Pass to Bay Christmas 10k Recap

This past Saturday I ran the Pass to Bay Christmas 10k which is a fun annual race put on by our local running club.  I ran it last year for the first time and, even though my finish time in 2011 wasn’t so hot, I quickly decided that it will be an annual event.   I mean for a $17 entry fee, why not make it a yearly thing?

bib

Friday night, I laid out my clothes so all I’d have to do in the morning is get dressed and run out the door.  I’ve learned that if I don’t lay out my stuff ahead of time, I inevitably end up forgetting or not being able to find something.  As I was laying out my clothes, I kept telling myself how much I was going to regret my ‘outfit’ selection.  It’s been unseasonably hot and humid lately, yet I chose to wear a heavy long sleeve shirt, an undershirt, tights, knee high stockings and shorts.  Sound tacky? Yep, it was! But I didn’t care, I wanted to dress up a bit and have fun.

The other reason I was excited to run this race is because my 18 year old step sister decided to run it with me – score!  She’s on her college lacrosse team so she’s been running a good bit lately but this was her furthest distance ever.  SO proud of her.

528398_436557859732019_794882575_n

Saturday morning we drove over to the start and got our bibs.  It was already in the upper 60s and gross humid.  I contemplated ditching parts of my outfit but thought, ‘what the heck’, just have fun.   Not many people were dressed up so I embraced my individuality.

Doesn't this look like it belongs in some heinous Christmas card or something?

Doesn’t this look like it belongs in some heinous Christmas card or something?

download

Geez, the sun was super bright!

A couple minutes after 9 we started.  My goal was to PR but I knew I had that on lock since last year’s time was a measly 1:04; don’t judge, I had just started back running last year.  My ‘secret’ goal was to get under 56.  About 3 miles into the race I knew I was in trouble with the heat and wouldn’t get my 56 minute goal.  I was literally rolling with sweat (gross, I know) and my sunglasses had fogged up so much I couldn’t see out of them.  But hey, I looked cute, right? 🙂

Mile 4 came around and I found myself trucking up the lovely incline of Bay St. Louis bridge.  If you detect a bit of sarcasm, you’d be right.  I’m not a huge fan of hills, especially ones that are almost a mile long.  After I got done with the bridge there was about a mile left.  I picked the pace up a bit to try to make up for the time lost going up the bridge and I crossed the finish line at 56:58.  I PR’d but I didn’t reach my ‘secret’ goal.  Oh well, there’s always next year.  I knew I was taking a risk with my outfit of choice but I wouldn’t have changed anything.  I know if I want to PR next year, I have to ditch the outfit.

After finishing, I walked around a bit, got some sort of sports drink and then headed back out on the course to find my sister and finish with her.  We stayed around for the awards.  It was kind of cool because Rebecca from season 8 of The Biggest Loser was there handing out awards.  She’s trying to run in each state before she turns 30.  I’m not going to lie, I don’t watch BL so I had no idea who she was/is.

Sorry, not a great picture.  I wasn't paying attention when I took it.

Sorry, not a great picture. I wasn’t paying attention when I took it.

I missed placing in my age group by just a little bit; I came in 4th.  I was so proud of my friends Mel and Lorena.  They took 1st and 2nd in their age division with speedy times!

Awards

And then it was time to ‘refuel’.  My stepsister, running girls and I headed to a local pizza joint where we enjoyed some awesome, and cheap, pizza. YUM!!!! So good.

download

60940_533508179995682_1026235256_n

Be sure to stop by and check out Friday’s post.  I have an awesome, sparkly (hint-hint) giveaway!

Question:  Do you have certain races you run for fun or do you try to PR at every race?

26 thoughts on “Pass to Bay Christmas 10k Recap

  1. Sometimes running races for fun is better than placing or PRing. And if you finish off the event with pizza, you can’t go wrong 🙂

  2. AWE this looks like a ton of fun and I bet it was so much fun to run with your sister. My family is pretty close in running so I love running races with them!

  3. I think you’re outfit was adorable! Definitely different, and that’s a good thing!
    The only race I didn’t try to PR in this year was the Color Run. That one was all about having fun! I watch BL religiously! I ran the Womens Half marathon in Nashville in September, and Rebecca ran it too. Although I didn’t see her, it was cool that we ran in the same race!

    • It was definitely different; I guess I can never be accused of following the crowds, eh? 🙂 I ran The Color Run not too long ago and had a blast, definitely no PR’ing there. How cool that you got to run a 1/2 with her! She was super cute and friendly. I’m not much of a TV watcher in general, so I never know what’s going on in that world – lol!

  4. PRing and eating pizza? Sounds like a perfect outing to me! When I race, I usually have two time goals (among other non-time related elements). For the 10-K I ran on Sunday, my “secret” goal was to hit the 47-48-minute mark, but I really had no idea if that was feasible or not. I was still happy with my time, but I’ll definitely consider pushing myself a little more next time.

    • Carrie – You a freaking beast!! (It’s the quads, right? lol) Next year I would love to run a sub 50! I haven’t done a speed workout since October (I know, I’m slacking, right) but I’ve dubbed 2013 the year of speed. No excuses. Just push myself. 🙂

  5. $17 and pizza. Helicopter me in.
    My healthy 10K time is 55:something uphill, through a crowd of 40,000. It is probably one of my proudest moments. However, I am hoping to comebetter on it this year.
    Seems like you and I are really about the same pace will make great for all our future runs together.

    • Cheap race & pizza, we know how to do things right in the ‘Sip. 😉 A 55 10k is awesome, especially in those conditions. I know I could have ran faster without the costume but it was worth it. Next year, right?

      And yes, we are pretty much spot on with our pace. When (not if) we finally meet, we’ll have an awesome time!!

  6. Pingback: Sparkly Soul Giveaway | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

