MCM Training: Week 9 Recap & a Winner

I’m baaaaack! After almost 2 weeks of being sick, I finally feel like myself and my runs (all 30.25 miles) totally reflected it!  Before I get into my training recap, I want to announce the winner of my Garden of Life RAW Protein giveaway.

Congrats Darlena! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly to get your shipping information.

Now onto the recap!  This week introduced speed work back into my life.  The past 8 weeks have been geared more towards building endurance but now I’ll be doing more intense runs to get my body prepared to run the marathon in the time I want.  At the beginning of last week, I was still feeling fairly crummy but by midweek I noticed a great improvement and by Saturday I felt 100% – finally.

Monday’s run was nothing to write home to mom about but Tuesday’s run was a hair raiser.  When my running girls and I met to knock out 6 miles (3 of those miles being tempo) we noticed some very ominous clouds in the distance.  No big deal, at least 75% of our runs lately are ran in some sort of rain so we ignored the warning signs and took off.  Biggest mistake ever! We made it 2ish miles before deciding to cut the run short and head back.  A few minutes later the bottom of the sky fell out. I’m talking blinding, raining sideways, wind-blowing-the-drops-so-hard-into-your-face-you-think-it’s-hailing type rain.

Oh, and did I mention the lightening?  The lightening was going off every 20-30 seconds and it was so close that I could actually feel the temperature rise after several of the bolts.  Seriously scary yet, oddly exhilarating.  In just a matter of a few minutes, the sidewalk and road flooded.  It got so bad that we had no other option but to run another mile to the nearest gas station for shelter.  We waited it out until the lightening wasn’t striking right on top of us and then took off for the cars.  We ended up running 4.25 miles and definitely got our speed work in! The next day the flooding was so bad that several schools were delayed.  Turns out it was the remnants of Hurricane Isaac coming back for round 2.

We made up the missed mileage on Thursday.  Then before I knew it, it was time to get ready for Saturday’s 16 miler….my longest distance ever.  After running the last two long runs while being sick, I kept my fingers crossed for a good long run.  But it wasn’t good….It was great!  I got 6 1/2 hours of sleep the night before (I normally get between 5-6) so I felt completely rested.  Another bonus was that the weather wasn’t nearly as hot as it had been in previous week; I’ll take anything lower then 90.  I had great company and it was just an all-around beautiful day.  The only downside was I did get some pretty nasty chafing from my Camelbak.

We ran by this little guy twice in 90 minutes & he was sleeping both times.

I was starting to get down about my training from being sick but this run went so well that it restored my confidence.  I know that I will be able to run this marathon for Roger without a doubt.

Post 16 miles

Finally, my goal recap from last week – don’t worry, I’ll make it short! My #1 goal was to get better….check!  Followed with reading my devotions daily.  I did this during the week but missed Saturday and Sunday.  I know 5 out of 7 days isn’t terrible, but I really need to make reading my Bible my top priority.  I don’t just eat 5 out of 7 days, and spending time in His word is just as important.  The next goals of burpees, pushups, squats, foam rolling and yoga were all accomplished.  I also did my cross training at the gym (cycling) but I did not accomplish my goal of strength training.   These are my goals for next week:

Question:  Have you ever had to run for your life due to a freak storm?

19 thoughts on “MCM Training: Week 9 Recap & a Winner

  1. I have been caught in a lightning fest once when I was running! It was at 6am and it came out of nowhere!! Yikes! I was scared but I made it back! Hahah. Spa love to u!

  2. Congrats on hitting 16 miles! I’ve had to run to escape both rain and snow, but nothing as bad as what you wrote about. Running for cover definitely counts as speedwork. 😉

Leave a Reply

