Spartan: Am I Tough Enough?

So often with this blog I just ramble about my life (that’s what a blog is for, right?) but today I really need your advice.  I have been wanting to do a mud / obstacle run for about a year now.  So far my race schedule hasn’t worked out to do any and I’m reeeeeeally getting antsy.  I mean what girl doesn’t want to get covered in mud and jump over fire?!

At the beginning of this year I discovered the Spartan Race.  The  best way I can describe it is the Warrior Dash’s big brother…on steroids.

I watched the video, thought to myself these people are insane and then promptly searched for locations in my area which yielded nada.  Zip.  Zilch.  Nothing even close.  However, it turns out that the Gulf Coast has lots of crazy people that wanted a Spartan Race to come near us.  Pretty soon there was a Facebook page called The Gulf Coast Demands a Spartan Race and then I started seeing petitions to have one come down here.  Next thing I know the Gulf Coast is getting a Spartan Race – yippee!

Alright, so I know you’re thinking “at the beginning of the post she said she needed my advice where the heck is this going?”  Well this is where you come into play.  See I really, really, REALLY want to do this race but unfortunately it’s only 13 days after my first marathon.  I have no idea what shape I’ll be in or if my legs will even still be functioning.  Plus, I think I’ve failed to mention that I have 0 upper body strength.  It’s pitiful, I can do like 10 boy pushups before my form starts to breakdown.  (Hello strength training??)  To give you an idea what I’m talking about, these are some images from the Spartan Race Website.

So, my lovely readers, what are your thoughts?  Am I tough enough to Spartan or should I play it safe and recover?  What are your experiences with back-to-back intense events like this? The final thing I think you should know is that I’m already registered for the Color Run on November 17th.  If I register for the Spartan race I’ll be racing 3 (if you want to count the Color Run as racing) out of 4 weekends in a month.  I’m a compulsive race register(er) and I’m worried I’m suffering from the ‘eyes are bigger then my stomach’ syndrome…. The deadline to sign up for discounted registration is August 15th.  HELP?!?!

11 thoughts on “Spartan: Am I Tough Enough?

  1. that’s tough it’s hard to know how your body will respond after your first one. After mine, my legs literally refused to do anything but walk for two weeks, even the slowest run felt like a chore. But, you may be totally different! Good luck deciding.

    • Thanks Heather, that’s what I’m worried about! I have no way of judging my post marathon legs. I’d love to believe that I’m going to be peachy keen the next day but I thinks that just delusional. *sigh*

  2. Gina Girl, the only thing I can say is “Why?” You know I AM your other mother and I don’t want to see my other daughter get hurt. And from the looks of those pictures I’d say that might happen! But you are a strong-willed girl and I’m sure you’ll make the right decision. Love you much!!!

  3. For what it’s worth, the Spartan Race was one of the hardest races I’ve ever done – right up there with a 26.2. Don’t believe the 3+ miles they say, our sprint ended up being just under 6 miles. BUT we probablyyy only ran a mile of it, walked the rest. Our heat was at 2:30 and it was SO hot.I’d recommend signing up with a friend or a group of friends, so you can work as a team & help each other over walls. If it wasn’t for my bf, I would have never made it over the 6 foot or 8 foot walls. I think it’s definitely doable as long as you take it at your own pace! I promise you will feel SO BADASS when you cross that finish line 🙂

    Here’s my recap, if you’re interested: http://melissaruns.com/2012/05/26/texas-spartan-sprint-2012-race-recap/

    • Girl, I am SO glad you shared that recap! I have been trying to find the obstacles they’ll have on our course (which is basically a swamp) so your recap was pretty eye opening. I now see why they charge a spectator’s fee. You totally rock!

      • It seems to really really take a toll on the body! I’d be scared to do it right after a marathon, but you seem to be in much better shape (and for much longer) than I am, so you could pull it off 🙂

      • Thanks girlie! I’m really not in shape for a Spartan race. My legs can handle it but my upper body is in desperate need of conditioning. This might just be the push I need to focus on strength training.

  4. Pingback: Spartan Update | Noshing On Asphalt

Leave a Reply

