Looking Ahead

I hope y’all had a lovely Valentine’s Day! Hubby and I aren’t really into such a commercialized holiday so we kept it low key and enjoyed some wine and fantastic steaks.  I married a man that can throw down on the grill.

I did get some really beautiful roses. <3

I did get some really beautiful roses. ❤

I can’t believe it but tomorrow is my last long(ish) run before Rock-n-Roll New Orleans – EEK!  I say long(ish) because it’s only 10 miles.  I know the people who came up with tapering know what they’re talking about but I get a bit nervous that my legs are going to go dumb and forget how to run.

Also, during taper, I find myself with lots of extra time which leads to looking to the future and planning more things to do.  {side note: There are a TON of cool races out there.}  I’m what I like to call a spontaneous planner.  I really love having races on my calendar (gives me something to look ahead to) but I also am guilty of spur of the moment or impulse registering.

Case in point, last week I added two new events to my race calendar and have a third event in the works.  To remind myself that money doesn’t grow on trees, I thought it would be good to look at what I have coming up next month and also what I goals I plan to conquer.

These are the two major goals I want to accomplish in March & April:

  1. Go to an actual crossfit class.
  2. Take swimming lessons.

I have been wanting to try crossfit for awhile now but didn’t want to risk injury during marathon training.  Now that I don’t have that excuse, bring on the pain!

My newest fitness items.  Weight lifting gloves and a jump rope.

My newest fitness items. Weight lifting gloves and a jump rope.

As for the swimming lessons, in order to even consider a triathlon I need to be able to do more then doggie paddle or float while holding a drink with a little umbrella in it.  I can swim, but not proficiently.  I have a small, very small, triathlon that I’ve been eyeballing for May but I’m not registered for it yet.

And these are the events that I’m looking forward to:

rnr

2/24 Rock-n-Roll Marathon (full), New Orleans, LA.   This will be my last marathon until November.  Apparently I’m a masochist because I’m really going to miss training.

viking
3/30 Viking 1/2 Marathon, Greenwood, MS.  The same event company that put on last week’s half in Greenville is doing this one.  I have high hope for this half to be just as amazing!

zombie

4/6 Zombie Run, Gulfport, MS.  Oooooooh yes! I will be in full zombie costume (clothes & makeup) chasing runners.  This is just going to be way too much fun! Proceeds go to benefit the smile train which helps children with cleft paletes.

yoga
4/13 Yoga for Nonviolence, Ocean Springs, MS.  It will be interesting going from being a violent zombie one weekend to a peaceful yogi the next.  I will be doing 108 Sun Salutations (YIKES!) in observation of nonviolence.

WarriorDash_Logo1

4/20 Warrior Dash, Jackson, MS.  This is the last event I’m registered for and most likely will be the last big event until fall.  By the beginning of May, the heat is already so hot in South Mississippi that racing season is basically over.  I know I’ll want to move to Antarctica.  Call me crazy but I’m looking forward to jumping over fire and getting my fuzzy, horned hat.

So that’s everything, minus a few local races that I’m undecided about.  I’m hoping that I can just pull this post up whenever I get the itch to register for something new…Here’s hoping my logic works.

Oh, and I just have to show you one picture from the half marathon last week.  (Of course the professional pictures came out the day that I released my post…)  The picture was taken right before crossing the finish line and I think my smile says it all.  I rarely buy a professional race pic but this was such a special race that I think I might just get this one.

half

Question:  What events do you have coming up that you’re excited about?

32 thoughts on “Looking Ahead

  1. So many events coming up! Wait… do you live in Missouri? I’m going there in April! The rock n roll races are always really fun so that is the perfect last hurrah before your break. And I’d rather eat some steaks on the grill than go out and do something big and fancy anyways.

  2. Wow that is awesome and good luck for RnR. I know crossfit has so many supporters and people absolutely love it. These races all sound like good times. I hope you do take a swim lesson. Swimming is such an important just life skill and a great cross training mode to keep pressure off the legs 🙂

    • Thanks girl! I’m excited to try crossfit simply because I know I’m not going to get the muscle/toning results I want on my own. And yes, I definitely agree that swimming is a fabulous alt. to running. I just need to get over my ‘I know I’m going to look horribly awkward’ mindset.

  3. I am SO excited for your race!!! You are going to kill it!!! I have my half marathon this weekend YAYYY SO excited. I want to run with youuu! Or go to crossfit, cause I have been wanting to try that too!

  4. I am so looking forward to having you come to MN for a visit. Why, I may run your legs off just seeing all the relatives! Love ya!

  5. Three cheers for swimming lessons! I’m tempted to start chanting, “one of us!” 😉 Swimming is such a great cross-training exercise for running; you still get a full-body workout, but the water takes a lot of the pressure off your knees, calves, etc. If possible, find a swim coach who specializes in/focuses on triathlons, or at the very least, tell them you’re training for a tri. Gina, I am SO excited for you! 😀

    • You can chant, I won’t tell! 😉 We have a huge triathlon community down here so it won’t be too hard to find someone who knows what they’re doing. The other thing I need to do is order a few tri books. I have lots of questions about transitions, bricks, etc… Geez, I start to get stressed thinking about everything you triathletes do. Multi tasking at its finest.

  6. Sounds like you have a lot of great races to look forward to! I’ve actually never run a race before because I’m really not a runner, but I have to say that in the back of my mind, I’ve always though about/wanted to start running and do a 5k. Maybe next year!

    • Obviously, I’m pretty biased on the running side, but there are so many fabulous 5ks out there now. It’s a great way to get hooked in the running world. 🙂 Look into The Color Run, I give that one two thumbs up for beginners.

Leave a Reply

