A Runner’s Christmas Wish List

Happy 12-12-12!! Do you have any plans on celebrating today?  I have a run later tonight but I’m not planning on making it a 12k or anything like that.  I know, I’m boring…. I’m still getting over whatever crud I picked up over the weekend.  I ran 5 miles last night and felt pretty good. I’m glad I didn’t stay sick long; thanks for all the well wishes!!

By now, I’m sure you’ve seen plenty of Holiday gift guides for runners.  Each holiday list, like a fingerprint, is unique to the person who created it; influenced by their own styles, experiences, and wants.  So, here is my list of top 10 things I would love to see under my tree or in my stocking.  I may or may not set this post as my homepage for the next few weeks as a subtle hint to the hubs. 😉

Price Guide:

  • $0-20
  • $$20-50
  • $$$50-100+

headbands10. Headbands ($) Specifically Sparkly Soul headbands.  I have tried lots of different headbands but theses puppies are the only ones that actually stay put on my small head.  Not only do they keep the flyaways out of your face, but they add a touch of sass with their sparkly fabric.

headbands

9. Handana  ($) I fell in love with this product after reviewing it.  It’s seriously genius and you can never have too many of them.  It allows you to keep the sweat out of your eyes and off of your face with just one swipe of your hand.

8. Workout Gear  ($$) This one should be a no brainer.  You can never have too many moisture wicking tops and bottoms.  And don’t get me started on sports bras and socks, those little pieces of fabric are expensive!

headbands7. Fuel / Supplements ($ / $$) This is another one that adds up for runners.  My favorite way to fuel with all natural Honey Stingers.  On long runs during marathon training I could easily go through three gels and at $1+ the price adds up.  Also included in this category is recovery drinks like Cytomax and protein supplements.

6. GPS Watch  ($$$) I already have one (LOVE my Garmin Forerunner 110) of these but I would be totally remiss if I didn’t mention it.  If you’re in the market for a really nice Christmas present and the runner in your life doesn’t have one of these, you will be the best present giver ever if you get one.

5. Massage Gift Certificates ($$) Who doesn’t love to be pampered? Runners especially need this with all of the wear and tear we put on our body.  If you want to make it a romantic present, opt for a couples massage.

headbands4. Race Medal Holder ($-$$) This is the perfect gift for your runner to showcase their accomplishments.  *Confession* My medals currently hang on my husband’s tie rack….behind his ties.

3. Running Shoes ($$$)  A bit of fair warning about this one….Only buy shoes if you know exactly what type your runner prefers.  Running shoes are unique to each runner so you can’t just pick any pair.  If you have any doubt, opt for a gift card.  I personally love my Asics Noosa Tris in a size 8 1/2. *cough cough*

2. Race Registration ($$ – $$$)  I love this one! There are so many races runners want to register for, but if they’re anything like me, they have to pick and choose which ones to register for.  Why not give them the gift of registering for a race that’s on their bucket list?

And the number one item?????

1. Gift Cards!! ($ – $$$)  If all else fails, get your runner a gift card to their favorite running store so they can select their own wishlist items.

IMAGE49

Question:  What’s on your holiday wish list??

24 thoughts on “A Runner’s Christmas Wish List

  1. Thank you for introducing me to handanas. Not much use through the UK winter but will defo get some for Spring/Summer … Thanks. Oh and happy 12-12-12 no running for me nursing an ankle injury 😦

  2. Great guide girl! I’ll take one of each! haha, love that medal holder – it’s something I don’t have, and that saying is one of my faves! I’m feeling bleh with my asthma/allergies too..this time of year is supposed to be cold and ISN’T down here! Hope we both feel better!

    • I know, right? And yes, you definitely need to get a sign holder for all the bling you’re going to be accumulating over the next few months. We finally got a cold snap last night. It’s been in the upper 70s and very humid lately – bleh. Sorry about your allergies.

  3. This is great, especially how you broke it up into price points 🙂
    I need one of those headbands, but I’m lucky enough that my parents still buy my running shoes. Perks of being a collegiate runner; they’re a “need” not a “want” 😉

  4. Too bad Santa can’t gift PRs for Christmas; I’d love one–or eight!–of those. 😉 “Santa” bought me a lot of early presents–hello, bike trainer!–so I’m not expecting a lot this year. Although I definitely wouldn’t say no to more running apparel. 🙂

  5. Love everything on the list! HoneyStingers rock. I have had the worst time trying to figure out what I want for Christmas that HASN’T been running related!! I think this goes back to Abby’s “When your Addicted…” post!

    • Meeeee, too, Beka! The funny thing is that everybody is so worried about getting exercise stuff for people because they don’t want to hurt their feelings and I’m over here screaming for stuff like that. Yes, that should definitely go in Abby’s “addicted” post. Good call!

  6. Great list, Gina!! 🙂 I set up a Pinterest “Wish List” for my list.. came quite in handy to have a direct link to all the goodies on my list for people! 🙂
    Love the idea of race entries as a gift! I saw that you just had one gifted; I would never have thought of that!

    • Love the idea of a Pinterest wish list!! There is so much cool stuff out there that should be on this list but I didn’t want to overwhelm everyone. I did get a race entry as a gift. I’m so excited, it’ll be my third marathon!

  7. Pingback: Sparkly Soul Giveaway | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

