Weekend Fun & the 2 Week Sugar Detox

I went on my first post-marathon run this weekend! I had done yoga and gone to the gym last week but I really wanted to give my body a bit of time to recover before running.  My running girls and I had talked about doing 10 miles but someone (who, me?)  might have gotten kind of pouty at the last minute; we ended up doing 7 really easy paces miles (10:32).  The first mile was the hardest but once I got going it was great.  This run was somewhat of a dual first.  It was my first post-marathon run, and it was also the first run of my Rock-n-Roll New Orleans marathon training.  No rest for the wicked, eh?

I’m glad to be running again. I think I may have been driving the hubby crazy  this week with all my excess energy and complaints about ‘having nothing to do’.

After we ran, my running girls and I grabbed some breakfast and then headed over to the Peter Anderson Festival.

It’s a local festival that has hundreds of artist booths and food vendors.  It’s just a blast seeing all of the amazing things people create.

It’s a dog family made out of junk yard stuff!

This is such a cool coffee table. Definitely a conversation piece!

Then yesterday the hubby and I drove over to Mobile for the day.  It was nice just relaxing and enjoying the city together.  One of my favorite things about Mobile is that they have a Fresh Market.  I’m totally deprived of any Fresh Markets or Whole Foods here in Mississippi so of course we had to stop.  I adore walking into the store and seeing all beautiful colors of the fresh produce on display.

Taste the rainbow!

Now it’s onto the main portion of this post….My 2 week sugar detox challenge!

Starting today, I’m going cold turkey with the sugar – natural sugar included.  This means no honey, maple syrup or even fruit (except for lemons; I’ll explain that later) for the next 14 days.  The reason I’m doing this?  Well, the last few weeks leading up to the Marine Corps Marathon I really allowed myself to go overboard with the sugar –both natural and refined– and now I’m paying for it.  I’m not sure how many dozens of times, “It’s ok, I’m running a marathon” came out of my mouth.  This past week I’ve felt sluggish and sickly which is my body telling me to stop putting crap into it.

I think it’s important to point out that even clean eaters can go overboard on sugar.  Just because something’s natural (i.e. honey, maple syrup, fruit, etc…) it still contains the sparkly white stuff….just in the non-sparkly form.  I guess natural sugar can be compared to a diamond in the ruff; it just hasn’t gone through the sparkling (refining) process.

So what are the benefits I’m looking forward to by eliminating sugar?

  • Reduced cravings & getting my sweet tooth back under control;
  • Clearer skin;
  • Less headaches;
  • A much happier digestive system;
  • Eliminating the few pounds I put on during marathon training; and most importantly….
  • More energy!!

I mentioned a few paragraphs ago that lemons are the only fruit I’ll be consuming during this detox.  To help aid my body in cleansing itself I’m going to be drinking hot lemon water every morning during the two weeks.

Studies show that drinking hot lemon water when you first wake up helps stimulate digestion for the day and clears the body of any toxins that may have settled in the digestive tract overnight (source).  Plus drinking lemon water (hot or cold) throughout the day has the following benefits:

  • Supports immune functions;
  • Alkalizes the body;
  • Aids in digestion;
  • Clears skin; and
  • Promotes healing.

So the next time you go to a restaurant, make sure to get lemon with that water!! To read more about the benefits of drinking lemon water, check out this article from Vega.

Whew! Are you tired of reading about this detox challenge and ready to get started?  Feel free to join me during the next two weeks as I get myself headed back in the right, clean eating direction. Not ready to go cold turkey with all sugar?  Then keep the natural and eliminate the refined.  We can suffer through the sugar withdrawals together!  It takes commitment, willpower and lots of label reading but I did this same detox last year for 30 days and it was amazing!

27 thoughts on “Weekend Fun & the 2 Week Sugar Detox

  1. wow, girlie!! you are just amazing! i don’t think i could ever give up my fruit! what a challenge! i know that you will be able to do it though! you’re so strong!!! have a very happy monday!!! xxoo

  2. What an awesome festival! And to have a group of friends to run with is so great! I need something like this! Ive recently “gone Paleo” so its pretty much zero sugar …other than fruit. I love it!

    • It really is a neat festival. You totally need a few running friends; they keep me accountable on days when I just don’t feel like doing anything. Great job on going Paleo!! I have several friends that took the same challenge. I’m a bit attached to my grains right now. 🙂

  3. Good for you on the no sugar challenge! I just had a friend do a month w/o sugar and it changed her life! Now she can turn down cookies, cake, etc. because it doesn’t even sound good! Not to mention how she feels… I would love to do it… but ughhh hahaha love me some sugaaaa.

    • That’s awesome about your friend! I did it last year for 30 days when I started clean eating and I felt amazing but it was totally hard. I’m hoping these two weeks fly by because I really, really am going to miss my fruit.

  4. I love you and all but I’m not ready for cold turkey. I’m sorry G 😉 I have been behaving with the candy etc. but there’s sugar in my protein, my fro yo, my peanut butter! I will cheer you on like the great bestie that I am though!! xo

    • I ❤ you, too, and I know it's not for everyone. I just feel so much better w/o all that stuff in my system. The protein powder I use has stevia (a clean sweeter) but I still can't have it for the next two weeks. Don't worry, I'm not giving up my PB…I eat the natural stuff that only has peanuts in it (even though it tastes like arse).

  5. Congrats on your first run since the marathon! Nothing like running after a break from it! Good luck with your no sugar challenge! And thanks for the info about the lemons! I ALWAYS take them out of my water at restaurants but I will be keeping them in from now on! 🙂

    • Thanks Mindy!! It felt really great to get back out there; even if I was a bit pouty. lol! I had no idea until recently about all the benefits of lemons. Definitely enjoy it! (Although, they do say restaurants never wash their lemons…I dunno…God made dirt and dirt don’t hurt, right?)

  6. Woohoo for your first post-marathon run! Seven miles is an intense outing, though; two or three sounds more ideal to me. 😉 Good luck with your sugar detox, Gina, and holy cow–I could not give up fruit! It will be interesting to see how your body responds and if you notice a difference during your training/runs.

    • 7 miles was definitely a surprise (I had envisioned around 5) but 7 sounded better than the 10 that was initially thrown out there.

      I’m missing my fruit already but I know it will be worth it in the end. And part of the reason I’m only doing a two week detox is so I can properly fuel my runs once my mileage gets above 10. I know my body needs at least natural sugar to function efficiently during the longer miles.

  7. Good luck, Gina!! If you can run a marathon, you can easily cut out sugar! I did a similar thing when I did my Whole30 challenge, except that fruit was okay, but any form of added-sugars or honey, maple, etc. were not. It’s crazy how many things have sugar in them that you don’t even realize!
    Will this affect any of your running? Do you have sugar-free ways of fueling yourself?

    • Thanks girlie!! I Did it last year for 30 days but with starting training for my 2nd marathon I could only afford two weeks. I don’t typically fuel my runs if they’re shorter then 10 miles so I’ll be ok for this challenge. Once I get my mileage back up past that I’ll go back to my Honey Stingers which are organic & all natural. Other ways to fuel naturally are figs and dates but those are kind of a hassle for me to carry.

  8. Pingback: Belated Birthday Fun Post | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

