Music That Gets You Moving

Are y’all tired of the sappy, emotionally charged downer posts I’ve put up this past week? ‘Cause I know I am! I feel like I owe all of you a box (or two) of Kleenex.  I’m so happy to report that this week has been a million times better than last week and I’m feeling back to my annoyingly upbeat self.  Not to mention I got this little nugget of joy in my inbox last night!

I have my last 20 mile run tomorrow and I’m soooooo ready to get out there and tackle it.  Then next weekend I’ll be running the Gulf Coast 1/2 Marathon in Mandeville, Louisiana – yay!

This race is a series and I ran the one in Pennsacola, Florida, this spring. It was just alright, not fantastic by any means.  The course was long (as in 13.35 miles), flat, boring, very few spectators.  BUT I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this course so I’m really excited it!

Plus, I can’t wait to get my hands on some more race bling.  They have the coolest finisher’s medal….a bottle opener!

I’m also excited to run this because it will be a good test run for the Marine Corps Marathon.  But I need your help. My 1/2 marathon playlist needs some new beats.  The only time I run to music is at the gym or during a race where I know they won’t have music.  My music taste is super eclectic so I’m up for any suggestion!  My current top songs on my playlist are:

  • I Love Rock ‘n Roll (Joan Jett)
  • Joy to the World (Three Dog Night)
  • Last Resort (Papa Roach)
  • Pour Some Sugar on Me (Def Leopard)
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough (Marvin Gaye)
  • Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (AC/DC)
  • The Boy From New York City (The Ad Libs)
  • Everybody Dance Now (C+C Music Factory)
  • Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch (The Four Tops)
  • {And I almost hate to admit this song but if you’ve ever been stuck behind someone in a congested race you’ll understand…} Move B*tch (Ludacris)

Man, I can feel my adrenaline increase just thinking about these songs! Makes me want to dance.  And yes, I am guilty of during some sort of strange run/dance & random fist pumping during races.  Annnnnnd also high-fiving any poor spectator that might make eye contact with me.   I could pretend like I’m embarrassed by those revelations, but the truth is, I’m not! I love to have fun.  And I don’t want to disappoint Mr. Gosling.

I’m looking for songs that around 150+ BPM (beats per minute) but will take any suggestion into consideration!  Side note – If you’ve never used jog.fm to help find music with a certain BPM, stop what you’re doing right now and check it out (but make sure to come back to me…I have abandonment issues…HA).

So tell me, what else should I have on my playlist? What song(s) gets your blood pumping? 

20 thoughts on “Music That Gets You Moving

  1. i am cracking up that they give you a bottle opener at the end of the race! how funny is that?! i also love the fact that you have added “move b**ch” onto your playlist. i totally feel ya! hahahaha.i am into running with silly, pop-ish, and upbeat stuff. http://jog.fm/ maybe check out that link and it could help you a bit? have a wonderful friday!!!

    • I looooove jog.fm, Jenna! It’s a fantastic website! I have some pop-ish songs on my playlist, too. I pretty much love anything that gets my blood pumping or makes me smile. Happy Friday to you, too!!

  2. Those are all great songs! On my playlist, I have almost every Shinedown song there is, but the one that totally makes feel like I am flying is Cyanide, Sweet Tooth, Suicide. It has gotten me across every finish line. I also love Keep on Running by Y and T and Cherry Bomb by the Runaways.

    So excited for you! Getting your bib is so cool.

    The half you have coming up sounds great and that medal! I would run it just for that, may have to look into that.

    • I have a couple Shinedown songs but not that one – I’ll definitely have to check it out! And judging from the title it’s going to be a good one. 🙂 I’m going to have to check out the Keep on Running by Y and T, too. Anything with running in the song is like a double bonus!

    • I love classics Ms. Belva! I can’t believe I don’t have that one on there already but you’re right, it totally gets the blood pumping! I’ll be adding it to my playlist this weekend!

  3. I just wrote a similar post, I really need new music too. I have some old GnR and Van Halen that always get me moving. I think bottle openers are the newest race swag, I think I have gotten 3 this year!

  4. Move B*tch is DEFINITELY on my my play list too — it’s totally necessary sometimes! My other current songs (also needing a major overhaul):

    – Stronger – Britney Spears (that’s my ashamed song. Haha!)
    – Club Can’t Handle Me – Flo Rida
    – Animal – Neon Trees
    – My Body – Young the Giant <– lyrically and musically, THE BEST RUNNING SONG EVER.

    Enjoy!

    • Hahaha I’m so glad I’m not the only one that has that! It’s so old school but I love it! I have it set to play towards the end of the race when I really need a good laugh. I don’t think I’ve heard My Body (at least I cant think of it right now) totally going to check it out this weekend! Thanks for the suggestions!

  5. I won’t lie, I listen to a lot of Mumford & Sons when I run. Something about that fast-paced banjo/folk music gets me going. And I really should add Move B-tch to my playlist because I think that song is hysterical.

  6. So I am just curious is the beer in your left hand or the water in your right hand the chaser for the banana? Now music upbeat: REmember my upbeat is older then you (Ha, Ha)…
    THREE DOG NIGHT – Shambala, One Man band, The Show Must Go on.
    CHUMBAWAMBA – Tubthumping, The Big Issue, Mary, Mary, I Want More
    ZZ TOP – Legs, La Gange
    CREEDENCE CLEARWATER REVIVAL – Up Around The Bend
    AEROSMITH – What Kind of Love Are You on, Come Toegether
    This is just a start.
    Love ya, Dad

  7. Pingback: Gulf Coast 1/2 Marathon Here I Come! | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

