MCM Weekend Fun

Happy Halloween y’all!! I hope you have something spooktacular planned for tonight! Me? I’m just going to take it easy at home.  I know, I’m such an old lady…

I did it!! I’m officially a ‘marathoner’!!  It was the most amazing experience and I seriously can’t wait to do it again!  But before I recap the race, I want to recap the weekend first.  It would be sensory overload for me to try to mash everything into one post.

*MARATHONER*

The weekend festivities officially started Friday with Jody and I flying to DC. I was so excited to board the plane with him because up until late Thursday afternoon we were thinking that he wasn’t going to be able to go thanks to Hurricane Sandy.  Thankfully he was able to get his flight worked out to where he left right after the race.  Me = happy!

We had a layover in Atlanta where we grabbed a highly overpriced turkey panini before boarding the plane to DC.  After a very uneventful flight –just the way I like it– we arrived.  I’m a sucker for American flags so it was nice being greeted by the red, white, and blue.

We hopped the shuttle to our hotel and enjoyed a splendid sunset from our room before heading out to grab some grub.

Jody and I decided to claim Friday night for ourselves since the rest of the weekend would be spent doing marathon stuff.  We ended up at Kora where I ordered a hand-tossed pizza (carbs, right?) and a super tasty pineapple-lime mojito.  Then we went back to the hotel and waited for Mary (she’s like a mom to me) and her husband Greg to arrive.  Mary’s been training in San Antonio to run this race with me.

The next day we headed to the expo to pick up our bibs, t-shirts and free stuff.  It’s always a bit nerve-wracking to me to pick up my bib.  I’m always afraid that something’s going to go wrong.  Like me forgetting my e-card, or me getting lost in their system.  But, like normal, everything went fine.

After picking up my shirt and bib we headed across the street to the expo.  I have to admit that I was fairly disappointed in the expo.  I don’t know if it was because we hit it the last day or what but it just had a wonky feel to it.  I wasn’t crazy about the vendors and there wasn’t very many freebies.  C’mon, we all know freebies are the best part of the expo.

One really fun thing at the expo was they had a Marine Corps band playing some swing songs.  This made my former band nerd self incredibly happy.  It was really cute because there was an elderly guy (obviously retired military) that plucked a young girl out of the crowd and started twirling her around to the music.  You could tell that he was having a great time!

This was a really cool tribute bike in memory of fallen Marines.

Wall of motivational blurbs for the runners.

After the expo we met up with my hubby for lunch.  (Jody had to stay at the hotel to work on a presentation that he was giving Monday – boooo.) Mary and I opted to carb-up for the marathon during lunch instead of having a heavy supper to make sure everything digested well.  I ordered some sort of chicken farfalle pasta in a spicy vodka cream sauce.  Maybe not the safest pre-marathon meal but I like to live on the edge a bit.  Also, I knew I’d have at least 16 hours if my system decided not to like it.  And it. was. tasty!

After lunch, Mary and I took the Metro back to the hotel to relax while the guys went and did some sight-seeing.  We stopped and picked up some celebratory wine for after the marathon.  I also had a mini birthday celebration at the hotel thanks to my dad and my cousin Bridget but I’m saving that for my birthday post.

Finally, it was time to head to bed.  I laid out all of my gear that way I wouldn’t have to search for stuff the next morning.

With Hurricane Sandy I didn’t know what type of gear to wear I needed. So I had cold weather and warm weather laid out. I opted for warm weather.

This is when it started to hit me that I was running a marathon in just a few hours.  I don’t know why but I didn’t experience any pre-race jitters.  I was incredibly excited but I didn’t have any of the doubts or second guessing like I expected.  I think after spending so much time preparing for the race I was just ready to run it; there’s only so many emotions you can go through before you’re just ready to be done.

Then it was beddy-by time for Gina.  I needed to get some beauty rest before the 3:45 alarm went off.  It was definitely a great weekend and a great kickoff to the run.  The only bummer was my training girls stayed at a different hotel so we didn’t get to do a lot  together. I did get to meet up with them at the race. 🙂

Stay tuned….The race recap is next!

Question:  Do you typically get pre-race jitters or are you just ready to get it over with?

28 thoughts on “MCM Weekend Fun

  1. i am SO proud of you, amazing girl!!!!!! thanks for sharing the fabulous pics too! you should be so stinking pleased with yourself for completing such a huge task!!! youve worked so hard!!! i cant wait for the race recap!!!!! have a fab day!!! xxoooxxoo

  2. I ALWAYS get pre race jitters! .. tummy issues too! SO proud of you G! Looks like such a great time, and I can’t wait to hear about the race! I

  3. Thanks for sharing all the pictures, Gina! And happy belated birthday! I always get prerace jitters, which is something I’ve just come to accept. I guess it’s a good thing, though, because it means you’re mentally invested in the race, and you want to do well. Can’t wait for the rest of the recap! 🙂

    • Thanks for the belated b-day wishes, Carrie!! I usually have a nervous energy at races but I think I was just so emotionally spent with this marathon that I had nothing left in me to ‘feel’ for lack of better terms. Recap will be on Friday’s blog. 🙂

    • You totally should put it on the books for 2013 Amanda! Registration opens in 146 days… 🙂 I totally fell in love with this race and, if money weren’t a factor, I would do it every year!

  4. How exciting!! The atmosphere over there must have been amazing!! Bummer about the swag, but that pasta looks super delicious 😉
    I can’t wait to read the full marathon recap post!!

  5. This is super impressive Gina. Congratulations! You will remember this accomplishment for the rest of your life. And well you should.

  6. My friend Aaron is the 2nd trumpet player in your picture! lol He ran the marathon for his son who is autistic! That is so cool to see him in your pic! 🙂 That stinks that the expo was so disappointing. 😦 Your right that its supposed to be about the freebies! I can’t wait to hear the race recap! Glad you didn’t have any pre race jitters. 🙂 My tummy can’t handle them! lol 🙂

    • That’s awesome about your friend Sarah! The band was definitely my favorite part of the expo so please tell him thank you for me! I hope he had a great race and I hope his son was able to be there to cheer him on!

  7. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon Race Recap | Noshing On Asphalt

  8. Pingback: Belated Birthday Fun Post | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

