MCM Bound!

Yep. I think the picture says it all. By the time you read this, I will either be 30,000 feet above you or have my feet firmly planted in DC soil. That is, if I made it through security at the airport; for some reason I always get flagged for a pat down… I think hubby’s hoping that they’ll confiscate his marathon sign. Sorry babe, no dice. You’re going to be stuck holding this and I’m going to love seeing you with it!

I  got my t-shirt yesterday for the MCM.  It turned out better than expected and I can wait to run in it!! It’s kind of hard to see, but the list of men underneath my brother’s name are the guys that were killed with him.  So many lives and they were all so young.  It’s going to be a nice reminder having those names one me when the miles get tough.

I also want to thank everyone for all of the well wishes and words of encouragement from Wednesday’s post. Y’all sure know how to make a girl feel special! I was totally bummed about the cemetery situation but I have my big girl panties on and am super excited/nervous/anxious – you get the point – about Sunday’s marathon.  Although now I have a new fear – Hurricane Sandy!

Apparently there will be 30,000 of us runners trying to achieve marathon glory in less than stellar weather…  There is little doubt that we will be running in heavy wind and rain.  This also means that we had to change travel plans for my hubby.  He has a huge presentation to give Monday in his MBA class and we can’t risk getting stuck in DC so he’ll be flying back after the marathon.

Wednesday night my training girls and I got together for a ‘farewell training, I will not miss you’ celebration. It only seemed appropriate since we had a MCM training kickoff back in July. I was going to get a drink but I opted to consume my calories in solid food.  So instead, I got this masterpiece.

Grilled chicken topped with wilted spinach, goat cheese and artichoke hearts along with a side of asparagus and cinnamon carrots.

I also came bearing gifts for my training girls. I’m a total memento type person so I took advantage of my stepmom’s sewing genius while she visited me this summer and had her make these pillows for my lovely girls. Aren’t they cute? My stepmom’s a highschool math teacher but I think she should go into business for herself!

Last night was my last run before the marathon. Just a three mile, easy-peesy pace run. I think I’m in some sort of denial that the next run I complete will be 26.2 miles. SHEESH!! So in preparation for running that distance, I had to make a significant change with my hair. As in chopping almost 7″ off significant. I’m going to miss my long hair but I knew it was time to go when it bordered on becoming a deadly weapon to those running around me.

Incase your super curious, here’s the rundown of my weekend. Friday night: Super romantic pre-birthday dinner date with my awesome hubby! Saturday: Expo, expo, expo! Bring on the free stuff. Sunday: Err, do I really need to say? Hello MARATHON-glory-running-in-memory-of-my-brother!! Then later that day/evening I will be having the best birthday celebration with no holds barred on food and drink. 🙂 (If you haven’t figured out, my birthday is actually the same day as the MCM – happy birthday to me!)

And if my schedule’s not enough for you, you can always follow me for updates through my various social media outlets:

I have my race splits scheduled to post via Twitter so y’all can follow me in real time if you want.  And finally…. Thank you, thank you, thank you ALL for your wonderful words of encouragement.  You helped me survive training and get me to this point.  Now it’s my job to run the distance.  Please know that I will be taking a piece of each of you with me Sunday!

Isaiah 40:31:  But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

20 thoughts on “MCM Bound!

  1. I just stumbled on your blog through SPA, and I’m so excited for you to run your first marathon! I can’t wait to follow along this weekend, and I love that you are running in memory of your brother as well. What a motivator through those tough miles.

    • Thank you Caroline! I looooove the Sweat Pink community and can’t wait to check out your blog. 🙂 I really had a great time this weekend and am already looking forward to my next marathon!

    • Yay! Thanks Jen!! I had an amazing time this weekend and the weather really held out well! I was lucky to make it out of DC but unfortunately all my other training friend’s flights were cancelled. This storm is bananas!

  2. I absolutely love that verse!! You’re going to race amazingly!!!! You’re so ready!! I cannot wait to hear all about everything when all Is done and over! Prayers for you! ❤

  3. YOU WILL KICK BUTT, GINA!! Enjoy the downtown before the race, aka load up on free swag. I’ll be thinking of/stalking you on Sunday. 😉 Have a great race and leave it all on the course! 🙂

    • Thanks Carrie!! I did get to enjoy the downtown a little bit before the race. It was such a quick trip so I didn’t get to do any touristy stuff. I guess that just means I have to go back, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

