The Color Run Recap

Did y’all have a great weekend? I was so sad to see it end.  Any weekend that’s filled with extra days off, food, family & friends, and running is alright in my opinion!  Friday I went to the gym (which was  ghost town thanks to everyone shopping) and got in 4 miles of Yassos at a 7:45 pace, 5 miles cycling to work the kinks out of my legs after the Yassos, and then I hit the upper body weight machines.  My arms and legs were spongy like jello.

Saturday, I met my running girls and we knocked out 10 miles.  Our training plan called for 9 but we have a 1/2 marathon in two weeks and I wanted to get at least one double digit run in.  Adding an extra mile may not have been the best idea.  I was having some knee pain pretty early into the run and then by the time we finished the 10 miles my foot was on fire.  For the remainder of the day I had a shooting pain in my foot any time I put pressure on it.  I’m hoping it’s not a precursor of things to come.

Ignore my jacked up toes…Have any of you had pain where I’m pointing?

Last weekend I had the pleasure of running The Color Run in New Orleans.  I registered for this ‘run’ (there really wasn’t much running going on) back in February and had been anxiously patiently biding my time for it to happen.  And happen, it did!  With this being such a fun run, I really wanted to embrace the spirit so I tutu’d it up with along with some funky glasses and one fishnet glove; my inner 80s diva had arrived.

To make it even better, Larissa from Zero to Twenty Six Point Two contacted me and asked if I’d be interested in running for Swiftwick socks.  Um, that decision took all of 3.5 seconds to make.  I have a pair of Swiftwick Vibe Ones that I use for running so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on their Performance 12s (compression socks) and tech shirt.  I loved the compression socks and the shirt was seriously buttery soft.  The Swiftwick gear was the perfect compliment to my outrageous outfit.

I ❤ tutus…..and Swiftwick….and paint!!

Before the run we (my two running girls and I) met up with Larissa to get some pictures for Swiftwick.  Mindy from Road Runner Girl was there; it’s so nice meeting other bloggers IRL!

Swiftwick girls. HOLLA!!!

After the pictures, we went ahead and got in line for the run to start.  In order to avoid congestion in the paint areas, they let the runners go in different waves.  I was in the 3rd wave and it took about 20 minutes before we crossed the starting line.

My running girls {before}

My favorite picture!
I have no idea who this guy is but he was awesome!

Only in NOLA would this not seem strange.

Waiting to start. Soooooo many people!

Finally, we were off to Oompa Loompa town! I had fully intended on running this event but it was so congested that I was only able to run it for a little bit before slowing to a jog and then finally to a walk.  But it was totally fine.  It was so much fun seeing people of all ages, shapes and sizes coming together to get their paint on!  One of the reasons I love events like this is because it’s a catalyst for many people to start their fitness journey.

There were 4 different color stations: orange, blue, yellow, pink and then one big finisher paint party at the end.  There was even a couple that got married on stage before the run and then went through The Color Run in their wedding attire.  So cute!

My color progression.

BLUE! My favorite color!!

After making our way through the 3.1 miles of color explosions, we crossed the finish line and followed the sound of LMFAO to the finisher’s party and joined the shindig.

After!!!

cheeeeeeeze

My fantastic package of biodegradable paint.
Is it just me or do I have a slight hint of smurf showing through?

Totally awesome finisher’s paint fest! I have a video on Youtube if you want to see it live.

I think my Swiftwick socks look even better with a bit of color, don’t you?

Question:  Have you ever done a fun run like this? I’ve heard of Ugly Sweater runs, Underwear Dashes, and Glow Runs. They all sound fun to me!

30 thoughts on “The Color Run Recap

  1. Way to get after it in the gym, Gina! Plus a double-digit run? You’re unstoppable! Does your foot hurt toward the outside? That sometimes happens to me when I run, but it usually wears off after a couple miles.

    Holy cow–the Color Run sounds like the best time ever! I tried to sign up for the one in NYC, but it sold out in two minutes or something, so I missed the boat. One day, though. I’ve heard Glow Runs are also fun. 🙂

    • Yeah, it hurts on the outside. I broke my foot in roughly the same spot a looooong time ago so it makes me wonder if it’s related. Fingers crossed it’s nothing but normal aches and pains.

      You totally need to ‘run’ (walk??) one of these. You would have so much fun!! I registered the day it opened but unfortunately some friends of mine decided later that they wanted to run it and couldn’t get in. It’s crazy how fast they sell out.

  2. That is around the same spot I was having pain a few weeks before my half marathon. I rested it for a few days, iced it, and rolled it on a tennis ball several times a day. It seemed to help and the pain went away within a couple weeks even with me running on it. Hope you heal up quickly!

    • I’m so happy to hear that resting/ice helped you! I’ve been using a tennis ball which provides some relief but I’m definitely going to keep doing it. Thanks so much for the input – I hope you nailed your 1/2!!

  3. OH my gosh this looks like the BEST time! I’ve been wanting to do a color run forever and after seeing your pictures I will definitely be signing up for the next one in my area 🙂

  4. im dying to do a color run! you look so darn cute! those glasses remind me of like early 90s saved by the bell/fresh prince of bel air style! hahaha love ya girlie! ❤

  5. I’m totally doing this next summer when it’s in St. Paul. I’ve asked Ed to get me a pair of running shoes in February (when our taxes returns come in). 🙂 I’ll have to find a couple other people to do it with me.

    As for other fun runs, this weekend in the Twin Cities (I can’t remember if it’s St.P or Mlps) they are doing the Moustache 5k Run (http://www.moustacherun.com/). I just learned about it a week ago or so, so I didn’t sign up since I haven’t been running at all, but if they do it again next year, I’m in! 😀

    • I just checked out the Moustache Run and it looks SO fun! We don’t have a ton of fun run around me but I’m hoping that as they grow in popularity more will come my way.

      I can’t wait for you to do The Color Run! You will have such a great time! Walk, run, skip, hop…whatever you do, just make sure to get covered in paint!

  6. So envious – our first one just sold out! 😦

    I had pain there, but who knows if it was the same as yours. It was what eventually led me to my chiro, who is now my guru on all things. One I got the right treatment it didn’t take long to get back on track.

  7. So glad you enjoyed the Color Run – we also put on the Ugly Sweater Run!! We aren’t in NOLA right now but check out the website as we had so much fun down there we may bring it in January!! And thanks for reminding everyone that running can be fun! theuglysweaterrun,com

Leave a Reply

