Another Q & A (without the Q)

Alright, I know….I know…. It’s the day after my first marathon and you were expecting a recap post but after running the marathon yesterday morning and then celebrating my birthday last night, I knew I wasn’t even going to attempt to do a recap.  I knew I would just want to soak in everything that just happened and then do a complete, not half-assed, recap later.  Confession – I actually wrote this post before I left for the race.  I really hope that I didn’t die on the course yesterday, that would be preeeeetty embarrassing.

My awesome weightlifting pal (yep, I said pal. I’m taken’ in old school!) Jennifer at Wine to Weightlifting nominated me for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award.  Jen is actually one of my inspiring bloggie friends.  She’s an awesome weightlifter chick who let’s me harass her about her distaste budding love for running while encouraging me not to neglect my strength training.

This is an award that’s been circulating in the blogging community and allows people to recognize someone that’s inspired them.  Aw, shucks, thank you Jen!! What I love about this ‘award’ is that it allows you to get to know me better through me listing a series of random things about myself.  I enjoy randomness so it fits me.

1. I sleep walk.  Like full-on, up and out of bed, sleep walking.  I’ve done it since I was a small child and I guess I’ll do it the rest of my life.  As I’ve gotten older, the sleep walking has turned more into interactive dreams (nightmares) where I think someone’s in the room or I’m being attacked by spiders.  My poor husband.

2. I hate spiders….and cockroaches. I figured since I mentioned having nightmares about spiders, I might as well fess up to my hatred of them.   Not many things can send me shrieking into another room like a little girl but spiders and cockroaches do. I think it’s something about the way they crunch.  Yeeeiiiick.

3.  I love tattoos and piercings.  For some reason, this is a surprising fact for most people to find out.  When I met my husband I had 11 total piercings and one very large tattoo. 9 years later I’ve paired the piercings to 3 and still have only one tattoo.  Although secretly, I would love several more.  One of the reasons I enjoyed having the piercings and tattoo was seeing people’s faces when they found out.  “You don’t look like the type…” I’m not much for stereotypes so it was fun breaking people’s preconceived notions.

4. I don’t know how to handle free time.  I’m your classic “I can do that girl.” You know the one that I’m talking about.  The one that is always on the move (i.e. can’t sit still) and then gets stressed out because, surprise…she doesn’t have enough time.

5. I have an (at times) inappropriate sense of humor.  Did you see the marathon sign I made for my husband? ‘Nuff said. I love to laugh and life is waaaaaay too short to be stoic all the time.

6. I like it spicy.  Ha! I see what you did there.  Get your mind out of the gutter, I’m talking about my food.  I love spicy food! Not like ‘burn your taste buds off’ spicy, but more so ‘bring a tear to your eye’ type heat.

7. I’m not a natural athlete.  Sure I run, cycle, do yoga, etc… but don’t put me in a sport where I have to hit, dunk, throw, spike or dribble a ball.  Get the point?  Now don’t get me wrong, I’ll play them but I make no apologies for my lackluster performance.  Hey, I at least provide some comic relief!

Now that you know more about me than you ever wanted to, it’s my turn to share the inspirational love.  These blogging ladies inspire me every day in my fitness journey.  If I tagged you below, don’t feel like you have to participate.  I just want you to know that you inspire me to keep pushing myself.

Carrie from Fitness and Frozen Grapes.  She’s a hardcore triathlete in training who makes the idea of swimming/biking/running less crazy.

Megan from #RunMeganRun she’s getting ready to run her first full marathon in Spring 2013!

Darlena from Run Find Your Happy Pace.  She’s a military mom spreading fitness inspiration with a Christian twist.

Kate from Run With Kate just finished(and rocked!)  her first marathon a few weeks ago.

21 thoughts on “Another Q & A (without the Q)

  1. Aw, Gina, you are so sweet–thank you! I loved learning more about you! Your tattoo/piercing confession threw me for a loop; not to sound cliche, but, “you don’t seem like a type.” 😉 If you don’t mind, would you share where your tattoo is located and what is it? It’s always interesting to hear the stories behind the artwork.

    Oh, and I totally have a 13-year-old boy’s sense of humor. In college, my friends and I were “that group” would constantly used “that’s what she said.” It never gets old. 🙂 (And laughter is the best medicine!) I’m also so glad you’re a fellow spicy-food-lovin’ girl. 🙂

    Hope you’re relaxing and recovering from the MCM! Can’t wait to read all about it! 🙂

    • Thanks soooo much for all the virtual race support this weekend – you’re totally awesome!! I adore reading your blog (I promise to get caught up soon) and I get so much inspiration from your tough triathlon self!!

      I LOVE that you have the same sense of humor as a 13 y.o. boy! I’m a total dork so it doesn’t take anything to make me laugh. And you’re right… ‘That’s what she said’ NEVER gets old! 🙂

      As for the tattoo, I get that reaction a lot. I think it’s one reason why I like it so much! My hubby’s not a fan of tattoos which is the main reason I don’t have more. I have it on my lower back (helloooooo tramp stamp) but it’s very significant to me. I got it for myself so I wanted to place it in a spot that I could keep to myself. It’s the Japanese kanji for Heaven and Jesus surrounded by cherry blossoms, two butterflies, pulled together with some blue spikes. It sounds random but I gave the artist free range. 🙂

    • Thanks Hollie! I really had a fantastic time at the marathon. I was amused by the fact that as I was standing in line to get my medal I found myself thinking, ‘I’m so glad I’m already signed up for my 2nd one’. I believe I may be hooked…

  2. I think you’re going to get a lot of shocked people about the tattoos/piercings thing! And no pictures to accompany it..??? Girl, you must share! 🙂

    I have no tattoos.. but at 18/19, I had 9 piercings.. 8 were in the ears in all sorts of places, and of course, the bellybutton cause that was just the thing to do. But now I just stick to the two bottom holes in my ears, if I wear anything at all.

    Thanks for sharing!!

    • The tattoo / piercing bit shocks a lot of people IRL, too! (and I love it!) Most of my piercings were in my ears but I also had my nose and belly button. Now I just wear one set of earrings in my bottom hole and then one in the cartilage of my ear. Lots of ear piercings seemed to be the thing in the early 2000s, right? 🙂

      • Oh yeah! I turned 18 in 2000 and I got my bellybutton, then second earholes, then third, then all sorts of ones up the rest of the ear lol. It was addicting!
        So.. no tattoo pic? lol

  3. Oh Gina! We’re definitely related! 🙂

    I have 9 piercings and plan on getting at least one more (that’s my reward for 50!) I love tattoos. Unfortunately I haven’t gotten any out of respect for my husband (he doesn’t like them). I really like them and I often find myself thinking of what I should get.

    I HATE SPIDERS! I hate them! Ed and I have a deal, he kills the spiders (even though he’s scared too) and I have to take care of all other bugs. Now, I don’t sleep walk but I do have nocturnal panic attacks where I think spiders/bugs are attacking me. I go through the physical responses of a panic attack. I’ll have rapid breathing/heart rate. I’ll scream and throw my pillow (if I think the bugs are under it). I’ll even start sweeping at the sheets trying to get rid of the bugs. Ed has to talk me down, so I feel bad for Ed. 🙂 It doesn’t happen often though, maybe every couple of months, haha.

    I think the only thing we differ on is spicy… I can’t do spicy, which is hard when Ed loves spicy. 🙂

    Anyway, you are a rock star my friend! Love you lots and I’m glad you had a great marathon and you made it all the through. 🙂 Take pictures of you with your new scarf and coat, I want to see how it looks! ♥♥♥

    • We totally are related! I read your comment about the nocturnal panic attack and he just shook his head and said, ‘Poor Ed.’ Two weeks ago I ‘woke up’ (a lot of times I think I’m actually awake) because there were spiders in the bed. I got tangled in the sheets as I tried to flee the room and started shaking and sobbing. Then later that night I apparently thought my skin needed moisturizing so I got up and put conditioner on my face… Sheesh!

      I can’t wait to take a picture with my scarf and jacket! I’m hoping that it gets cold enough soon so I can break out my winter wear. 🙂 Oh, and as far as your new piercing goes – I have NO doubt you will be getting that very soon!! xoxo

  4. Who bestie, i learned so much about you! You mean when we eventually vacation together it’s going to be a scene straight out of Step Brothers?! BRING IT! 😉 xo

    • HAAAA! I love Step Brothers!! Stay golden, Pony Boy… Oh we will have soooo much fun during the 2014 relay! (Don’t think I’m going to forget about it.) 🙂

      PS – You know that you’re one of my bloggie inspirations, too! I knew Jen tagged you so I didn’t want you to feel like you had to do it again. I ruff you!

  5. I know it’s not recap time yet – but seriously – congratulations! And thank you for tagging me :-). I’m way behind on blog stuff at the moment – but I’m getting there…slowly! I really appreciate the shout-out.
    Sleep walking is kind of scary – but it must be funny to watch you. And piercings and tattoos? Awesome. Totally for it 😀

    • Thanks Kate! I know what you mean about being behind on blog stuff. It’s hard enough to have time to get your own posts done let alone make time to check out everyone else’s! And yeah, sleep walking definitely provides some funny moments. I’m just glad I’m not a sleep eater!

  6. I am not a natural athlete at all. I am slow, clumsy, awkward and have to bust my bottom for all of it – nothing athletic comes easy to me.
    Just like you I also have a slight inappropriate (at times) sense of humor.
    P.S.- In SC we call them Palmetto bugs and that just means big ass cockroach!

  7. I remember your Dad and Butch, two Air Force Law Enforcement airman in the Philippines, standing on the couch petrified as I got the broom to kill the biggest spider i’d ever seen. It must be genetics! Mom

Leave a Reply

