MCM Training Recap: Week 13

After last week’s not so fantastic training I was determined to get back in the right frame of mind this week.  And I’m happy to say that I loved week 13 – I guess maybe 13 isn’t an unlucky number after all.  I may have enjoyed it a bit too much…the training plan called for 36 miles but I ended up doing right around 57. (To be fair 16.5 of those miles were from cycling.) My legs are pretty trashed…

Week 13 started out on a somber note as I ran 3.1 miles for my brother’s 31st birthday Monday morning and then ran my scheduled training run Monday night.  Tuesday’s run was 8 miles of speed work (Yassos) which means lots of running in loops.  Sounds boring right? Well it can be but on this particular run I got to make a new friend – yay!

My training partner Stacey and I were running and noticed an elderly gentleman sitting  in a wheelchair on his porch.  I waved at him the first time we ran by and he waived back.  The second time we ran by he gave us a thumbs-up; the third go-round he yelled to us that we were “looking good”.  Well by the 4th Yasso I couldn’t stand it anymore so I stopped and trotted up his ramp (he looked a bit frightened… I can’t blame him; I was covered in sweat) and introduced myself.  I told him if I was going to keep running by him we at least needed to know each other. His name was Duckie – how cool!! We chatted briefly, I told him how much his cheering meant to us and then Stacey and I continued on.  Duckie continued to cheer us on for the next few Yassos – he totally made my night.

Thursday’s run was a marathon pacing session; nothing worthwhile to report there.  Then it was time to get ready for my last 20 miler!  It’s so hard to believe that I was getting ready for my last long run before I start tapering.  After my epic 21 mile run two weeks ago I had really high hopes for this run but I’m not going to lie, this was a super difficult run.  We (me + my training girls) spent the first 3(ish) miles in the pitch black dodging open man-holes (no joke, I wouldn’t be surprised if a person went missing from falling in one) and jumping huge sections of the sidewalk that were torn up from Hurricane Isaac.  Not off to a good start.  Then we tackled a huge incline and since this was an out and back run that meant that we would be tackling the same huge incline at mile 15.5. Yikes! Now,  throw in the mix that I was having pretty bad GI cramps the entire 20 miles…  Not fun.  We did get to see an amazing sunrise and we had some really gorgeous scenery along the way.

Beautiful sunrise over the beach.

We ran by this church just as their bells started to toll. Very cool.

Really cool carving from a dead tree.

But by mile 19 I was beat and all I wanted to do was finish…which thankfully we did!

Flashing my gang signs…HA! It’s supposed be a 20.

We stopped at a local farmer’s market to “refuel” before heading home.

Drooooool…..

Ok, so the ginormous cookie really wasn’t mine.  I got it for my hubby. (I’m such a sweet wife, right??) I bought a cranberry scone but greedily devoured it before I could snap a picture – woops.  I headed home, showered, changed and then headed back out for a 16.5 mile bike ride on the Long Leaf Trace with my hubs.  ❤ ❤ ❤

I love this guy so much!

Blinded by the light….Sorry, I’m just abnormally pale.

I wasn’t sure how my legs were going to hold up during the bike ride but they did pretty well.  I totally feel it today, but ll-in-all, it was really a fantastic Saturday and a terrific training week altogether.  Now I’m just excited, nervous, anxious to see exactly what this ‘taper madness’ people talk about is and before I know it the MCM will be here!

Question:  Have you ever experienced ‘taper madness’? What did you do to combat it?

14 thoughts on “MCM Training Recap: Week 13

  1. hang in there through the taper, girlie! you can do it! i love the giant cookie and the story about duckie! what a sweet man!! have a wonderful monday!!! xo

  2. I literally LOL’d when I saw that cookie, Gina. You must have some serious willpower to not devour it! I can’t speak in terms of a marathon taper, but I have eased off the gas in preparation for a half-marathon (plus some longer races) and triathlons. At first, it’s difficult for me to not continue training at a high intensity … and to adjust my eating habits accordingly. 😉 However, I’ve discovered the way to keep calm during a taper is to have a positive mental outlook–I’ve earned this “rest” session, and I’m “storing up rest” (I think that’s a Runner’s World term) so I can kick butt on race-day. Have a great Monday! 🙂

    • I had to use some Star Wars type force not to eat at least a tiny piece (ok, the whole thing) before I got home. I’m not too worried about the taper issues setting in until the week of the marathon. That’s when I hardly run at all. It’s going to be hard going from a 40 mile week to a 10 mile week. Gah! It just freaks me out talking about it!!! But for now, I’ll enjoy the lower miles. 🙂

  3. Where do you get all your energy, Gina?? I wish I had that type of endurance like you to run miles and miles, THEN bike miles and miles.. is there a triathlon in your future? 🙂

    • I wish I had this energy you speak of! I was zonked by about 9pm Saturday… I totally have no social life that doesn’t involve racing or working out… I really want to break into the world of triathlons but I just have to conquer my issues with open water swimming… Happy Monday, lovelie!! xoxo

      • Don’t they have those indoor tri’s? Or like a “try-a-tri” kinda thing?
        I can’t really swim.. but I think it would be awesome to be able to compete in something like that!
        And no social life is totally okay lol.. I don’t consume nearly as many hours as you do working out, but don’t really go out much either.. ah well. 🙂

      • I wish they had something like that – I would totally be all in! Swimming’s not my thing but I determined to make it my thing eventually! I have to admit that I am looking forward to having somewhat of social life back in a few weeks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

