Deck the Halls

In case you need another reminder after my post on Wednesday, it’s definitely that time of year again!  ho Ho HO!  Not that I can tell by the weather that Christmas is drawing near, it’s been in the upper 60s this week.  I’ve lived in the South for 9 years now and I still haven’t acclimated to warm winters.  I really miss snow and all the fun stuff that goes along with it.  Skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating, snow forts….

Sorry, I got off track. Snow or no snow, I still get to decorate! Which is exactly what Jody and I did on Sunday.  We don’t really have many traditions, I think those tend to come with kids, but we always have a good time.  One of the few decorating traditions I have is listening to Alabama Christmas (yes, from the 80s). I have such fond memories of listening to that album when I was a kid.  Can I get an ‘Amen’ if you know who Thistlehair the Christmas Bear is?

I may or may not have made / consumed some homemade Ghiradelli chocolate chip cookies.  First refined sugar in almost 3 weeks and, yep, it was worth it! I mean I had to eat some to get into the decorating spirit, right?  I may have also been sympathy baking since my foot hurt to put any pressure on it.  At least I don’t sympathy eat; I leave that for my husband.  I just like to make the stuff.

Instead of giving you a play-by-play of decorating the Christmas tree *yawn* I’m just going to share some pictures of my favorite decorations.

Our very first married Christmas – 2005

You’re not a true Southerner until you have “Y’all” on your tree.

Peace on Earth Santa

My grandma hand crocheted both of these ornaments.

Mississippi Santa (top) Minnesota Santa (bottom)

My brother’s Michigan ornament. (Michigan was his fav team.)

My and the hubs stockings.

Angel loves the Christmas tree. We jokingly call it her home.

*Oooooh-Ahhhhhh*

Merry Christmas from us! (Excuse my tired look & bad makeup.)

I hope you enjoyed a little slice of my holiday cheer.   I’ve only been able to enjoy it a little while, currently I’m out of town for work; it’s been, uh, interesting to say the least.  Don’t worry, I brought my workout clothes.  Work trips aren’t an excuse to not get things done.  I know I’m going to be eating more than I usually do, thanks gov’t per diem, and I’m going to be sitting a lot in various sessions so the least I can do is hit the workout room a few times.  Although, with the foot pain (nope, it hasn’t gone away) I probably should use this time to relax.  Relax?? What’s that! I hope y’all have a great weekend and good luck to all of you racing!!

Question:  What are your Christmas traditions? Have you put up your decorations yet?

16 thoughts on “Deck the Halls

  1. Those are gorgeous decorations!! I think that Xmas decor is so much fun! I absolutely love it!! My mom has old santas at her home that she was given by her grandmother which are so cool!! Enjoy the rest of ur work trip!! Xoxo

  2. All done decorating here! I love the crocheted ornaments and your bro’s! We have a few we made too…this year we had no energy left lol. Xo

  3. We didn’t do too much decorating. Just the tree and a couple little things around the it. we weren’t sure how Claire would do with them. So far, we’ve only suffered two losses to ornament pieces and she keeps ripping her stocking off the side table where it’s hung. i LOVE no more cold winters! I moved away from TN to FL for that reason! Whenever I start to doubt myself, I just go outside and post a picture of a palm tree and giggle at all the “i hate you it’s freezing/snowing” responses I get from anyone north of here! 😀

    • The first year we had Riley I noticed our candy canes on the lower portion of the tree were disappearing. It took a few days for me to figure out that the little sneak was eating them off the tree! The things animals do! I hope you make it through the season without anymore ornament casualties! I have to admit that when I read about temps in the double negatives, I get pretty grateful that I’m in the South. I just need a snow machine to make me 100% happy – lol!

    • The hubs and I are hit and miss with decorating. This is the first time since 2009 that we’ve decorated everything (and it’s because I threw a tantrum). 2010 we drug out the tree but didn’t decorate it and then last year we didn’t do anything. You’re in good company by putting stuff up a few days before. It may be another 3 years before this happens again…

  4. You too are gorgeous, your tree is gorgeous…
    Angel has a very similar coloring to my wild Harlee.
    Oh, and I sympathy, stress, etc. eat. I wish I could cook and let other eat it, that is still one of my biggest issues. You do not want o know what my food consumption looked like on Wednesday when my blog crashed! Ahhhh….

    • You are my new BFF for saying I’m gorgeous – lie to me anytime! 🙂 I hate that your blog crashed – even if it was for a good reason. I think I may have joined you in the sympathy eating that night. Giving up baking has been the hardest thing about clean eating; especially during the holidays.

  5. Why hello there! 🙂

    I gotta say I do love your grandma ornaments… I may have a few from the wonderful lady myself (or should I say half my tree is decorated in G’ma Miller’s creativity). We put the tree up today, but other than that we don’t really have many traditions. This year, We’re doing an activity advent calendar to keep us in touch with each other during the season. Today was decorate the tree, tomorrow is “make paper snowflakes”, etc. There are also ones that get us out of the house.

    Oh, I remembered a tradition. We like to drink sparkling cider, eat popcorn, and watch a movie on Christmas Eve. Nothing big, but it works for us. We’re a pretty laid back couple when it comes to Christmas.

    • Why hello right back at you!! You already know this, but I loved seeing your ornaments from Grandma on your tree! I love the idea of an advent activity calendar. I may have to borrow that idea from you next year. Between Jody’s work/school schedule there would be no way we could do anything like that. I’ll be so happy when he finishes his MBA in just a few months!

      I love your tradition of a movie/date night on Christmas Eve. Jody and I are laid back, too. I really think the traditions will come when kids come. I just hope the kids like Alabama Christmas; that’s my only tradition and I’m not giving it up – ever!

Leave a Reply

