RAW Protein Review and Giveaway

Last night was one of the scariest / most exhilarating runs ever! I met my running girls to do 6 miles with 3 miles of speed work.  Little did we know our speed work would come from having to run for our lives in a freak flash flood!  We’re used to running in rain and wind but the scary part came from the lightening strikes that were going on about every 20-30 seconds.  I’m happy to report that we’re not dead (What? You’re surprised?) and also that for the first time in a week and a half I actually feel like a real person and not some sick, green-slime producing zombie.  So in celebration of being alive and feeling human again, I thought I do a giveaway – yay! Who doesn’t love free stuff? If you failed to answer “I do” to that question, I think we cannot be friends anymore.  Just kidding! I love all my readers even if you don’t like free stuff. 🙂

It almost goes unsaid I’m always on the hunt to try new products that will increase my health and make my life easier so I was super happy when the wonderful people at Garden of Life sent me a container of their vanilla flavored RAW Protein to review. 

I’m not a vegetarian but I really don’t eat a ton of meat so I tend to fall short on my daily protein intake.  Shorting yourself on the protein intake may not seem like a big deal, but any athlete will tell you that protein is the basic building block of strong muscles.  And I definitely need my muscles to be a strong as possible to get me through the grueling 26.2 miles of the Marine Corps Marathon.  Oorah!

The first thing that I loved about RAW was the fact that it was completely clean, no artificial nothing in it.  (It’s also organic, vegan friendly, gluten free and dairy free.)  RAW is a sprouted brown rice protein offering 17 grams per serving and has a complete amino acid profile like you would find in animal protein.  It also contains probiotics which makes your digestive system happy. 

The first way I tried RAW was as a recovery drink after my 15 mile long run.  I mixed it with 8 ounces of skim milk and proceeded to slurp it down.  I was really surprised at the flavor. I normally have to mix protein powders in smoothies to mask their taste but RAW was just fine on its own.  I do have to recommend drinking it right away; I let mine sit for a minute and some of the powder collected at the bottom of my cup.  (No making fun of my pasty legs and purple compression socks.)

The next thing I wanted to try was cooking with it.  During Hurricane Isaac I was completely craving comfort food so I decided to make pancakes.  It took me a minute to figure out the measurements, but after a minute….Success! Whole Wheat Banana Protein Pancakes were born – yum! I slathered them in peanut butter and topped with pure maple syrup and they were magnificent! Definitely not an every day meal, but completely acceptable hurricane food.

Now that I’ve yapped on about the benefits of Garden of Life’s RAW Protein, I want you to try it for yourself! Garden of Life sent me an awesome blender bottle and sample packet of their chocolate flavor to giveaway to one of you.  I really want you to win, so you’ll have lots of chances to enter! (Contest open to US and Canada only.)

Mandatory entry:  Visit Garden of Life’s website and then come back and leave a comment telling me what flavor you would most like to try.

Extra entries (be sure to leave a separate comment for each):

  • Follow my blog via e-mail or RSS.
  • Follow me on Twitter @asphaltnosher
  • Follow Garden of Life on Twitter @gardenofliferaw
  • Tweet about this giveaway, “I want to win @gardenofliferaw protein from @asphaltnosher http://wp.me/p28bf6-fW”.

Ok, that’s 5 total entries! The contest will be open until Sunday, September 9th at midnight EST and the winner will be announced on Monday.  Good luck!

Disclaimer: While I received product to write this review, all of the opinions -good, bad, or indifferent- in it are my own.  I will never write a positive review for something I don’t believe in.

64 thoughts on “RAW Protein Review and Giveaway

  1. I would love to try the vanilla flavour. I also do not eat much meat and have been trying to think of an easy and healthy way to get more protein.

  2. I know I am late to the game, but totally excited to try this! Have been looking for a good protein powder, minus all the fake stuff and chemicals.

    Also have been searching for ways to run giveaways on wordpress…thanks for the great idea! I am going to try my first giveaway now for Larabars using this same set-up…hope you don’t mind! Cheers!

    • I hope you like the protein powder! It really is a great one and I love it because it doesn’t have all the junk stuff. 🙂 I like this format for giveaways, it seems to work well for me. I know a lot of bloggers use Rafflecopter which takes the guesswork out of contests but you have to be able to use plugins which the free version of WordPress doesn’t allow. Good luck on your Larabar (love them!) giveaway – I may just have to sneak over and enter! 🙂

      • Thanks for letting me use your giveaway format! We will see how it goes….do you have a specific system in which you keep track of the entries? I did indeed try Rafflecopter…and as you know, it didn’t work out too well 🙂 I thought purchasing the domain would help…nope! Oh well…Goodluck on the MCM! That is awesome, and I hope to do the same at some point in my life. Love your blog!

      • I don’t have a specific system for tracking entries. I just make sure that they all enter on one post that way I don’t have to figure out who entered where. (I hope that makes sense.) If you promote your giveaway on more than one post, always direct them back to the original post to enter. Thanks so much on the well wishes for the MCM – I’m so excited! I ran 21 miles today so I feel pretty confident; now I just need to work on my speed. Only 5 weeks left – eek!

  3. Pingback: 2 Week Sugar Detox….Mission Complete! | Noshing On Asphalt

  4. Pingback: Banana Protein Pancakes | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

