Weekly Workout Roundup

Looking back on last week, I have mixed emotions on my workouts.  I had some really great ones, and some really terrible ones.  Because I like to focus on the positive first, take a second to check out Saturday’s work  out.  🙂

*BOOM* Sub 2 PR!! I’ll have a full recap later this week, but suffice to say, Saturday’s race was ah-maaaaa-zing!  I kept a pace of 8:54 but what really surprised me is that I totally could have pushed it harder.  So a big thank you, thank you, thank you for all of your encouragement! I really didn’t think that I could do it.

529589_582556725106086_1742100213_n

Another proud moment from last week’s workouts is the fact that I got in 215 {total} pushups.  If you remember, I decided to start the 100 pushup program again after failing to finish it last time.  I just nailed week 4 and today starts week 5.  This is really where it got hard last time but my friend Jennifer from Wine to Weightlifting started a “No More Girly Pushup Challenge” which is helping motivate me.

girly-pushups1

Even though I’m 4 weeks ahead of everyone else, I’m really loving the support and encouragement.  Plus there are PRIZES!! Take a second to check it out if you’re interested.

Now let’s talk about where I fell short.  No cross training or weightlifting whatsoever and Tuesday’s 8 mile speed work session ended at only 2 miles.   Rarely do I cut runs short but my heart was just not there.  That was the night before Starla’s surgery and I just couldn’t focus on speed work.  I had full intentions of making it up but then I traveled for work the next day.

So here’s the breakdown of my workouts this week.

workoutroundup

Monday: (am) Yoga – hip flexors, (pm) 6 mile run.

Tuesday: (am) 63 pushups, yoga – sun salutations, (pm) 2 mile run.

Wednesday: travel for work

Thursday: (am) 72 pushups, yoga – hip flexors, (pm) 5 mile run.

Friday: Rest.

Saturday: Mississippi River Inaugural Marathon (13.29 mile in 1:58:24)

Sunday: 80 pushups

The marathon is now less then 2 weeks out which means that my miles are reduced significantly.   BOO.  I didn’t experience any taper madness during the first marathon so hopefully these next two weeks will go by without me clawing my eyeballs out.  I do plan on hitting the gym hard this week for both cross & strength training.

Question:  What was your proud moment from last week?

31 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Roundup

  1. My proudest moment was during my long run yesterday…I climbed a hill that goes on for about 2 miles and I ran the whole time! That was a big deal to me. Good luck on the taper…I’m there with you! 🙂

    • 2 mile hill climb?! Oh geez, you’re awesome! You should feel like a beast after that one. 🙂 I tried to comment on your PB mousse post earlier but couldn’t for some reason. I’ll try again later, but I loved reading it. Great recipe and great thoughts on finding joy. ❤

  2. Girl you kicked it and I’m so happy for you because you deserve it SO much! Who cares that you missed workouts, you were in race mode and can make it up 😉

  3. Oh man that’s really exciting!!!! Any PR is awesome but breaking milestones just seem so much more special, you know? And I don’t know how you do so many pushups. That’s pretty incredible. I know that your marathon in a few weeks is going to be awesome 🙂 Taper sucks but it will be worth it. I promise.

    • Thanks, Sarah! ❤ I'm really very happy with it. After this marathon I'm going to be hitting speed work pretty hard so hopefully I can shave off some time before my next 1/2 in March. As for the pushups, I do them all at one time they're not consecutive (I take a 60 sec rest in between sets) so it's not as beastly as it sounds.

  4. I’m so happy for you and you certainly deserve that PR! Way to go and I cannot wait to hear that recap…or read I guess!

    My proudest moment last week as far as workouts was running outdoors in the 15 degree weather LOL.

  5. I’m so glad you PR’ed your half! I can’t wait to read the recap. I think my proudest moment of workouts this week was the fact that I did random strength exercises throughout the day. Every little bit helps!

      • They do! I can’t believe how many squats and lunges I’ve been able to fit in. I do them all at work too. It’s a nice break from sitting for hours!

  6. you should be so very very proud of yourself, gina! you are amazing, and inspire me everyday! i dont know how you do it! you just keep going and going! so very proud of you girlie! ❤

    • Yes, yes, happy dance for sure! The 80 pushups about killed me which is sad because I know what’s coming up in the next few weeks… The program finishes with a whopping 170 pushups in a day. o.O

  7. Wuhoo! great week G! I think you do enough other working out that even though you are in taper mode, you’re still sweating it out enough to get that exercise high 🙂 ohhh push ups (and pull ups) will be the death of my poor arms.

    • Thanks Beka!! I’m definitely still trying to get some sweat session in during this taper. I figure now’s a great time to try some new crossfit(ish) type workouts. 🙂 Good luck with the push-ups & pull-ups! One of my goals in life is to be able to do at least one unassisted pull up…

Leave a Reply

