Marathon #2: 1/2 Way There!

I hope y’all had a great Christmas and that you were able to enjoy some down time.  I know I did! Unfortunately, I got to enjoy some sort of virus, too.  Boooo. I rarely get sick so it’s strange to be sick twice in one month.  Oh well, tis the season for stuff like this, right? I’m the living embodiment of a snot faced punk right now…

In my down time, I was looking at my current training plan and realized that eight weeks ago I ran my first full marathon and that in another eight short weeks I’ll be running my second 26.2, the Rock-n-Roll Marathon in New Orleans.  EEP!

rnr

I’ve been kind of unintentionally mum on my training for this marathon so I figured now that the ½ way mark has crept up on me, I’ll give y’all an update.

The first few weeks of training were actually spent recovering from the Marine Corps Marathon (MCM).  Just taking the runs nice and easy, keeping the legs moving and blood flowing.  My training girls and I decided that we didn’t want to lose any conditioning from the MCM so we kept our easy paced mileage in the manageable range of 20-25 weekly.

First run of marathon training numero dos.

First run of marathon training numero dos.

Then December rolled around and I realized that I had a ½ marathon in 9 days that I totally hadn’t prepared for.  The longest distance I had ran since the MCM had been 9 miles. I wanted to get at least one double digit run just to make sure my legs remembered how to act right so I squished a 10 mile run in the first week of December.  My legs did fine and I even PR’d at the ½.109141-111-018f

Last weekend I met with my running girls to tackle 15 miles.  It. Was. Freezing! Well, almost.  It was 36 degrees.  I realize temps like that are a heat wave to some of y’all but it’s freezing to this Northern-turned-Southern girl.  I didn’t want to get out of bed but after having some choice words with myself I made it to the designated meeting spot.  And I’m SO glad that I put my big girl panties because it turned out to be a spectacular run.  The kind where you just don’t ever want to stop.  At 14.5 miles I knew I wasn’t ready to stop so I said goodbye to my running girls and ran until I was content.  I stopped at mile 18 when my foot said ‘Hoooooooold up…What do you think you’re doing to me?’  I’m sorry foot, I got carried away…

156232_552568168104942_320435895_n

It was so great to have a run like that; I really needed it to get my head focused back on training.  I’ve been pretty apathetic with this round of marathon training.  When I was preparing for the MCM, come hell or high water, I wouldn’t miss a run.  I wish I could say that’s still the same for this marathon but the truth is, I’ve slacked off big time.  I’ve skipped a few runs and cut others short.  I’ve also totally skipped out on my yoga and cross training.  I have this ‘I’ve already run one marathon so I don’t need to train as much’ mentality which is going to get my tail in trouble.  The worst thing I could do is toe up to the line on February 24th without being properly conditioned.

Speaking of not being properly conditioned, I haven’t ran since last Saturday.  Thanks to that virus I mentioned earlier, I’ve decided to play it smart and give my body a break this week.  I’m going to try to tackle my long run tomorrow but I’m not sure how it’s going to go.

So with that being said, I’m totally getting down to business these next eight weeks.  I’m bidding adieu to my laissez faire attitude and welcoming back the ass kicking, take no prisoners Gina that put in the hard work to earn her first 26.2 eight weeks ago and who will earn her second 26.2 in eight more weeks.  Even typing that feels empowering.  I am woman, hear me roar! Well, right after I blow my nose.

quote

Don’t forget to enter my Sparkly Soul giveaway!! The contest closes tonight at midnight!

Question:  Do you ever get into a training rut? How do you get yourself out of it?

35 thoughts on “Marathon #2: 1/2 Way There!

  1. You’re going to do great! It sounds like you have a pretty big plan put together and I’ll be rooting for you in following your training! Enjoy your long run 🙂

  2. You’ll do great, Gina! I think it was a good idea to take a week off and kick your cold to the curb. Even though some people will workout when they’re sick, it’s telling you never become ill, yet you’ve been down for the count twice this month. Resting up was a good choice. 🙂

    In terms of training ruts, I think non-fitness things can affect your approaches to workouts. During the summer, I trained diligently for my first two tris, but I definitely slacked off for my third. It was a combination of “oh, I’ve done this twice, so I know I can finish,” plus getting ready to move to NYC (and apartment hunting) and nearing the end of the racing season. In hindsight, I realize I didn’t give myself enough of a break between triathlon number two and three, which probably contributed to my lackadaisical approach to training, too; I think taking three or four days totally off would’ve helped me a lot both mentally and physically. Looking on the bright side, you had a week to rest and recuperate. (Plus, you don’t lose fitness by not doing anything for one week; I’ve heard you can hangout for up to two weeks and be OK.) Have a good long run!

    • All I can do is hang my head because everything you said about being sick is right. I am so attuned to my body yet I’m terrible at actually listening to it. I am proud of myself for taking this time off, it’s totally not like me but I really am trying to get a bit more responsible with myself. (If that makes any sense at all.)

      As far a training goes, in hindsight, I probably should have taken more of a break between the marathons. I’m not registered for another one until December so I’ll be able to get back to my running for enjoyment roots and not running because I have to. It’s funny how running/cycling/swimming is just as much mental as it is physical. Loved reading this comment and all your insight! ❤

      • I hear you! Even though I’ve played sports for a long time, it has always been about pushing through anything–including sickness–and I didn’t start paying attention to what my body was saying until I started doing yoga a few years ago. I still push and challenge myself now, obviously, but it’s really helpful being able to distinguish good pain from the bad. Hope you’re feeling better today! 🙂

  3. you are amaaazing! i love the quote you posted at the end here!! im so sorry you were feeling sick over the holiday. we had a bunch of family come in from OR for christmas, and they ALL got a horrible stomache flu. i was so happy i never got it, but i felt terrible for all of them. it’s such a stink because we were hardly able to spend any time with them while they were here because we didn’t want to spread the bug, and they were so miserable!!! ick! either way, it was still a great christmas!! have a wonderful day! xxoo

    • Thanks Jenna! I’m SO glad that you didn’t come down with the same stuff your family had. I’m sorry that the visit wasn’t what everyone had anticipated. 😦 Thanks for all of your encouragement!

  4. We have two things in common: 1.) We’re both running RNR New Orleans and 2.) We both haven’t had a real run since two weekends ago. Hopefully my left foot stops aching and I can get back on the training wagon soon.

    Good luck!

    • How awesome that you’re running R-n-R NOLA!! You have great taste in races, my friend. 🙂 I’m sorry that you’re having foot troubles and I hope it goes away soon. I know you’re probably pretty antsy. Good luck training!

  5. Great long run! Oh my yes, I get into training ruts. But bloggers like you help me to remember that it’s totally normal, and it’s always worth listening to my body, dropping back a bit, and then … roaring :-).

  6. Been in a training rut with my injury, just trying to take it one day at a time! But at least I’m FINALLy starting a walk/run program again, so I won’t feel so ‘rut like’ with only low impact and strength training a few times a week (I miss that cardio of running!) Nothing else is like it!

  7. Hi Gina,

    Stopping by your blog for the first time! I love it here!
    I adore your Garmin watch! I have been thinking about getting a Polar or a Garmin watch for a long time. Good luck with your training!

    Cheers! Tara

    • Hi Tara! Thanks so much for stopping by! I’m glad you enjoy the randomness that is Noshing on Asphalt. I absolutely love my Garmin and it’s not one of the super expensive ones so I highly recommend it. I don’t have a Polar but I have several friends who do and they love theirs as well. I guess it comes down to what you’re looking for. 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement with training, I’m feeling pretty good right now about it!

  8. Thanks for commenting on my blog! Yeah, unfortunately I haven’t gotten in a ton of training for this next half, my longest runs lately have been more like 10 miles instead of the 12-13 they should be! But, I’m doing some speedwork and I feel like my endurance base is still there, and running 13 on Tuesday then again on Saturday, so I think I’ll be okay… hope so anyway! Also once you do a few half marathons I guess you are more comfortable since you’ve done the distance before. BUT… it really says a lot that you were able to not train super hard and still PR, I think sometimes we train a ton and put too much work into it. Good luck over the next 8 weeks with training, you definitely have time and just doing that half a few weeks ago is technically part of your training, a 13 miler, so you know you got that much. Good luck!

    • Thanks Amy! Your blog is super cute, I’m glad I found it. You’ll totally be fine with your upcoming half, especially since you’re a veteran runner and have been doing speedwork. I’m not a fast runner by any means so speedwork is actually more taxing to me than long run. I know it’s silly, but I’d rather run 15 miles than race a 5k. Good luck with you 13 tomorrow, what a great way to kick off 2013 – cheers!

Leave a Reply

