Kickin’ it for CASA 5k

Last Friday night I ran the Kickin’ it for CASA 5k.  I guess because I work for a non-profit, I’m a sucker for almost any race benefiting a non-profit.  CASA (court appointed special advocates) is a national organization comprised of volunteers who advocate in the court system for abused and neglected children.  I mean, how can you not love an organization like that??  It’s like not liking the Humane Society – you just can’t do it!  Or I can’t.  I’m a sucker for those precious furry faces (the animal’s furry faces, not the kids – geez).

The race started at 6pm in Bay St. Louis at the sport’s complex.  It. Was. HOT! Temps in the 90s + insane humidity.

Encouraging words from the local meteorologist…NOT!

I met two of my favorite running girls there.  We had decided earlier in the week not to race this 5k but run it for fun since we had a 9 miler the next morning.  We picked up our bibs/t-shirts and lined up at the start.

The course was nice, winding its way through a really pretty neighborhood and the volunteers were awesome. I got lots of high fives, thumbs-up’s and words of encouragement.  Loved it! (Side note: Nothing is worse at a race then passing volunteers who obviously don’t want to be there.)

At mile 1 my Garmin beeped letting me know I finished the first 1/3 of the race.  I looked and saw 8:24.  Shoot.  That was WAY too fast; I knew I couldn’t sustain that pace in the heat and I wanted to save some of my energy for the morning.  About ½ way through the race I was really starting to feel all of the 90+ degrees and backed off.  I made it to the turn around, grabbed some water (I have never been SO happy to have a cold drink) and started on the last half.   I managed to keep a decent pace and finish {somewhat} strong.

My feet were so hot I felt like they were about to spontaneously combust at any moment.

This certainly wasn’t the fastest 5k I’ve ran but it wasn’t the slowest either.  Could I have pushed harder? Definitely.  Was I glad I didn’t? Absolutely.  I finished at 29:24 which equates to 9:14 pace (the course was about a .10 mile long) and even though I set out to run it just for fun I ended up placing 2nd in my age division – yay!

My sweaty 2nd place smile.

After we finished the 5k, the girls and I hung around for a bit.  We listened to the band, watched some kickball (Kickin’ it for CASA…get it??) and waited for the awards.  Sorry about the duplicate guitar picture from Monday’s post but I just looooove it so much!

Yep, I matched the singer’s fan-freaking-tastic guitar!
What can I say? I gravate towards bright things…

The awards were well worth the wait because Stacey and Lorena placed in their age divisions, too! So proud of those girls.  The race director did a fantastic job putting everything together and I can’t wait to do it again next year!  I did put in a request for cooler weather next year; we’ll see if she can make that happen – lol!

Each one of the plaques we received for placing was hand painted by a child CASA helped.
How cool is that!?!

Question:  What’s your favorite charity to run for and why?

2 thoughts on “Kickin’ it for CASA 5k

Leave a Reply

