Marathon Plans and Vegetable Chicken Soup

Ah, Wednesday, how you tease me being the middle of the work week.  Yet, I’m still trying to get back in the swing of things from my mini-vacay with the hubs.  You gotta love extended weekends, right?  So this weekend we went a couple hours north to visit some family.  I got in a lovely 7 mile run and then Jody and went on a leisurely bike ride.  It was so pretty!

One of the gorgeous views from my run.

Since I’m still on the no sugar detox I was pretty nervous about leaving the security of my pantry; however, it turned out to be fine.   It was definitely an inconvenience but I stuck to my guns.  Saturday night we went out to swanky restaurant and there was so many yummy things on the menu that I wanted but I settled for chicken and vegetables.  Safe.  Not much processed crap goes into chicken and vegetables.

nommmmmmmm…

Before coming home we made a detour to my favorite duck pond.  I’m such a big kid at heart and love feeding the ducks/geese. It’s the little things in life that make me the happiest.

Duckzilla likes to eat clean. He says gimme more organic, whole wheat croutons now before I peck your toes off!

After the weekend fun ended I still had all of Monday to piddle around be completely productive.  It turned out to be a really rainy and fairly cold day which meant a trip to the gym to get my miles in.  After that I met my running girls for lunch at Newks so we could discuss our Rock-n-Roll marathon training plan.  This week started week 2 of training.

I printed my Marine Corps Marathon training plan which was geared to for a 4:30 finish.  My goal for Rock-n-Roll New Orleans is 4:30 or better so my running girls and I tweaked the plan just a bit.  It focuses more on speed and building up strength to get me to the starting line injury free.

I’m excited about running RnR New Orleans (NOLA) again.  I ran the 1/2 marathon last year and suffered quite a bit of marathon envy watching all the marathoners continue on as I headed towards the finish line.  Did I mention that last year RnR NOLA was my very first 1/2 marathon?

It’s crazy to me that in the period of a year I will have run 5 half marathons, 2 full marathons and countless other races.  1 1/2 years ago I was still nursing my ‘I can’t do that because I injured my knee’ mentality and letting it dictate my life.  I’m so glad I threw I can’t out of the window.  Never under estimate what you can do when you kick the ‘I can’t’ mentality.   So now less then a year later, I’m planning my second marathon and this time I will not have marathon envy, I will enjoy marathon glory! (Side note…I’m not telling you to ignore an injury.  Listen to your Dr., let yourself heal, and then keep going.  Don’t stop what you love out of fear of re-injury.)

And now the part of the post that you’ve all been patiently waiting for….the recipe. I mentioned earlier that Monday was a terribly dreary day which means one thing to me….SOUP!  I went to my pantry and fridge to see what I had to work with – looked like a chicken soup sort of day.  So I visited my favorite clean eating recipe site, The Gracious Pantry, and found a recipe that worked with what I had; I was only missing a few ingredients.

After tweaking the original recipe just a bit, this is the hearty deliciousness that happened: Clean Vegetable Chicken Soup (it would also taste great if you used beef instead of chicken).  This recipe makes a large amount so if your crockpot is on the smaller side, I’d cut the ingredients in 1/2.  I wouldn’t want you crying over spilled, err, broth.

Nothing says fall like eating soup out of a leaf shaped bowl. YUM!

Clean Vegetable Chicken Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1.5lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, thawed
  • 12oz frozen sweet corn
  • 12oz frozen sweet peas
  • 1 15oz can black beans, undrained
  • 1 15oz can kidney beans, undrained
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 large potato, peeled and diced
  • 2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 2 tbsp onion powder
  • 2 tbsp dried basil
  • 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 15oz tomato sauce
  • 3.5 cups organic chicken broth

Instructions:

Place all ingredients (in the same order they are listed) into a large crockpot, set on low and run away! Ha, just kidding. Don’t run away, you still have to come back and eat it.  Instead of running away, cook on low 4-6 hours or until the chicken falls easily apart.

When making this soup, pay attention to the labels on your produce, especially the canned and frozen vegetables.  You want to get organic and make sure that there isn’t any sugar hiding out.

Don’t forget today’s the last day to enter my Vega Energizing Smoothie giveaway!

Question:  What’s your favorite type of cold day comfort food?

18 thoughts on “Marathon Plans and Vegetable Chicken Soup

  1. oh my goodness!! what a crazy looking duck! hahaha. i think that your recipe looks great! something definitely to try! my favorite cold weather comfort food is my moms potato dumpling soup, i think! or just plain old grilled cheese and tomato! :o) have a fabulous day!!!!!

  2. I think it is crazy that I sat at the finish of my second half, watching my friends come in who were completing the full and felt disappointed in myself for not doing the full with them.

    So now I am trying to decide which full I want to do and get my family on board. I am leaning towards Philly 2013.

    You have come a long way and I think that is fantastic. Way to go!

    • Aw, I hate that you felt disappointed after your second 1/2. Conquering 13.1 miles is no easy feat! I totally understand though. I had a mild insanity moment as I watched the marathoners split from us and {briefly} considered following. That would have been terrible.

      I’m so excited about your upcoming marathon; I’m definitely going to have to keep my eye on your blog for the official announcement of what you decided! 🙂

  3. Oooo, I have almost all of those ingredients on hand! And I love that it contains beans–love me some black beans big time. 😀 That’s so exciting you’re gearing up for RnR NOLA! Having a goal race or event makes running and training much more worthwhile. You’ll do great!

    • I’m a black bean freak! It’s my go-to protein source so I always have plenty on hand! I’m pretty stoked about NOLA and can’t wait. We get to run through the French Quarter right past Cafe Du Monde and I’m totally going to get someone to give me a beignet. 🙂

  4. Good luck with the marathon training. I’m getting ready for a Roll n Roll event as well…the Rock n Roll St Pete Half marathon in Feb. I’ve never done one of these events. Can’t wait.

    • Thanks Jenelle! I bet St. Pete has a gorgeous course. You’re going to love RnR, the spectators are awesome and the bands are fantastic. I know some people don’t really like the RnR events but I’m a pretty big fan.

Leave a Reply

