It’s Marathon Time?

Happy Friday y’all! You’ve made it through another work week and now have the entire weekend to do something epic.  Spring is completely on its way so hopefully your something epic will involve lots of sunshine.

In less then 48 hours, my something epic for this weekend is running my 2nd marathon; Rock-n-Roll New Orleans.

581086_499040903470600_1141394887_n

I managed to catch the crud that my hubby had so the past few days I’ve been in ‘get this crap out of my system mode’ so I’m acutally less than thrilled about this weekend.  Although, to be perfectly honest, I was less then thrilled about this weekend before I ended up sick. For some reason I just can’t wrap my head around this race.  I wish I could blame it on nerves but I don’t even have those right now.  I have total 100% apathy towards this event.

I know that a lot of it has to do with the fact that my first marathon was so emotionally charged with running it in memory of my brother.  The Marine Corps Marathon was just so special that really nothing will ever be able to top it.

Jody and I

Me and the best hubby ever….AKA the culprit who got me sick.

I’m also a bit disgruntled with the event organization.  I went to register for runner tracking so my hubby could keep up with me only to find out that they are charging people to track runners.  I guess they don’t get enough money with the already high registration fees.  So I did what any 21st century person does and vented on social media.  Apparently a LOT of folks are disgruntled with the Rock-n-Roll series.

meI will give RnR credit though, they responded right away to the cascading flood of negativity my one {very mild} tweet caused.

download
Also, I found out that they DO offer free runner tracking on race day (of course it was after a family member had already paid to track me).

download

However, when you click their track a runner link it automatically takes you to the pay site.  So basically they’re directing people to pay to track runners without telling them about the free option.  That doesn’t sit well with me.

I could go on about this topic but I’ll save my ranting.  *You’re welcome* I’m already registered for one more RnR marathon in November and unless something changes, it will be my last one.

So tomorrow I will head to the expo with my running girls and I’m hoping to catch the excitement bug there.  Maybe it will bring back fond memories of last year’s race which I adored.  Rock-n-Roll New Orleans 2012 was my very first ½ marathon so I kind of feel like I’ve gone full circle, toeing up to the line as a marathoner.

I’m also really looking forward to the fact that Kara Goucher & Shalane Flanagan are going to be running.  Talk about star struck.  These two women are absolutely inspiring and I hope to at least catch a glimpse of them sometime this weekend.

Question: Have you ever been apathetic towards an event? What did you do to pull yourself out of it?

42 thoughts on “It’s Marathon Time?

  1. Yay! You are going to have a great race. Sorry about all of the twitter craziness but I’m glad RnR responded to you! Love Kara and Shalane!! I’m hoping to see them sometime, too! Best of luck to you! :0)

  2. Wow I’m sorry girlie, I hope you feel better! I know you’ll kick butt and enjoy the sites and sounds! Ill be thinking of you as I’m running around in a tiara and a tutu!

  3. Wait I didn’t know that either! My parents were going to track me last summer but couldn’t because they didn’t want to pay! I feel like it’s very misleading. Good luck this weekend! Let that anger from the runner tracking carry you through those miles 😉

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who refuses to pay for something like that. It’s not like it’s an expensive service, it’s just the principle behind it. Thanks for the well wishes; I’m starting to get a bit more into marathon mode. RAWRRRRR!

  4. I hope you feel better soon so you can enjoy the race (and of course, all the amazing food). I saw the medals on R’n’R’s Instagram a few weeks back and they look awesome! So, if nothing else…the bling will be pretty 🙂

    Have a great race, Gina!

    • Foooooooooooood!! The post race meal is my absolute favorite meal. I am excited for the medal, it’s pretty darn cool, and the shirt is the bomb-diggety. (Oh yes, I just went 90s on you.) Thanks, Meg! ❤

  5. I know that feeling all too well. I had it with NYCM last year. And then of course the race got cancelled. I hope you’ve turned the corner in terms of your cold! I’ll be cheering you this weekend. If you go out and make the best of it with a smile, you WILL have a great time! 😀

    • Oh girl, I didn’t know that you were going to run the NCYM last year. I felt so horrible for everything that transpired. Horrible for the runner, horrible for the city. It was totally a lose-lose situation. Thanks for the cheers! I’m feeling a lot better and hope to be as darn close to 100% as possible by Sunday.

  6. Girl you are going to ROCK NOLA!!!! I bet your mindset will change when you get to the expo where you can feel the excitement! I am sooo hoping to catch a glimpse of Kara and Shalane…I LOVE them!!! And just a head’s up…the FREE runner tracking is on RnR’s actual website…it doesn’t give an option to text to your phone. It’s just live results on their website.

    • Yaaaaaaay I get to see yo’ pretty face soon! I’m sure everything will change when I go to the expo. Love my free stuff and RnR always has a great expo. Plus the race shirt is pretty fantastic.

    • I totally hope I didn’t sway you from doing RnR NOLA, it really is a fantastic destination race! I live an hour away from NOLA so I’m pretty spoiled with being able to choose from other fantastic local events. 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes – I’m feeling a bit better already!

  7. I’m catching a flight super early tomorrow morning and then I too am off to the Expo! I completely understand your lackadaisical attitude towards the event — I’m not the biggest supporter of RNR for many reasons (bloated coffers being one), but I refused to run Louisiana in any other city. Plus, it’s my last chance at a flat, fast marathon in a while.

    Good luck! I look forward to hearing about your adventure 🙂

    • You mentioned flat and fast; are you trying to BQ? Gaaah, good luck on Sunday!! As irritated as I am with RnR I would still recommend this race for a destination event; NOLA always is a great time! I just spoiled since I live an hour away and can choose from other fab local events. Hope you have a great trip!

  8. Sounds like a nuisance! Hopefully the end results will be just as positive of an experience as your first one. I am so proud of all of your accomplishments, Gina, and loved following you on your marathon journeys!!

    • I hope so, too! I am determined to have a great run. 🙂 My friend Lorena is writing cancer survivors names on her shirt for the race, do you want your dad’s name listed? (I hope I’m remembering correctly that he passed away from cancer.)

  9. RnR needs to step up their game–big time! In terms of running, there have definitely been times I felt indifferent about my workouts. Sort of like, “Meh, I could take the run or leave it; don’t really care.” I’m sure the combination of your first marathon and the emotions intensified the whole experience, so anything in comparison will fall short. I do think you’ll get excited when you get to the expo–the energy will be contagious!

    • I think you’re right, Carrie. The first one was just such a great experience and had so many emotions tied to it. 🙂 I did end up getting excited and now I’m looking forward to a bit of RnR! Rest and relaxation….not Rock-n-Roll.

  10. Oh my goodness. I so wish I was there with you so we could be goofy, fabulous, starstruck, and silly as all get out together. I am thinking about you and how I hope we can meet in NoLa next year. I expect you to take me for my first ever beignet (sp?).

  11. Just that photo of the pair of them is incredible. Such amazing runners.

    I am sorry that this isn’t really turning out the way you want it to. Grrrr at the hub for getting you sick- that’s not ok! And I think after such an emotional roller coaster over the last few weeks, it makes sense to be a bit apathetic. After all, you signed up for it in a totally different head-space.

    The reality is that you’ll be thrilled when you finish – no matter the time or circumstances. xxx

    • I know, they’re truly something, aren’t they?! I was definitely thrilled to finish and now I’m looking forward to some down time!

      PS – LOVED this comment, Kate. It was exactly what I needed to hear before the race.

  12. Pingback: Rock-n-Roll NOLA Expo | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

