International Women’s Day

Hooray, today is International Women’s Day!! A day to celebrate all the awesomeness that we the “fairer sex” have achieved over the centuries.  Fairer sex, that’s practically laughable.  Even at surface level, it’s hard to deny what women have accomplished and if you really dig deeper into history, you can see how women have always been the movers and shakers of society.

In celebration of women, I want to share with you some of my personal SHEroes.  The actions of each of the phenomenal women below have shaped who I am today and the way I view the world around me.

Susan

Susan B. Anthony (1820-1906)

Susan B. Anthony campaigned against slavery and for the promotion of women’s and workers rights. She began campaigning within the temperance movement and this convinced her of the necessity for women to have the vote. She toured the US giving countless speeches on the subjects of human rights.

428641_10151358768165394_1105910059_n

Rosa Parks (1913-2005)

Rosa Parks’ refusal to give up her bus seat to a white man indirectly led to some of the most significant civil rights legislation of American history. She sought to play down her role in the civil rights struggle but for her peaceful and dignified campaigning she became one of the most well respected figures in the civil rights movements.

64788_10151359146475394_749509899_n

Mother Teresa (1910-1997)

Devoting her life to the service of the poor and dispossessed Mother Teresa became a global icon for selfless service to others. Through her missionary of Charities organization she personally cared for 1000s of sick and dying people in Calcutta.  She was awarded the Nobel Peace prize in 1979.

431550_10151359431515394_1379033480_n

Eleanor Roosevelt (1884-1962)

Wife and political aide of American president F. D. Roosevelt. In her own right Eleanor made a significant contribution to the field of human rights, a topic she campaigned upon throughout her life. As head of UN human rights commission she helped to draft the 1948 UN declaration of human rights.

424114_10151359932680394_148727222_n

Rosie the Riveter (My favorite character!)

Commonly used as a symbol of feminism and women’s economic power.  She is also a cultural icon of the United States, representing the American women who worked in factories during World War II.

bos_a_benoit_samuelson_b2_400

Joan Benoit Samuelson (1957 –)

A legend amongst female runners.  The women’s marathon was introduced at the 1984 Summer Olympics and Joan brought home the gold for America. She still holds the fastest times for an American woman at the Chicago Marathon and the Olympic Marathon.

549618_130977507044056_1502880789_n

My mom ❤

My mom is one of the most amazing women that I know.  She is strong yet nurturing.  Resourceful, caring, compassionate, funny and keeps me on my toes.  From as early as I can remember she has influenced me and molded me into the person I am today.  She taught me the value of hard work and to take pride in everything that I do.  Raising my brother and I, she demonstrated time and time again what it meant to be selfless and how even when times were very tight for us we could always help others.  I love my mom so much and am beyond blessed that she’s mine.  I can only hope that I do half as good a job when I have children.

Question:  Which women have influenced and inspired you?

Don’t forget to enter my Huma Chia Energy Gel giveaway!

21 thoughts on “International Women’s Day

  1. What a great and humbling post. The thing I love about Joan is she grew up in another era and the fact that she still holds the records is incredable. The other fact is that she isn’t a rail so I think it proves that you don’t need to be that way to run fast.

  2. SUSIE B.! She’s from Rochester, and I love her. We have a bridge named after her and Frederick Douglass (also from Roc City) running through downtown. I’m also not too far from Seneca Falls, where the whole movement began.

    I think it’s wonderful we have a day celebrating women and our contributions, but I think it’s important to remember that we have a looooong way to go before we’re truly equal, in the U.S. and across the world.

    • How cool, I had no idea about ‘Susie B’! 🙂 It’s awesome that you live in such a history rich area. Maybe I’m just a big nerd? You’re right though, we still have a LONG way to go in terms of global equality.

Leave a Reply

