MCM Training: Week 3 Recap

Training week 3…..Done!  I can honestly say I’m glad to have this week in the rear view mirror.  I had some really great runs and some really tough runs, both physically and mentally.  My training mileage for this week was supposed to be 20; although, I realized I accidentally shorted myself a mile on hill work (tragic, right?) but I threw in a 5k the day before my long run so it kind of offset everything.  Grand total for mileage this week was 22.1.Source

The intensity of this week’s training dialed up a bit with the introduction of hill work.  Monday was just an easy-peasy run so I was still feeling fresh Tuesday for the hill work.  We (my training partners and I) did 3 miles and managed to keep a great pace – 9:52.  It was 92 degrees out + humidity so we were battling 100 degree heat index on the hills – ooftah! Lately, I’ve been happy with anything under a 10 minute pace.

The next day (Wednesday) I had a solo 4 miler on the schedule and my mind fought my body the entire run.  I could feel every bit of the hill work from the night before and really wanted to turn around and go home.  Thank goodness for training plans, I knew that if I quit I’d have to look at a blank spot on my plan for the next 13 weeks.  Talk about guilting myself into finishing, but, hey, it worked.  I know I could have totally benefitted from music but when I do solo runs I stay unplugged for safety reasons.  On the plus side, running solo & unplugged gives me lots of time to ponder the great mysteries of life. Mainly what I’m going to eat when I  get home.

The after effects of a terrible run. I’m so ready to be done with these high heat index runs!

After the not so fantastic Wednesday run I was super happy that Thursday was a rest day. Hooray!

Up next was my non-training plan approved Friday 5k, Kickin’ it for CASA night race.  I’m going to do a race recap later this week but just the short version – I had a great time and placed 2nd in my age division. It was by no means a PR type race but my goal was to run it for fun and save my energy for Saturday’s long run.  It was a great race and benefitted a fantastic organization!

Kickin’ it for CASA 5k
I loooooove how I matched the band singer’s guitar! (Yes, I do like obnoxiously bright clothing.)

On the downside, I learned the hard way that it’s not a smart idea to run a race when you have a 9 mile long run scheduled less than 12 hours later.  Props to people who do the Goofy Challenge at Walt Disney World!  My legs were pretty trashed before I even started the long run but my training girls and I got it done.  My friend Karla, she’s running the Marine Corps Marathon, too, tweaked her knee  so she paced on us her bike and provided great roadside motivation.  I don’t know how many times she told us that we looked fantastic even though I’m pretty sure I at least looked like death warmed over… After we were done I literally had to wring the sweat out of my running skirt before getting in my car – it was pretty gross.Source

All-in-all it was a week of ups and downs and personal growth. I now know that throwing extra miles into a training plan isn’t a great idea; my legs are still tired. I’m looking forward to week four but know this week’s going to be challenging time wise getting all my runs in.  I graduate college on Saturday (YAY, YIPPEE, HOORAY!!) so I’m going to have lots of family coming in.

Question:  What do you do to overcome a tough training week?

6 thoughts on “MCM Training: Week 3 Recap

  1. Just take it a week at a time, don’t stress about particular workouts and how they went. Did it go great? Awesome, you got it done. Did it suck? Awesome, you STILL got it done. Hope you have a great week! 🙂

  2. Congrats on a)graduation b)getting through a tough week and c)having one of the coolest tights I’ve ever seen! Guilt is a big motivator for me too, it’s not always a bad thing!

    • Thanks girlie! I loooove reading your comments! 🙂 I’m a big fan of bright and colorful stuff and I actually found those capris for $15 on clearance at Under Armour. (I’m also a BIG fan of sales!)

Leave a Reply

