February #GoalGetter2013 Checkin

I realize that February is the shortest month but it really seemed to fly by this year.  And so far, March has lived up to it’s in like a lion, out like a lamb stereotype.  Thanks to getting diagnosed with bronchitis and sinusitis, I have been down for the count.  Not only have I been cooped up in my house since Thursday, I haven’t done any workouts – literally ZERO – since the marathon last Sunday.  This is also the longest I’ve ever missed work.  My house is starting to feel like a prison and I’m beyond stir crazy.

Now that it’s March, it means I say goodbye to my February goals and hello to March goals.

goalgetter2013

Here’s how I did on my February Goals:

Run marathon #2 aka Rock-n-Roll New Orleans.  I don’t have an official time goal.  I want to finish somewhere in the 4:20s.

  • Goal accomplished.  And while I wanted to finish in the 4:20s I actually finished with 4:18:50!  If you missed my race recap you can find part 1 here and part 2 here.

Love this guy so much!{best husband ever}

GotSub 2 hour 1/2 marathon (PR). I’m not sure if this is going to happen. With marathon training, I’ve been focusing more on endurance then speed so I’m not sure if I’m conditioned enough to run a sub 2 but I’m going to give my best effort.

half

Spend more time in the kitchen.  These past few months I have gotten way too comfortable with blending my meals (smoothies / protein shakes) instead of taking time to cook something.  This often leaves hubby hanging for supper which means he seizes the opportunity to get fast food. #WifeFail

  • Fail.  While I did cook more then I have been, I still didn’t do a great job with this.  Sorry hubby.

Here are my March goals:

  • Get better!! This one may seem like a silly goal but it’s super important right now.  I haven’t been this sick in years and it’s really messing with me mentally.  I feel like I’ve regressed, fitness wise, tremendously.
  • Spend more time in the kitchen. Yep, I putting this one back on my list; however, I’m going to be more specific this time.  I will make at least one meal the both of us can enjoy.  One of the reasons I find this such of a struggle is due to the fact that Jody aka the hubster refuses to eat clean.  After 1 1/2 years of clean eating, I still haven’t been able to get him on the bandwagon.
  • Enjoy my next half marathon.  At the end of the month I will be running the Viking Half Marathon and I just want to have fun.  I’m not worried about time goals or PRs.  Just whatever happens, happens.
  • Cross train, cross train, cross train! Now that I’m not training for a marathon (first time since last July) I can focus my attention on cross training without fear of injury.  I will be hitting the weight machines pretty hard, cycling my little legs and {of course} still getting in my running – just not 40 miles a week worth of running.
  • Focus more on my spirituality.  I have dropped the ball big time with my devotions and Bible reading in the past few months.  Instead of getting up and getting into His word, I find myself jumping onto the computer to check the blog/social media/my favorite bloggers.  My priorities definitely need re-arranging.

Haven’t joined the #GoalGetter2013 challenge yet? It’s never too late to get started working towards a better you.  Check out this introduction post and then join some of my favorite blends (bloggers + friends = blends) as we work toward achieving our 2013 goals!  This is your #GoalGetter2013 team:

Question:  How are you coming with your goals? What are you wanting to accomplish in March?

32 thoughts on “February #GoalGetter2013 Checkin

  1. I totally need to add in another crosstraining day vs run more each week…it’s been taking a toll…imagine how speedy we could be! Well, you’re already possessive of the eye of the tiger 😉

    • Vroom-vroom, Kat!! Hope you got some good rest & recovery this weekend. Annnnnnd just for the record, you’re so going to blow me out of the water when you run your first marathon. (And I’m going to love it!)

  2. I did well with my February goals and my March goals include a push up challenge, consistent speed work that I could do in February because of the icy roads and keeping up with my abs exercises.
    How exactly do I get in on #GoalGetter2013? Sounds super fun!

  3. I need to cross train more. I do way too much running and not enough other activities to keep my legs fresh. Enjoying halfs once in awhile will keep you loving the sport instead of becoming a total stress ball!

  4. Good Morning! I love your March goals. I need to get my butt in gear and set some wicked March goals too. I need to confirm a 1/2 I am going this spring so I can have something to look forward to! Happy Monday! xo

  5. Maybe we weren’t in the same month of February. I seriously thought it was never going to end. haha. That being said all your goals look good and becoming healthy is so key.

    I am kind of with you in terms of doing more endurance than speed. Will it cause for a Pr, who really knows but I’ll have fun racing too I suppose.

    • I’m so happy you’re embracing endurance, Hollie! I think I saw that you did an 18 mile run this weekend? With your speed and now distance, you’ll do amazing when (if) you decide to do a marathon.

  6. Well, Feb was a KICKASS month for you! You hit two super big goals with Marathon #2 and a sub-2! Woop woop! I have been slacking some on the cross training the past couple of weeks and not sticking to yoga like I should, and guess what? My hip is indicating it’s not very happy. So I’m definitely feeling you on that goal!

    • Thanks Beka! Yoga tends to be one of the things that I push out of my schedule when I get busy but it’s seriously so good for you (especially during marathon training…hint hint…)

  7. You crush both your half time and your full! I am so crazy proud of you. I understand what you mean about feeling sick. When I had the flu and then food poisoning I did not feel like myself. It really messes with you not only physically, but also mentally. Get well soon.

  8. Hubby refuses to eat clean? Surely you can find something he can enjoy that isn’t bad for him! 🙂

    What about the spaghetti squash, and make it like spaghetti?

    Or steak and sweet potatoes! Who doesn’t love that!? 🙂

  9. These are great goals! Maybe you can make your hubby a healthified “man” dish, like chili or bean burgers or something Mexican? I think Mama Pea has some good recipes where she takes traditional dishes and makes them vegan. They always look divine.

    • Ooooooh, thanks for the Mama Pea site, Amanda! I make a turkey chili which is one of the few clean things he’ll eat (although he does add corn chips to it). Definitely going to check out that site in the next few days – thanks!

      • You’re welcome! The address is peasandthankyou.com. She also has a recipe book out that’s supposed to be really good!

  10. If you are super sick, you might be out for another week or two…at least for me, I’ve had an aggressive flu (mimicked bronchitis), and I was out for 2 full weeks with the third week being a ‘starting to get back to normal’ week. I know things can be super stir crazy when sick or injured, but its ok to let your body be resting ALOT to help combat the pesky little microbes full throttle. Just imagine your white blood cells and your immune system are little terminators running around your body terminating the bad alien microbes. Visualization is very good for the healing process. Plus its fun to daydream too! Feel better soon 🙂

    • As soon as you said visualize my body terminating those microbes I immediately imagined my body as an 80s arcade game complete with the plastic gun to shoot the microbes. HA!! I totally needed that, Nicole. You’re a genius. I’m excited to join the ranks of the living today and hope that I’m not completely exhausted by the end of the day. I finished my antibiotic, now I just have to finish the other prescription and hopefully I’ll be golden.

  11. Pingback: March #GoalGetter2013 Checkin | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

