No Sugar Challenge Update & Vega Giveaway

Originally, I was going to wait until Monday to write this post but then I realized that this weekend is Veteran’s Day.  So instead of trying to cram two posts together, I figured I go ahead and do my week 1 update a few days early.  You don’t mind, right? I’m pretty sure nothing’s going to change between now and Monday.

So how has everyone been doing with the no sugar challenge? It’s definitely been a challenge for me these past few days.  Not challenging in the way that I’m tempted to ‘cheat’ but challenging instead because this is a HUGE inconvenience!  You don’t really realize how much sugar, even natural sugar, you rely on until it’s all been taken away from you.  [insert pitiful trombone noise here]

Giving up all forms of sugar means that I’ve given up most processed foods, even my ‘healthy’ processed foods.   Even my Kashi taste-like-cardboard-to-most-people cereal has evaporated cane juice in it.  So basically, if I want to eat something, I have to make it from scratch which, let’s face it, is insanely time consuming.  No wonder women from the early to mid 20th century didn’t work.  They couldn’t get out of the kitchen.  Throw in some kids and no washers or dryers and I’m exhausted just thinking about it!

On the plus side, I’m over the sugar cravings and I’ve stopped finding myself wandering aimlessly between the pantry and fridge.  The first few days I was starving and felt like I couldn’t fill up but that, too, has gone away.  It always amazes me at how much faster my body digests and uses the nutrients from whole foods vs. processed.  If I don’t eat every 2-3 hours I’m starved!

FYI – if you ever want to jump start your metabolism, make sure to eat at least 5-6 times a day; I prefer 6-7.  By only eating 3 meals a day your body goes into starvation mode and conserves calories from the food you ingest.  Feeding yourself 5-6 daily allows your body the peace of mind to go ahead and burn those calories since it knows you’ll be replacing them again.  Sorry, I digress.

I’ve also been detoxing my body with 20 oz of warm lemon water each morning.  The bitter flavor first thing in the morning took a bit of adjusting to but I’ve started to enjoy it.

So the benefits that I’ve seen so far? Really the only one I’ve noticed is that my skin has cleared up quite a bit.  I don’t know if it’s because of the no sugar / lemon water detox or because I’m not running as much as I was a few weeks ago.  Either way, I’m enjoying not looking like a teenage girl.  YAY!  The downside – it’s really, really affected my running.  That’s really the only time I physically notice the detox.

Wednesday night I hit the treadmill for the first time in months (literally, since July or August) and it. was. terrible.  I’m not sure when I started hating the treadmill so much? I guess maybe when I realized that I wouldn’t melt running in the elements.  But my night got 1,000% better with the arrival of a package from Vega.  (To read more about my thoughts on Vega, check out this review I wrote.)

Holy motherload! This is like $300 worth of product. Me = happy!

I won a photo contest back in September where I had to show them what energizes me.  Of course the photo had something to do with running… It’s actually from my first duathlon.

I’ll have to wait until the no sugar challenge is over to enjoy it but I want to share the love with you! I’m going give away a full size package of Vega’s Energizing Smoothie because I just adore y’all!

Mandatory Entry: Leave a comment below telling me what energizes you.
Additional Entries (leave a separate comment for each): 1) Subscribe to Noshing on Asphalt and tell me what e-mail you subscribed with.
2.) Follow me on Twitter
3.) Follow me on Instagram @asphaltnosher
4.) Like my Facebook page

The contest will run through Wednesday, November 14 at 11:59 cst and be selected through Random.org.  I will announce the winner on Friday, November 16.

39 thoughts on “No Sugar Challenge Update & Vega Giveaway

  1. i love me some vega, no need to enter I’ve got plenty! just wanted to say kudos on the sugar free challenge. I have gone down that path a few times, but i agree it meant reallllly thinking about food. I finally found a happy medium where I have some chocolate and a small treat daily it seems to keep me from overdoing in other areas

  2. Glad to hear the sugar detox is going well, Gina. Every time I ate a piece of fruit this week, I thought of you!

    Let’s see … what energizes me … favorable weather definitely inspires me. During my senior year of college, I lived in a theme house with 15 others girls that was located on the lake. Even better, I had a room on the second floor that overlooked the lake. How could I wake up, see the lake and the gorgeous sun rise and not want to run? If I’m struggling to find workout motivation, I rely on some mantras: “You’re only one workout away from a good mood”; “Wow, I really regret that workout. –Said no one ever”; “If it were easy, everyone would do it.” And also knowing that I have a race or event in the near future provides a good kick of energy. 🙂

  3. Oh man! I’m a huuuuge vega fan! Just tried the chocolate smoothie this morning, and the vanilla almondilla protein is in my pantry along with the tropical too!! I’ll definitely be entering this! What energizes me is getting up early before work everyday and getting my sweat on before anything else! Love that part of my routine! Happy Friday, love!

  4. I am inspired by you not eating sugar. I have gone off of sugar a few times in the past but I’ve never been brave enough to attempt staying away from fruit and other natural sugars at the same time. I may join you next week and continue for the following week. This week just would have been too difficult as I had food in my fridge to eat and I just need time to mentally prepare myself for this kind of thing if I’m going to succeed at it.

  5. I really feel energized after Body Pump (my weight lifting class). I always feel so good when I’m finished with that class. 🙂

  6. I love the way blogging can make the day instantly better! I’m intrigued by the no-sugar thing. I refuse to deprive myself (remnants of ED), and I think it can be part a balanced diet, but I understand the desire to go off it for a little while and kick-start your body. Good luck – looking forward to seeing how it goes!

  7. If the temp is 70 and the sun is shining, I will spend 8 hr twitching to get out of my cubicle to get out and throw down some miles. Nothing perks me up more than a perfect weather run!
    I am in awe of how you have given up sugar. I tend to eat pretty healthy, but sugar is definitely my pitfall from the teaspoon in my coffee, to dressing, granola bars I eat throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

