Weekly Workout Recap

Ah, Monday, we meet again.  Although I really can’t complain about anything after the great weekend I had.  My stepmom Starla flew in from Colorado which was the catalyst for the fun weekend events.  This is the first time I’ve seen her since she’s been battling cancer and she looked amazing!  So vibrant and fun-loving as ever.  It totally happied my heart so much to see her.

Originally, I was supposed to go up to USM to watch my stepsister’s lacrosse game but, unfortunately, it got cancelled to do inclement weather.  So after a quick change of plans, Starla & Sarah drove down here where we got to watch my niece and nephew play soccer.  I ended up missing nephew’s game (boooo, it would have been fun seeing 4 year olds play) but caught my niece’s game.  I just have to say that it’s ADORABLE watching little kids play soccer.  After the games, we all hung out at my sister-in-law’s house.  Bliss, I tell ya.

Me, my stepsister, stepmom and sister-in-law. <3

Me, my stepsister, stepmom and sister-in-law. ❤

Sunday, the hubby and I went to eat with some friends at one of the beach restaurants down here.  It was so nice that we decided to go home, grab our swimsuits and hit the beach.  It was in the upper 70s yesterday and today the low is supposed to be 36*.  It’s crazy how weather can change so quickly; I think it’s pretty safe to say that there will be no beach going this week….  On plus side, I have a 1/2 marathon this weekend and it looks like the cool weather will stick around through the race.

Shaggy's

My view during lunch.

Weekly Workout Recap for 3/18 – 3/24

Monday: 3 mile run, weights – abs, quads, glutes, hamstrings and calves.

Tuesday: 100 weighted squats, jump rope, weights – abs, biceps, triceps, lats and deltoids.

Wednesday: 4 mile run.

Thursday: 10 mile run.

Friday: kettlebell workout, weights – abs, biceps, triceps, lats and deltoids.

Saturday: played with 3 rambunctious kiddos! (Yes, I’m totally counting that.  No wonder my SIL is so toned!)

Sunday: Lazy beach day. ❤

Not a super stellar workout week by any means but I’m not dissatisfied either.  I’m still trying to find my groove now that I’m not in marathon training.  Although, I am loving my newly flexible workout schedule.

Question:  How did your workouts go this week? Do you thrive on the structure of a training plan or flying by the seat of your pants without a plan?

23 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap

  1. Cold weather or not, that view is pretty amazing and I’d kill for something like that. Your weekend sounds really great. I love watching little kids play sports. It’s what I look forward to most going home.

  2. Bummer the game got cancelled! Glad to hear you guys still had a great time going to the soccer game! Its so funny watching young kids play cuz they all swarm the ball, lol (used to coach 5-14yr olds during summer). Good luck with your half this weekend! Don’t forget to tape if it helps 🙂

    • I know! I’ll still be able to catch it when they reschedule it but I’m bummed Starla didn’t get to see Sarah play. I think I’m going to video her game. Thanks for the GL on the 1/2! I’m honestly not very eager to run this one but already paid for it so, by golly, I am going to get my t-shirt and medal! It just won’t be a PR type of race.

  3. I’m supposed to be following a training plan right now, but have been so lazy with it haha. I normally thrive with a plan, but not this time. Once the sun starts popping out more I am sure I will be running more. Lately it’s been a LOT of yoga.

    • I definitely thrive on training plans. I dig the structure of it and I love having something to curse at, even if it is an inanimate object, when I hurt from doing what it says. *fingers crossed* for sunshine. I know you’re so over winter!

  4. i love little ones sporting events! the highlight of my weeks are watching h and c play tennis and golf. h also takes karate, and c is going to be starting gym in the summer! i tihnk you had a great workout week! im sure its tough coming out of training!! enjoy it! xxoo

  5. You are so good at mixing it up. I have to force myself to do anything besides run and I do not do as well as you at that. Glad you enjoyed family time. My nephew & sister in law arrive on Friday. It has been freezing here this weekend after it was almost 80 last week so I hop it warms up for them.

Leave a Reply

