January #GoalGetter2013 Check-in

In case you haven’t realized it yet, today is first day of February.  So that means four things.

  1. Tomorrow is Groundhog day.  Now that I live in the South, this doesn’t mean much any more but to my Northern friends, it’s still a fun tradition.  I’m betting good old Punxsutawney Phil sees his shadow.
  2. This is officially marathon month – EEK!
  3. The Super Bowl is this weekend.  I’m not going to pretend I actually follow football, but I will be cheering on SF.
  4. It’s time to recap my January goal.  (Yep, I only had one.)
How could anyone care more about a football game then this cute little guy? It's the overbite that does it for me.

How could anyone care more about a football game then this cute little guy? It’s the overbite that does it for me. {photo source}

But before I recap my January goal, I want to brag for just a sec.  That sounded totally narcissistic, didn’t it?  Anyways, I had a killer training month! I logged a total of 205 (+change) miles in January. I ran 141 miles and cycled 60.  Woot-woot!! Alright, I’m done patting myself on the back and can now move into the rest of the post.

If you remember, some of my fellow blends (bloggers + friends = blends) came up with a fun Instagram challenge to keep us on track with our 2013 goals.

goalgetter2013

My goal for January was to increase my upper body strength.  If you remember I tried to increase my upper body strength last year through my 100 Pushup fail challenge.

Before: Taken 11/17/12After Taken: 12/30/12

Before: Taken 11/17/12
After Taken: 12/30/12

But I didn’t see any visible results.  When something doesn’t work for you, don’t quit.  Try something new.  So to the drawing board I went to create a new plan of attack and came up with Big Blue, my new tool for success.  I also set mini goals of going to the gym once a week to hit up the weight machines.

How did I do??

Taken: 1/29/13Ignore my awesomely sweaty self.  That's what 7 miles of speed work does to me.

Taken: 1/29/13
Ignore my awesomely sweaty self. That’s what 7 miles of speed work does to me.

I by no means turned into the Incredible Hulk but I’m so proud of my baby biceps! Might not look like much, but there was a lot of hard work that went into that teeny-tiny bulge.

Even though January’s firmly in the rear-view mirror, I’m not giving up on my strength goal.  This is just the beginning of progress.  I have a whole year to develop the muscle tone I want. Watch out 2013, I’m coming for you!

February’s Goals:

  1. Run marathon #2 aka Rock-n-Roll New Orleans.  I don’t have an official time goal.  I want to finish somewhere in the 4:20s.
  2. Sub 2 hour 1/2 marathon (PR). I’m not sure if this is going to happen. With marathon training, I’ve been focusing more on endurance then speed so I’m not sure if I’m conditioned enough to run a sub 2 but I’m going to give my best effort.
  3. Spend more time in the kitchen.  These past few months I have gotten way too comfortable with blending my meals (smoothies / protein shakes) instead of taking time to cook something.  This often leaves hubby hanging for supper which means he seizes the opportunity to get fast food. #WifeFail

Those seem totally doable.  I have a 20 mile run on tap for tomorrow and then bring on the taper! How did this marathon sneak up on me? It seems like just yesterday I was just starting to train for it.

Question:  Do you think Punxsutawney Phil will see his shadow?  Who do you want to win the Super Bowl?

29 thoughts on “January #GoalGetter2013 Check-in

  1. Yea girl! You did awesome with that goal! You didn’t give up, that’s what makes it great 🙂
    Love all of your new goals. I know you can do it, logging some crazy miles like you have been!!!

  2. Great job on conquering your goals Gina! And you will do great in your marathon…I’ll be there running the half! I don’t really care who wins the Super Bowl..but we will be watching it with friends who are SF fans.

  3. I, too, will be pretending to like football. My birthday was actually on Superbowl Sunday last year, which was kind of neat. Awesome job on the mileage! Now if you started swimming … 😉 Happy Friday, Gina!

  4. I’d love to see you achieve your goals. That would be fantastic. Good for you and you def look stronger from the two pictures. I hope that we have no more weeks of winter…ever again…but I don’t think that is an option.

  5. Good luck with the 20 mi run tomorrow! I’m all for ‘slow and steady’ wins the race with minimal or no injury, so a PR would just be icing on the cake (so to speak, since I don’t actually like icing…). And you have cute arm bulges! I’m sure they will grow as 2013 wears on! Keep up the hard work girlie!

    • Thanks, Nicole! I’m excited to have this final run under my belt. Although, I’m not sure if I’m ready to taper… Definitely finishing the race without injuries is a fabulous goal, especially if you’re planning a fantastic #comebetter! 🙂

    • Right?! If something doesn’t work, don’t give up. Just move on! And I totally have to agree with you, February is going to be a great month. You for sure have sub 2 in you with the way you’ve been nailing those 8 minute miles. Awesome.

  6. I love that you only had one goal, that is so much more attainable and easier to focus on!! YAY for your biceps!! They are looking GOOD!! I am so excited for your marathon, and I totally things a sub 2:30 half is doable!! I TOO want a sub 2:30 half this month. No care for me on Superbowl winner, I just want some good food!

  7. That photo is adorable! Good job on the strength training. I love your February goals too. Getting back into the kitchen is a good one. It makes me feel I should try harder!

Leave a Reply

