MCM Training Recap: Week 15

For some reason I had the hardest time writing this post.  I don’t know if it was because I didn’t feel like I had a lot to report due to the reduced miles, or if my reluctance to write this post reflects the fact that  by writing it, I’m actually acknowledging the fact that I’m officially in my last week of training and will be running a marathon in 6 days.  Either way, this post was hard to write (hopefully not hard for you to read).

Like I said a minute ago, I had reduced miles this week.  Only 24 miles to be exact.  A year ago I would have died laughing at the idea of me complaining about only running 24 miles but now that I’ve been running in between 30-40 miles for the past few months that number seems foreign.  So how did it break down?  Well, Monday was a short 3 mile run with strides.  This was the day after I ran the Gulf Coast 1/2 Marathon in Mandeville, LA, and it was nice to shake the legs out.  The professional race pics from the 1/2 are finally up so I thought I’d share one with you.  Proof that I did actually run the 1/2 and not just douse myself with water and steal a medal. 😛

It’s like Where’s Waldo? I’m even wearing a striped shirt….

Cheeeeezzzzzze

Wednesday was another short 4 mile marathon pacing session. Boring.

By Thursday I was beyond ready to move and I knew I’d get the chance during the 7 miles of speed work that was on the calendar.  However, I spent the first 4 miles feeling sick to my stomach and wishing I could hurl.  It was bizarre but I pushed through it (after stopping several times) and got the speed work done at a faster pace then was on the plan.  I think I just wanted to be done.  I was worried I was getting sick but I’ve felt fine ever since.  I guess it was just one of those freak runs.

And then finally it was time for my final “long” run.  It was 10 easy miles .  I got up at 4am to meet a couple of my running girls.  It was a chilly morning (temp was 53* – don’t judge, I live in MS) but it was absolutely gorgeous.  The stars were out for the first hour and then I got to see a gorgeous sunrise.  It was strange stopping after 10 miles.  My body was confused and then I had all this pent up energy the rest of the day.  Grrrrr….

Random big fish right before the sunrise.

These girls stuck out the entire training with me! ❤ Stacey (L) is running the MCM and Lorena (M) trained even though she’s not running the race.

So now I get to play the waiting game.  I have 3 easy runs totaling 10 miles before next Sunday.  I guess my legs will be good and rested but I question if they’ll remember how to run or not.  Either way, functioning legs or not, I will be running the Marine Corps Marathon in memory of my brother.

Question:  What is your favorite time of day to workout? Do you ever get to see amazing sunrises or sunsets?

26 thoughts on “MCM Training Recap: Week 15

  1. I hope you bought that race picture of yourself, Gina–you’re kicking butt and looking great doing it! It’s funny how our running goals and perceptions change over time. After training for my half-marathon, I now love it when I have to run “only five miles” or “only for 30 minutes.” I’m not at your “only 10 miles” point yet. 😉 I’m a morning person, so I love waking up before/with the sun and getting my run/workout done first thing; it’s the best way to start the day. 🙂

    • That was taken about 3/4 the way through the race and I almost didn’t even noticed the guy. I’m glad I was able to give a quick thumbs up at least! I’m a terrible race picture taker – they always catch me at the worst times. 🙂 I know you have the “only” distances for swimming and cycling that I would totally balk at!

    • Crazy right?!? Thanks so much for your well wishes, Leah!! In an ideal world 9:30/10am is the perfect time for me to hit the gym. But there’s something about working 8-5 that just doesn’t allow that time – ha!

  2. Oh girl I am soooo excited for you!!! You’re going to do great! It’s definitely hard to taper but you just have to remember that it’s good for you! Will make your race so much better with your legs being fresh. I love running early in the mornings and seeing the sunrise!

    • Thanks Mindy!! I’m not sure about doing great but I know I’ll get it done fo’ sho! I do have to admit that I’m enjoying the reduced amount of aches and pains I was getting from my calves and shins.

  3. Sweet Gina, I just wanted you to know I will be thinking and praying for you this weekend. I am so proud of you! I can tell by your posts how great you’re doing and that you’re having fun doing it. You make me want to get up and run myself!! WE LOVE YOU ,GIRL!!! Ms. Belva and Mr. Jimmy ❤

    • Ms. Belva – you totally just made my day!! I got a quick squeeze from Mr. Jimmy yesterday. 🙂 I’m really looking forward to the marathon but I’m still pretty scared of it. Thank you for all your prayers, I will never turn those down. Love y’all, too!!

  4. I am the biggest am workout girl ever! I always do it first thing!! I cannot believe your race is in 6 days!! Wheeeeee!! You’re gonna kill it!!! Have a super day today!! Xoxo

  5. I do it in the morning, girl! Do you wear your camel bak on race day? I’ve been thinking about getting one but I tried a Walmart and it leaked. Fail. lol. SO proud of you and all of your hard work! I’ll be watching for you online! If you see my cousin, a short asian guy eating a big mac, tell him hi for me! 😉 xo

    • I don’t wear my Camelbak on race day just because most races have plenty of water stops. Not everyone likes them but I seriously could not have made it through 100* summer training without it! Is it a pain in the neck to run 21 miles with it? Yes. Did I get some pretty nasty chaffing that looked like hickeys? Yes. Did I ever feel like I was dehydrated and going to die? NOPE!

      Oh, and I’m totally going to be looking for your cousin. Make sure he has the big mac the entire race. 🙂

  6. Wow that is awesome! I can’t belive how soon it’s coming up! My favorite time to workout is mid day, but sadly being in the real life working world I don’t have that option. I watch the sun rise every morning while drinking my coffee and reading blogs!

    • I know! I’m about to pee my pants with excitement/anxiety! I totally understand about the workout times. My perfect time to hit the gym would be 9:30/10 but it’s not meant to be. Sunrise + coffee + blog reading = great start to day!

  7. Up at 4 am for a 10 miler in the fall. You are so dedicated. Once it cools down my runs are bumped back to 8 am starts:)
    I have seriously been thinking about you like crazy this past week. I am so sad I cannot be there to experience this with you, but so ridiculously happy for you. I will be cheering my butt off on Sunday. I cannot wait! (Not sure when I cross from fan into stalker, but I am close.)

    • I know, it’s crazy! There’s just something about running before the rest of the world wakes up; so peaceful and serene. I’ve been thinking about you like crazy, too (I even briefly mention you in tomorrow’s blog). I am so excited and nervous and really have no idea what to expect… I guess we’ll see, right? Oh, and I work with actual stalking victims (no lie) so I like to think I can spot the difference from awesome bloggie friend / stalker. 🙂 And you fit firmly in the 1st category!

  8. I’m also running MCM and can’t believe how quickly it came around – or that last week was only 28 miles! I’m totally in the same boat as you – I guess now we just try to conserve some energy! Good luck!

    • Awesome Kayla!! There are quite a few Fit Approach ambassadors running the MCM – I hope that we can all get together for a quick meetup! (Even if it’s just at the start of the race.) Good luck right back at you!

  9. Oh goodness Gina! You’re race is almost here! 🙂 I wish I could be in DC with you cheering you on. Just know that I’m cheering from my grandstand in Minnesota (you can picture me standing on my couch with a rolled up piece of paper that is my pretend megaphone). I know you will do fantastically and Jody will be waiting for you at the end with a big smile and a hug!

    As for the best workout time… I usually do it around 9:30. I take Ed to work at 9:00am and then instead of going home, I go straight to the gym to my workout classes. I do my BodyPump on Tue/Thurs at 9:30. It just works for me. 🙂

    ♥♥♥P.S. I hit 30 today, so only 70 left to go before we can go sky diving! ♥♥♥

    • I seriously couldn’t be more proud of you, Bridget! You are so amazing and dedicated and I know you’re going to achieve your milestone goals!

      Thank you so much for being the cheering section – I’ll take as many people cheering and praying as possible! I have one request….Please have Ed take a picture of your rolled up paper megaphone! That would totally make my day. 🙂 xoxo

  10. Oh how I hate taper! That said, it was unbelievably effective, and it seems it is WAY better to underdo than overdo. Thinking of you and wishing you lots of luck for the weekend!

    • I’m kind of in limbo with my distaste for the taper. I’ve managed to fill my time with so much stuff that I haven’t really noticed the reduced runs except for the 10 miler. I do feel like I’m losing fitness though…. Congrats again on rocking your marathon, Kate!!

  11. Pingback: Weekly Workout Recap & It’s Marathon Week! | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

