Review: Perform Foot Pain Therapy Kit

Happy Mardi Gras, y’all!!  Or to everyone else not living in South Mississippi, Louisiana or Alabama, happy Tuesday.  I haven’t decided if I’m going to venture out into parade land today, there’s usually too many drunk people for my taste, but I had a hard time turning down a piece of strawberry cream cheese king cake.  For those of you not familiar with Mardi Gras, this link will take you to the Wikipedia page.  It’s a crazy day, that’s for sure.

Sugar stuffed with sugar, then topped with sugar.  Are all my diabetic readers in a coma?  It's so sweet I can only eat a small piece.

Sugar stuffed with sugar, then topped with sugar. Are all my diabetic readers in a coma? It’s so sweet I can only eat a small piece.

Ok, onto the next topic.  FOOT PAIN  What runner hasn’t had foot pain?

I was recently given the opportunity to review a Foot Pain Therapy Kit by Perform, you know, the makers of Biofreeze.   I’ve used Perform before (post Marine Corps Marathon, it was ahhhhmazing) so I was excited to review something, really anything, of theirs.  It’s like being asked to review cheesecake; no matter what kind you get, you know it’s going to be great.

Mmmmmm….cheesecake…. Sorry, I digress.

foot combo 1024

Arguably much better than cheesecake.

If you recall, I have been bemoaning about ‘stupid foot pain’ off and on for the past 12 weeks.  Sometimes it’s just an annoying pain, sometimes it’s an ‘holy tarnation my foot is on fire’ pain.  Our local running store had a ladies night recently so I asked a sports med doc who was there about some stretches to help the pain.  She asked where it hurt and then casually said, “sounds like the beginning of plantar fasciitis.”  SAY WHAT?!? It wasn’t an official diagnosis but it was enough to scare me.  So when I found out that Perform was sending the Foot Pain Therapy Kit, I was over the moon.

Here’s what came in the kit: (Taken straight from the company’s website):

Perform Pain Relieving Roll-On (3 fl oz)
–  The roller-ball delivers a gentle massage while allowing a hands-free application.

Thera-Band® Foot Roller
–  Conforms to any foot and can be chilled to provide cooling pain relief during use.
–  Provides relief from pain associated with Plantar Fasciitis, sore & tired feet, heels & arches.

Expert Instructions
–  Clinically used and recommended exercises written by a licensed Physical Therapist.

As a side note, Perform uses cryotherapy aka “cold therapy” to deliver it’s pain relieving results.  This cryotherapy is the application of cold to decrease inflammation and relieve pain.

So a few weeks ago I got to put this kit to the test after a particularly painful 18 mile run.  I had ran in shoes that I knew I shouldn’t have and it resulted in intense pain.  Originally, I thought I would get the most relief from the gel but let me tell you, the foot roller is magic.  I think I would sell a kidney for it. (I mean I only need one functioning kidney, right?)  The foot roller has the exact same ‘hurts so good’ effect that a foam roller has on your body.  Plus you can pop it in the freezer and kick recovery up a notch.  The cold roller plus the cold therapy of the gel is great.

Perform Pain Relief Kit + Pro Compression socks = bliss

Perform Pain Relief Kit + Pro Compression socks = bliss

When I’m not using the kit for pain relief, I use the roller and their instruction booklet for preventative measures.  With the roller, I’m able to get a really intense stretch in my foot that I can feel all the way into my calves.  Goodbye, “sounds like the beginning of PF,” hello, happy feet.

images

Wait.  I didn’t mean the penguin Happy Feet; but that picture is an accurate description of how this product made me feel.  The only thing that I would suggest is reading the instructions on using the roll on gel.  I skipped this step and ended up clogging the roller.  It fixes easily though.

The kit is really new so it’s not available just yet in stores but Perform does sell the gel (available in most drug, food and pharmacy stores) and foot roller (available online) separately; I highly recommend both of them, but especially the foot roller.  Both of the products are inexpensive, too.  And the great thing is that I’ve had significantly less pain with my left foot since I started using the kit.  My running buddies can verify that my whining has decreased significantly – yay! 🙂  I really think it has to do with using it after each run to work the kinks out.

Want to know more about Perform? Make sure to check out their website and social media outlets.  You can find them on Facebook and Twitter.  You can also find them at all the major expos handing out freebies – stop by and say hi!

Question:  Have you ever tried cryotherapy (cold therapy)?

Disclaimer:  I received a Perform Foot Therapy Kit to review; I was not compensated for this post.  All of my opinions (including those about cheesecake & selling my kidney for the foot roller) are my own.

25 thoughts on “Review: Perform Foot Pain Therapy Kit

  1. Ohhhh I need this. My feet, and especially my lower calves, have been so achy! I had PF in my foot briefly, but it went away with some rest and stretches. It pops up every now and again, so I would love that foot roller.

  2. Ummm I need this kit! I’ve had bouts of PF that totally suck! And stress reactions and so on. Dumb feet! But for real the kit sounds awesome. Once I started to remember to roll my calves out I’m better off too!

  3. I’ve been really lucking on the injury front when it comes to running–no sprains, no weird pains … so I’m knocking on wood right now. 😉 During my basketball days, I would frequently the cold bath quite a bit, though, especially as it got later and later into the season, aka when my body felt like it would break down any second. The ice baths hurt so good!

    • I am totally not ballsy enough to do ice baths. I know they work wonders but I tend to stick with my icepack for achy muscles. I’ve had different aches and pains but I think that just comes with being a runner. Hopefully you’ll continue your injury free streak. 🙂 I think triathletes, generally speaking, are much more well balanced than runners.

    • Definitely better than a golf ball. The roller is small enough that I can grip it with my toes and get a really intense stretch. The problem I have with a golf ball is it rolling (more like flying) away from me if I put too much pressure on it. My running friend just ordered the roller off of eBay for $10. Best $10 she’ll spend.

  4. I actually have a foot long theraband roller that I use to strengthen my wrists! It can double as a foot roller as well! I also like rolling on doggie tennis balls for harder to reach spots on my foot 🙂 AND I totally swear by BioFreeze too!! Love it! Glad your foot is starting to feel better!

    • Hmmmm, I wonder if the one that I have could double as a wrist strengthener… I’ve used Riley’s tennis ball in the past but I always have two problems. 1.) There is drool all over it and I don’t realize it until it too late – ewwww! And 2.) When there’s not drool on the ball I tend to send it flying across the room from the applied pressure. I tell you, I look like a three ring circus sometimes.

Leave a Reply

