Weekend Fun

I almost hate writing this post because it means that the weekend is officially over. {insert pitiful trombone fanfare}  It was an absolutely gorgeous weekend; one of those weekend where you’re only inside your house at night.  Spring bliss, I tell ya.

Friday, my work had a St. Patrick’s Day luncheon complete with some afternoon fun so I really feel like I got an early jump on the weekend.

download

Don’t ever ask me to decorate; this is what happens.

Saturday I woke up and got ready for my local St. Patrick’s Day 5k.  Since I have a 1/2 marathon in two weeks, I really wanted to get a little longer run than 3.1 miles so I parked my car a couple miles away from the race and ran to the start. I had previously decided not to race this 5k so I wasn’t worried about my legs being tired.  Originally, I was supposed to pace my stepsister but she ended up not being able to make it.

My semi-festive outfit.

My semi-festive outfit.

The race was scheduled to start at 9:30; I got there about 25 minutes before it started and found my running buddy Stacey.  She had already picked up my bib and had a bottle of water waiting for me. I tell ya, I have the best running friends!  This race has a bad reputation for being a bit disorganized and running out of things (t-shirts, water, etc.) so I wasn’t surprised to learn that they had run out of t-shirts for the 2nd year in a row. {start rant} Call me crazy, but if I pre-register for an event, that means there is a shirt in my size that was ordered for me.  Right? {end rant}  They’re supposed to order more and mail them out.

Gigantic clover on City Hall.  Classy, Biloxi, very classy.

Gigantic clover on City Hall. Classy, Biloxi, very classy.

Stacey and I lined up about 9:20ish and the temp was already in the upper 60s.  Perfect weather for enjoying the day, but hot for racing.  Shortly after 9:30 we started running.  It was super congested, according to the results page there were just under 800 runners/walkers.  This is just a little bitty local running club so there are no corals which means most of mile one was spent dodging and weaving between slower people.

The course was pretty, taking us through the downtown area.  Some of it was shaded, a lot of it wasn’t.  I was feeling pretty good until I got to mile 2.  This is where I started having a lot of issues with the remnants of my bronchitis.  My chest started aching when I took a deep breath and I was spitting up a lot of mucous (TMI, sorry).  I tried to keep my pace but ended up slowing down a bit.  I coasted into the finish at 27:23, an 8:49 pace according to my Garmin  The race wasn’t chip timed so I’m going with my Garmin.

I was pretty pitiful at the finish and I just wanted to find a spot to die; after a few minutes I felt better.  I’m so glad that I didn’t decide to race this 5k.  Honestly, even if I had tried to race it for a PR I wouldn’t have done much better.  That bronchitis and sinusitis really took me down for the count – but running the marathon was still worth it.

After the run, Stacey and I headed over to an event that was set up on the Town Green.  It was a barbeque cook off and there were tons of craft vendors.  So cute!  Then it was time for me to make head back to my car which was a couple miles away.  By that time it was almost 12 and 70 degrees out; it was definitely a hot run back to my car.  All-in-all, I logged 7.1 miles.

Then yesterday, the hubby and I took advantage of the amazing spring weather and drove up to our favorite trail.

Who says you need a fancy bike rack? Proof that two bikes can fit in a mid-size car.

Who says you need a fancy bike rack? Proof that two bikes can fit in a mid-size car.

It was 0% chance of rain with a high of 77; perfect weather for biking.  Apparently a lot of other people had the same idea.  There were so many people biking and running which absolutely made my day.  I love seeing people being active.

A few miles into the ride my hubby noticed some wild turkeys.  We pulled over to get a better look and I noticed this sign.  Take a look at the second to last line.  Yeah, I’d love to have them as my neighbors.  It was like something out of Deliverance and I kept listening for the creepy banjo music.  We didn’t linger long.

I guess they really have a problem with their neighbors.

I guess they really have a problem with their neighbors.

Sometime after that I noticed some random dark clouds and pointed them out to my husband who reassured me that it was 0% chance of rain.

download

Well, around mile 10ish it started to sprinkle which then turned into an all out rain.  Now if we were in a Hollywood movie we would stumble across some abandoned barn and have a romantic tryst in the rain.  Well we live in the real world which means you seek shelter anywhere you can including sharing it with a family of four who is also trying to get out of the rain.

Yep, I'm soaked to the bone but still having a great time.

Yep, I’m soaked to the bone but still having a great time.

After a few minutes the rain stopped and we decided to head back.  The 2nd half of the ride was perfect.  The rain had cooled everything off and gotten rid of a lot of the bugs.  By the time we made it back to my car we had logged 22 miles.  Not bad for a Sunday.  Then we came home and took our dog for a walk; any excuse to be outside, right??  And now I’m officially starting the countdown until next weekend.  It’s going to be incredibly hot soon so I need to take advantage of it while I can.

Question:  Did you get to take advantage of being outside this weekend?  What about any St. Patrick’s Day races?

33 thoughts on “Weekend Fun

  1. Love your bright green shorts! The weather was gorgeous this weekend and I definitely took advantage of it. Or maybe I’m just taking advantage of it now because I’m in Florida.. either way it looks like you had a great weekend and I’m glad you got to be outside!

    • I loooooooove neon, the brighter, the better! So glad you got to take advantage of the gorgeous FL weather; it might be a bit hard to go home now… And hooray for having a spectacular bday weekend!

  2. Looks like a fun wkend, my love!! I love biking and cant wait for nice weather!!! I saw a theatre performance this wkend w a girlfriend of mine. It was a comedy and great to get a goid laugh! Happy monday!

    • Soon, Jenna, I promise the spring weather will make its way up there soon! Then you can do all the outdoor stuff your little heart desires. Love that you got to enjoy a great laugh with friends!

  3. I’m so glad your hubby had time to go for a bike ride together How cute! It’s hard for me to think about racing a 5K also because I have thats like a warm-up to me, you know? I did get outside I did a lot of yoga but I did also spent a lot of Qt inside with hubby watching movies and having tickle fights lol

    • Let me just say, I HATE 5ks. I normally don’t even hit my groove until mile 4 so to be finished at 3.1 miles is a bit unsatisfying. Yay for quality cuddle time with the hubs. 😉

  4. Sounds like the perfect weekend! I love that you and your hubby are active together! And you look super cute in your bike gear! Congrats on the race too! This weekend I ran 12 miles on Saturday but the rest of the weekend was spent indoors nursing my sick little boy.

  5. After the 10k, we headed down to a little resort on the water and had drinks on the outside bar area for St. Patty’s day. the weather was perfect! It did sprinkle a little bit, but not enough to make us want to move. Love that you guys went for a long bike ride. Even through the rain, sounds like a fun time!!

    • I’m sure after your rock star performance at the 10k the rain probably felt refreshing. Hope you’re still on Cloud 9, you seriously rocked the mess out of that race. So flipping proud of you!

  6. Uhhh if I registered..PRE registered for a race and they didn’t have my shirt I would be pissed!! Some people REALLY want those shirts!! They better send you one! HAHA. I think you did great with this race, and yay for a sunny day bike ride!! WITH TURKEYS!

  7. There is a harem of wild turkeys and two dude turkeys that have taken residence in the general vicinity of the town, somtimes they are so loud! Its almost spring so the males are ‘presenting’ and looking like the iconic thanksgiving turkeys trying to impress their females.

    Sounds like you had a great active weekend, run + bike +dog walk!

  8. Fitness-filled weekends are the best! After all that mucus, you better get a race t-shirt! 😉 I love that you went biking too. If only you took a dip in the open water … 🙂

  9. Sounds like a great weekend! I definitely spent time outside this weekend (for my St. Patrick’s Day race) but since we had frigid temperatures up here in Ottawa that was the extend of my outdoor activities. Needless to say, I am jealous of the nice weather you are enjoying!

    • Give it a few months and you, my very northern friend, will be basking in the perfect temps while I’m crying about how hot / humid it is. It’s such a trade off isn’t it?? Hopefully the frigid weather finds a new home and leave Ottawa soon!

  10. So glad I saw you at the race! It’s been too long. We def. both had similar experiences! It’s unfortunate that they keep making the same mistakes over and over again and why the heck don’t they start this race at 8:00 or 8:30?!?

  11. Nooooo don;t steal my summer! I’m envious of your athletic weekend! Nicely done on the 5km. It sounds like not going for a PR was a wise choice – especially when you were feeling crummy at the end.

Leave a Reply

