Week 7 Training Recap, a Winner, & Isaac

This week’s training went really well until Saturday.  I’ll get into that a bit more in a minute, but first I want to announce the winner of my What is True Beauty shoe lace giveaway.  The winner was selected using Random.org and was comment #5 from Emily, the Blogging Runner.  Congrats Emily, make sure to check your inbox for an e-mail from me!  If you didn’t win the shoelace giveaway, don’t worry, I have another giveaway coming up very soon!

Image

Training this week went fairly well until Saturday which was a 15 miler.  All week I’ve been feeling just kind of bleh, like you do before your body revolts and gets sick.  I’ve been hydrating like crazy, taking my vitamins and thought that I had kicked whatever was in my system.  Friday night I felt fine, even got to have a dinner date with my two best friends, but Saturday when I woke up, I just felt crummy.  I was only able to get a little less than 6 hours of sleep so I didn’t really put too much thought into how I was feeling. I ate my standard pre-run meal (Kashi cereal and skim milk), chewed a couple Tums, took a Tylenol and headed off to meet the girls.

It was about 4 miles into the run was when I noticed I really wasn’t feeling well.  That crummy feeling I mentioned earlier had turned into the ‘if I stop, I think I may throw up’ feeling.  Now this is probably where a rational person would have bid adieu to her running girls and headed back to the car satisfied with getting 8 miles in.  Nope, Gina, the bright person I am, decided to stick it out…Afterall, I didn’t want to look at my training plan and see a incomplete run.  Totally irrational thinking!!  During the run, I had chillbumps (the temps were in the 80s), horrible GI cramps, trouble getting a deep breath and my body just plain ached.  At mile 11, I remember rounding the corner and being able to see the ending point just over the Ocean Springs bridge.  I knew it was just a few more miles and I’d be back at my car which would take me to a shower and my bed.  I just had to cross this bridge first…

Image

Obviously, I survived the run and was able to check off the miles on my training plan.  Even with all the walk breaks I still managed an 11:10 pace which doesn’t include a few times where I paused my Garmin to let the stars stop spinning.  I took my temp when I got home and discovered a low-grade fever. Brilliant, Gina.  I woke up Sunday with my throat feeling like it was engulfed in flames.  Oy.

Now onto Isaac…. Right now everyone on the Gulf Coast is talking about him and trying to figure out what exactly his plans are for us.  We know that he’s going to become a hurricane and, thanks to the lack of agreement in hurricane models, we’re not exactly sure where he’s going.  Right now we’re still inside the “cone of uncertainty” (yes, that’s really what it’s called) but he keeps moving closer to the west.  I’m really, selfishly, hoping that he keeps going west but even if he does, we’re on the bad side of the hurricane and are going to get some really nasty weather.   What’s even worse, is Isaac is projected to make landfall on the 7th anniversary of when Hurricane Katrina ravaged our beautiful Coast.  Mother Nature sure has a sick sense of humor sometimes.  Even without another hurricane coming our way, this time of year is always hard for the people of the Gulf Coast.  We’re reminded of lost love ones, pets, homes and what total devestation can look like. I worry about this storm triggering some people’s PTSD.  Please say a prayer that this Isaac diminishes drastically or at least doesn’t get any worse than he already is.  I know that God can do anything, to include making Isaac go away.

Question:  What do you do when life throws you a curve ball like illness or a hurricane during training?  Do you roll with the punches or do you foolishly try to conquer it?

17 thoughts on “Week 7 Training Recap, a Winner, & Isaac

  1. Aww.. bummed I didn’t win 🙂
    Hope you’re feeling better today from your run; I am always so impressed by you ladies that consider “just a couple more miles” as the same thing as I think of “just a couple more blocks..” hehe.
    I can’t imagine the feeling of knowing a hurricane is potentially around the corner; once in awhile we’ll have a potential for a tornado up here in Michigan but very rarely do we ever have anything that could be devastating. I hope you all stay safe!!

    • Don’t worry girlie, I have a couple more giveaways coming up that you can {will} 🙂 win! Thanks for the well wishes. Tornadoes are just as scary since you never know where one will pop up; the plus side of hurricanes is that we at least have time to prepare.

      • Looking forward to the giveaways 😉
        And fortunately no tornadoes have hit really close (last year we had one about 25 miles away), but still a scary thought. I liked your words about Mother Nature having a sick sense of humor.. just have to hope for the best :\

  2. I’m so amazed that u completed the run even feeling so junky!! I sure hope that ur feeling better now! That’s some great determination! I amnaaying lots of prayers for all of you in the path of the weather right now! Stay safe! Happy Monday and spalove!

    • Thanks Jenna! I still feel pretty icky but it looks like I’ll have to take some mandatory rest days due to Isaac. I feel bad about finishing run because it sets a bad example for others. I know that I should listen to my body and not push it to its limits; that’s how people get sidelined. Hopefully nobody else tries it. Thanks for all the prayers! They just updated the track and it looks like it’s shifted more towards the west again.

  3. Gina, you are NOT a nobody!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are a wonderful young woman who makes all of her family proud – – – and your friends.
    I’ll pray for Isaac and all who are in her path. I hope it goes past you really fast and brings much needed rain to drought-stricken areas. I remember hearing several years ago that Virginia was HOPING for a hurricane because they needed the rain so badly. We’ll all hope the bad stuff is very limited.
    God can answer our prayers.
    I hope you’re feeling better. Baby yourself today!!

    • Thank you so much Marcia, you are so kind! You’re absolutely right about Isaac, somewhere will see the benefits of all the moisture it will bring; hopefully it will just turn into one big rainstorm. 🙂

  4. I know exactly how you felt on your run. That happened to me about a month ago and I had to run 8 miles. About mile 5 it hit me! The next few days were the worst. Hope you feel better. Stay safe. We are expected to get strong wind and rain here in Pensacola.

    • I’m so sorry to hear about the bad 8 miler. 😦 I went home Saturday and didn’t get out of my pj’s until work this morning (had to do some hurricane prep)…and now I’m back at home in my pj’s again! Take care over in P’cola, it’s going to be pretty bumpy over there, too!

  5. Just like you, I keep going no matter what. I think it’s part of the runner mentality to gut it out. I have never tried taking Tums before a run but I do get tummy issues sometimes, so I’ve made a note to maybe try that some time! Really hope Isaac downsizes and stays out of your path, for everyone’s sake.

    • I agree Alison, I just feel like I’ve been defeated if I throw the towel in before I’ve ran the amount of miles I wanted. (Although, I wish I could make my mind get over that.) I can’t endorse the Tums before a run but it wouldn’t hurt to try it. Thanks for the thoughts about Isaac!

  6. Sounds like that run was hard to finish…I’m sure it was hard to push through but you did it, that stands for something! Im in Mobile, AL area, so we will be riding this storm out with you! Praying y’all stay safe!

  7. Hey! I hope you feel better soon. Fevers can be really nasty sometimes. As for the hurricane, here’s hoping that it will dissipate/not turn out to be as bad as anticipated.

Leave a Reply

