Catching Up

Whew! Is it really Monday, already?? Who else wants a do-over of the weekend?  I got back Saturday afternoon from a work trip to Washington, DC, and I still haven’t really caught up on every thing that went on while I was gone.  For those of you that are new to my blog, in real life I work with victims of domestic violence, sexual assault and stalking.  It’s a job that I love and one where I really feel I’m contributing to the greater good of others.   One of the things I have to do to stay in compliance with various grants is attending conferences periodically; so off to DC I went.

Greetings from the White House.Or in my case.  From outside the White House like every other tourist.

Greetings from the White House.
Or in my case. From outside the White House like every other tourist.

It was a good conference, not great (it was entirely bureaucratic), but it’s always nice to be around others who are driven by the same passion. We did have at least one really interesting day, but it wasn’t because of the conference.  It was because of a bomb threat at the Dept. of Justice building.  The entire city block -hotels, restaurants, businesses- were evacuated for 2 1/2 hours until they determined it was just a hoax.  I think I would have found some humor in it if I had at least been able to grab a jacket.  DC in November without a jacket is COLD!

This was as close as I could get to the action. What you don't see is the million and one unmarked cars that showed up.

This was as close as I could get to the action. What you don’t see is the million and one unmarked cars that showed up.

I have a 1/2 marathon next week so I made sure to get some running in; not as much as I wanted but that’s ok.  I wasn’t comfortable running outside at night in DC so that meant treadmill miles….And I learned the hard way that the hotel treadmills are set to shut down after 60 minutes of use.  I was in a really good groove on the ‘mill when all the sudden it shut down.  Has this ever happened to you? I was pretty irritated but started it back up and finished my run.

It's not what I'm used to, but it got the job done just fine.

It’s not what I’m used to, but it got the job done just fine.

Does anyone else have trouble taking self portraits? I HATE doing this.

Post 7 mile treadmill run.
Does anyone else have trouble taking self portraits? I HATE doing this.

I also ate waaaaay too much in DC; mostly healthy, but still too much.

Ok, now for the catching up part….

The 100 Pushup Challenge.  Oy!! This is going to be the death of me! I just finished week 3 (out of 6) and man, oh, man it is challenging. No pun intended.  I really am not happy with this challenge and don’t see much improvement, visually at least.  I’m going to stick it out but I don’t think I’d recommend it.

pushups

The #Holidayaday Instagram Challenge.  This challenge started Saturday and has taken off better then we (the girls that created it and myself) could have ever anticipated!  By Saturday night, we already had over 600 photos with Day 1’s theme #festive.  If you haven’t joined the challenge, what are you waiting for? It’s just a fun way to get more involved with social media.

holiday

The 1/2 marathon this weekend.  I’m running the inaugural Woman’s Half Marathon this Sunday and I don’t feel prepared for it at all.  Between the foot pain I’ve been having and the reduced mileage, I know that this will not be a PR race.  But that’s ok, not every race has to be a PR.  I’m going to run it in memory of my Aunt Kathy who died from ovarian cancer in 2003.

530467_346783215388047_1250122562_n

Marathon #2 training.  Today marks the 5th week of training for the Rock-n-Roll marathon in February.  I’ve been kind of silent on the training updates but that’s because there really have been any worth talking about.  The first month’s mileage was really low which was great; it gave me time to recover after the Marine Corps Marathon.  I’m looking forward to it intensifying soon; I’m really missing my long (15+ miles) runs.  On the downside, I’m really worried that this dang foot pain is going to interfere with my marathon plans.  I’ve made promises to my husband and running girls to get it checked out after the 1/2 if it doesn’t go away.  I think I’m going to try a chiropractor first to see if it’s an alignment issue and if that doesn’t work, off to the doctor.  I’m pretty worried about hearing the words ‘stress fracture’ and ‘no running’.

Ok, that’s all I have.  I know that was a lot of info but do you feel caught up? Sorry I crammed everything into one post.  I won’t do that again. Hopefully.

Question:  How was your weekend? Any fun races, holiday events? Or did you just relax and unwind?

21 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. Would you believe I haven’t visited DC since second grade? I went with my parents, and we did all the touristy stuff, and I vividly remember seeing the ruby slippers from the Wizard of Oz. That was definitely a high-point of my life then. 😉

    Major props for running seven miles on the dreadmill. I get *so* bored after 15 minutes, and I have been on machines that shut off after 60 minutes–so annoying. And yes, post-workout selfies are a challenge. I don’t know what I’m going to do for #workit today! 😉

    • The last time I ‘toured’ DC (I don’t count the marathon as touring) was when I was 8, too! What I remember of it was all the walking and me complaining about how my feet hurt. Oh, and the hope diamond. That was going to be my diamond someday. 🙂 It was really nice getting to see all the monuments again this time and now I can check touring DC off of my list of things to do. 🙂 I’d say it’s definitely worth going again as an adult but not before seeing some other cool places first.

      I’m not sure what I’m going to do for #workit either; I’m feeling pretty lethargic today. Gotta get moving and get some blood pumping to my brain!

  2. Oh wow!! I can’t believe that was the conference you were at in dc! One of my friends was also there!! How ironic!! Glad to have you back and at it!! ❤

  3. Aw you should have let all of us know that you were in DC! I live in the area (less than an hour away) and there are so many bloggers out there, we could have done a blogger meetup!! I hate treadmills too. They’re terrible!

    • I know! I thought about that as I was running. I wasn’t sure how much time I would have at night to do things but I would have been fine to visit with some amazing DC bloggers (like you!). 🙂

  4. Awesome job coordinating and pushing people for the #holidayaday! 🙂

    What a bummer about the push-up challenge! Hopefully you can find a strength program that will get you those little biceps! 🙂

  5. I always accidentally smack the emergency stop off the treadmill – sooo mad! I absolutely hate taking self portraits! I can’t wait until I have a front facing camera on my phone so I stop looking like such a tool trying to get a non blurry/ crooked picture of myself (/ i’m so vain)

    • I do that too (enable the emergency stop), and it absolutely ticks me off! Not only does it mess your groove up, but then you have to wait for everything to slowly start back up. Beka, I have to confess that I have a front facing camera phone but I still take horrible pictures. I think it’s more of the subject in the picture (me) being not photogenic – ha!

    • I’m searching for Mr. Helicopter, Abby! Unfortunately, I haven’t run across any yet… But when I do, I’ll be sure to pass along your address. You wouldn’t mind me giving your address to a total rich stranger, right? 😉

  6. Pingback: 100 Pushup Fail | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

