-issues-face”. Thaaat might be a little weird….especially to put online 🙂

    • Yes, engineers are terrible for their abbreviations, too! I grew up military so I thought it’d be gravy but nope. I’m just as clueless as the next. I promise not to post any actual constipated pictures online. 😉 Gotta try to keep it classy!

  10. Last night was my first crossfit class too! I signed up for two months and I’m excited to see changes and if it’s something I’ll stick with (and can afford!)

    • That’s awesome, Lauren! I hope you loved it just as much as I did. How are you feeling today? DOMS hit me hard this morning…. I’m only signed up for a month but I know I can’t swing a full membership.

  11. I’m a huge fan of Crossfit and I’m glad you enjoyed your first WOD! On my first day, while signing the waiver, I said the same thing, to which my coach smiled and said “I haven’t killed anyone…yet.” And alphabet soup, for sure!

    • I’m only signed up for a month. 😦 The whole marathon training schedule was the very reason I had to wait until I didn’t have anything going on to start CrossFit. Running is so demanding.

  12. Hahaha good on you for going to Crossfit! I’m terrified of it, honestly. The price seems pretty scary too…

    • I’m not going to lie, the price was a bit steep but I’m just cutting a few races out of my schedule to compensate. I wish I could do more than one month (I know I’m going to get hooked on it) but it’s just not in the cards right now. Although, I definitely encourage you to try it sometime!

Leave a Reply

