My Next 1/2 Marathon and Ovarian Cancer Awareness

Wednesday night I met with the Irish Coast Running Team and had a blast. I’m definitely looking forward to more runs with everyone.  There were about 30(ish) of us and we started / finished at the Irish Coast Pub.  The course is only 4.4 miles but it’s a great run and there were people of all shapes and sizes running and walking.  After the run you can hang out, grab some drinks and appetizers and stay for a trivia game.

This Sunday, you can find me in Louisiana running my 4th, and final, 1/2 marathon of 2012.

29420_425632734169761_289309636_n

I’m really excited about this 1/2 not only because of the great swag you get for running but because the proceeds go to benefit a myriad of women’s health organizations from cancer research to services for rape victims.

Another reason this race is very special is because I’ll be running it in memory of my aunt Kathy who died in 2003 from ovarian cancer.

9185_303776099732994_565494885_n

Kathy died when I was a teenager; she was only 51 years old.  I have many memories of her but what I remember most was her wicked sense of humor!  To fit in with my Deeds family, you have to have pretty thick skin and be able to roll with the punches.  And let me tell you, Kathy knew how to dish it just as much as it was given to her.  I remember her always laughing and heckling someone.  But that’s my family for you.  If you’re not being harassed, you need to worry.  Kathy left a big imprint in all of our lives.  She was such a positive spirit and we all miss her terribly; especially her children.

Cancer sucks. I know we all know to “Save the Ta-tas” (super important!) but I really think other forms of cancer get overshadowed by those, ummmmm, ta-tas.  So today, I want to share some of the eye-opening facts about ovarian cancer and encourage all my female readers to get more involved with your wellness.  Talk to your doctor, people; ovarian cancer is a fast killer.

Facts:

  • A woman’s risk of developing ovarian cancer is 1 in 67.
  • 20,000 women will die from ovarian cancer this year alone.
  • Ovarian cancer is the 5th leading cause of cancer death in women.
  • Only 25% of cases are diagnosed early before the cancer has spread to the pelvic region. For these women, the 5-year survival rate is 90%.
  • A PAP TEST DETECTS CERVICAL CANCER BUT NOT OVARIAN

Currently, there are no effective means of early detection, which is why you should go to your doctor immediately if you’re experiencing any of the symptoms listed below.

(Source #1) (Source #2)

Signs and Symptoms:

  • General abdominal discomfort and/or pain (gas, indigestion, pressure, bloating, cramps).
  • Nausea, diarrhea, constipation and frequent urination.
  • Loss of appetite.
  • Feeling of fullness even after a light meal.
  • Weight gain or loss with no known reason.
  • Abnormal bleeding from the vagina may occur as a late symptom.

(Source #1) (Source #2)

Risk factors:

  • Family history — first-degree relatives (mother, daughter, sister), especially if two or more have had the disease.
  • Age — most ovarian cancers occur in women 50 years of age or older, with the highest risk in women older than 60.
  • Non-childbearing — women who have never had children. In fact, the more children a woman has had, the less likely she is to develop ovarian cancer.
  • Personal history — women who have had breast or colon cancer may be at greater risk.
  • Obesity – women who are obese have a higher rate of death from ovarian cancer.
  • Fertility drugs — drugs that cause women to ovulate may slightly increase a woman’s risk.
  • Hormone replacement therapy (HRT) — some evidence suggests that women who use HRT after menopause may have a slightly increased risk of developing this disease.

(Source #1) (Source #2)

Teal-ribbon-bigI know that was a LOT of information, but it really is something incredibly important for you to know.  If you think you may have some of those risk factors, PLEASE talk to your doctor.  Communication is absolutely critical in catching it in the early stages.  Teal is the color for ovarian cancer awareness so this weekend I’ll be rocking the teal for my aunt Kathy.  To learn more about ovarian cancer awareness, please visit http://ovariancancerawareness.org/ or any of the sources I have linked above.

In loving memory of Kathy Deeds 3/31/52 – 9/24/03

Question:  Have you ever lost a loved one to cancer?  What is your favorite memory of them? I would love to hear it!

24 thoughts on “My Next 1/2 Marathon and Ovarian Cancer Awareness

  1. Good for you, babe!!!! I am so proud of your advocacy!! Your aunt would be so proud!! My aunt passed away three years ago from lung cancer (non smoking related) so that means a lot to me too! She was 54. Have s wonderful day!!! U will rock that race!

  2. You’re such my hero! Cancer has taken away people I knew, not close family, but not fair either way. It Sucks big time! You’ll have your aunt watching over you and know that we’re all proud of ya! Xo

  3. Thank you so much for all these facts about ovarian cancer! I had no clue it was so bad! Can’t wait to see you this weekend!!! I know your aunt is going to be smiling at you from heaven as you run! Fortunately I haven’t lost anyone in my life due to cancer. I hope I never do!

    • At the risk of sounding cheesy, I’m so glad you learned something new! It really is scary and so hard to treat if caught too late. I can’t wait to see you this weekend, too! We’ll hobble to the finish line together…Just kidding! (I hope.)

  4. Love this post so much – I know you’ll do Aunt Kathy proud!

    I lost my great grandmother to breast cancer (ultimately), among other things. Her birthday was a week before mine, so growing up we always had a combo family birthday party. Every year, we stood back-t-back to get a photo of how I was growing and she was shrinking. 🙂 Still some of my favorite photos with her.

    • Megan, your comment made me smile and laugh, and even a bit teary eyed all at the same time! I love that you guys took back-to-back pictures and would love to see some. You should do a post on her, she sounds like an amazing woman. 🙂 {hugs} to you!

  5. This is a wonderful tribute post. I’m really excited that you’re doing a 1/2, and it’s for a good cause! Those are the best kind of races… You get to do something you love while helping others. Win-win situation!

    • I didn’t know you had a public health degree! You just moved up even further on the awesome scale. 🙂 As far as the info goes, I figure if I have a blog, I might as well make it informative every so often, right? 🙂 Thanks for the luck!

  6. What a great cause! I did a 5K for breast cancer a few years ago, and once my body heals from my current bursistis, I’d love to do a long distance race for a cause like you!! Great inspiration!

    Sorry to hear about your Aunt 😦 I had two grand parents pass from cancer, 2. my great grandma (whom I never met, she passed when she was 62, I wasn’t born) from colon cancer and my paternal grandmother from lung cancer. Its great you are running in honor of her memory 🙂

    • Thanks Nicole! I hate that your bursitis is giving you hell. 😦 Give yourself time and I have no doubt you will be doing long distance runs in the future! That’s awesome that you did a 5k for breast cancer awareness. It’s such a great cause and I know you felt so accomplished running for something bigger than yourself!

      I’m sorry about your two grandparents. Even though you never met your great grandma, I hope you got to enjoy listening to some fun stories about her. 🙂

  7. Good Luck with your race. My dear sister in law died of ovarian cancer in 2008. I miss her and know how tough the end was….PS I do have the CA125 blood test done annually. While it can’t rule out ovarian cancer, if the level is high, it bears checking further.

    • I’m so sorry to hear about your sister-in-law, Pam! I have no doubt that she was an amazing lady and is missed tremendously. I’m so happy to hear that you have that blood test done annually, and thank you so much for sharing that valuable information. I know scientists are working on ovarian cancer research, I just wish we could wave a magic wand and find the cure to everything.

  8. This is amazing! You’re awesome for spreading the word and trying to get people to open their eyes about ovarian cancer. Cancer is the worst. I’m sorry to hear that you lost your aunt due to this horrible disease. My grandfather had lung cancer a few years ago (he’s not a smoker either), but luckily, he is cancer free now. It’s such a miracle that he’s still with us! We always joke that his hair grew back much blacker than it used to be. Barely any white hair now haha! I hope you have an amazing last race of the year! You’re gonna rock it like always.

    I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster Award today!! I love learning new random things about other bloggers..such a fun way to get to know someone better!

    • Aw, thank you Connie. You are so sweet! I’m sorry about your grandfather having cancer, but that is AWESOME that he’s cancer free – YIPPEE!!! I can’t tell you how much it warms my heart to hear survivor stories. 🙂 It’s funny how chemo/radiation can change things. I’ve heard a lot of people have totally different hair texture &/or color when it grows back. Thank you so much for nominating me for a Liebster Award! xoxoxo

  9. Pingback: Womans Half Marathon Recap | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

