Banana Protein Pancakes

This is a recipe that I’ve been meaning to post for awhile, but like most things, I haven’t gotten around to it until now.  I can sometimes be a slight procrastinator…

During Hurricane Isaac (in August – told you this recipe is a bit late) I was craving pancakes.  Not all too unusual because I do love a good pancake.  However, there aren’t many pancake recipes that are clean eater friendly – that don’t taste like rubber.   Hmph… This led to playing in my kitchen which ultimately resulted in these beauties!  {Insert trumpet fanfare.}

Banana Protein Pancakes

Banana Protein Pancakes

They were fabulous and fluffy, very banana-y, and oh so good!  With only a handful of ingredients, you, too, can be enjoying some protein pancake goodness.  So here’s the recipe low down –

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used RAW).
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1 cup milk (plus more if needed to thin the batter)

Step 1: Mix together the dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl, mash the banana to smithereens, add the milk, then add the lightly beaten egg and stir everything.  Slowly combine the dry ingredients with the wet; stir just until combined.  Depending on how you like your pancakes, you may want to add some milk to thin the batter out a bit.

Step 2:  On a pre-heated skillet, drop 1/4 c batter and cook until the entire pancake bubbles.  The trick to these pancakes is to cook them low and slow (like medium heat).  With the addition of the banana and protein powder, these puppies take quite a bit longer than regular pancakes.  If you have the heat up too high, you cook the outside and have pancake soup on the inside.  LOW and SLOW, people! Got it?

Step 3:  EAT!!  This recipe makes 10 pancakes if you use the 1/4 c method.

Since I love all things peanut butter, I topped mine with natural peanut butter and pure maple syrup – they were divine! I’ve also contemplated using chocolate protein powder instead of vanilla for a bit more decadent pancake.  If you try that, let me know how it tastes!  You can also ditch the protein powder all together and just make some really yummy, kid-friendly banana pancakes.

pub

Tonight, my running buddies and I are meeting with a new running group.  And I. Am. Excited! The group meets every Wednesday at an Irish Pub.  They have a few different courses but after you’re done running you meet back up for drinks and appetizers.  Sounds fun, right?

Question: Are you a pancake lover? What’s your favorite topping??

16 thoughts on “Banana Protein Pancakes

  1. Mmmm, I love a good pancake! I usually top mine with almond butter and blueberries. Random combo, but delicious! Have fun with the new running club tonight! Getting in a good run and then eating (and drinking) sounds like a total win-win. 🙂

  2. Oh my my!! These looks fabulous!! I’m a huge pancake freak. Love them w peanut butter and syrup! I’m definitely trying this out!!! Have a wonderful day!! Xo

    • I just don’t understand why clean pancakes have to have such a weird texture. Technically, these aren’t 100% clean because I use the egg yolk, but I really don’t care; they taste so much better.

  3. Yum! I love all of these variations I keep seeing around the blogosphere. I think I’m going to try a savory waffle tonight 🙂

Leave a Reply

