MCM Training: Week 10

If you remember waaaaaay back before training for the Marine Corps Marathon started, I posted my training plan with the caveat that week 10 was where I started to get nervous.  These past few weeks I just kept watching the training weeks pass by and week 10 creep up closer and closer.  At more then one point I wanted to put the breaks on training just to slow it down a bit.  Turns out 1.) you can’t slow time, and 2.) I really had nothing to worry about.

Source

So what’s all the fuss I was worried about? Well, the name of the game for week 10 was speed work coupled with an 18 mile long run.  Yes, 18 miles…in one shot….the longest distance I’ve run to date.  At the beginning of the week, I wasn’t sure if my body was going to cooperate with trashing I was going to give it.  Monday’s run was an easy pace but had 4 strides (short bursts of running as fast as you can) mixed in.  I loved this run! I met my running buddy Lorena at the beach and we got to enjoy the most beautiful sunset!

Tuesday’s run had me doing Yasso’s which are basically like intervals.  They’re named after Bart Yasso who I’m pretty sure is a masochist.  But his method is tried and true so even though my legs don’t like it, I know they’re just getting stronger as a result.

By Wednesday’s 5 mile run, my legs were pretty trashed.  Typically I let my legs rest on Wednesdays and run on Thursday but I had a work event so I switched around my days.  Since my calves and shins were sore, I was curious to see if compression socks might help.  I wear them after long runs and love them but I know people who swear by the benefits of wearing them while running.  I didn’t really notice a big difference, but that’s a whole different post.  If nothing else, I was at least visible! I’m so glad that I have some awesome running girls who are willing to take incriminating pictures of my bad sense of fashion.

Finally, Saturday’s 18 mile run.  Friday night I was on the phone with Stacey trying to help her map out our route.  Something I really took for granted before I started running was how much prep time goes into planning the perfect route.  After about 30 minutes of frustration, we finally decided on a spot that took 45 minutes to get to.  When you start running at 5:30, one of the last things you want to do is drive 45 minutes to get to the start.  We actually ended up getting lost for about 20 minutes, too.  By the time we got there, I was in a pretty apathetic mood.  I also noticed that my hips were really tight and achy so I pretty much mentally chalked the run up as bad before I even began.

Boy was I wrong to do that! It turned out to be an amazing run! The weather was in the low 70s when we started and for the first time since May, my clothes weren’t drenched in sweat at the end.  I forget how much easier it is to run when it’s not in the 90’s.  Hooray for fall!!  The miles really seemed to fly by and before I knew it, we were at 10….and then 12….and then right before we got to 15 someone from the group yelled out that we only had a 5k left.  A 5k? Man, I can do those miles in my sleep!  I remember hearing my Garmin beep at mile 17 and thinking I can’t believe I only have 10.5 minutes left! (On the downside, the last 1/2 mile was uphill.)  And then BEEP mile 18!  I felt fabulous like I could have even tackled a few more miles. I may or may not have enjoyed some {definitely not clean eating} pizza with Jody after the run. YUM!

All that worrying for no reason!  I did notice last night that I had a pretty painful spot on my foot so I guess I’ll be headed to my favorite running store this week to see what they think.  Any excuse for new shoes, right? I’m learning so much about myself and I really think I’m starting to realize that I’m stronger then I give myself credit for.  I can’t wait for this week’s 20 miler – I hope it’s just a fabulous!
Question:  What’s your greatest accomplishment, something you thought you couldn’t do?

17 thoughts on “MCM Training: Week 10

  1. I wish I had the time to run like this. I only get a limited time with child care.
    You’re totally going to rock this marathon. Great job.

  2. Congrats on 18 miles! What an accomplishment! I wear compression sleeves during triathlons and long runs, and I love them. (I’m actually wearing them now for recovery; my calves are super tight.) Hope you enjoyed the pizza; it looks delicious, and you definitely earned it. 🙂

    • Thanks Carrie! The pizza was sooooooo good! I definitely sport the compression socks after my long runs {it’s like a hug for my legs} but I didn’t have the immediate gratification during the run, although, I could tell they helped decrease my muscle vibrations with each step. I think I’m going to try them out on a longer run (10+ miles) before writing them off. I hope your calves loosen up soon! Don’t forget the dreaded foam roller…UGH! Happy Monday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

