Vega Energizing Smoothie Review

A few weeks ago Vega did a shout out for bloggers to review their Energizing Smoothie.  After a quick Google search of their product, I found that it was a clean (love) plant-based nutrient drink (super love!).  How has this escaped my radar for so long??? I absolutely adore finding new, healthy items that I can add into my life soI decided to send an e-mail letting them know I was interested in doing a review.  Last week I received a sample in the mail – heck yeah I love free stuff!  Now, I did receive the samples in order to write a review but the opinions in this post –good, bad or indifferent- are 100% mine.

Side note – I seriously get excited, like kid in a candy store excited, to get anything in the mail that’s not junk or a bill.  I know, I’m pitiful.

Vega sent 5 different flavors with awesome names like Bodacious Berry, Choc-a-lot, Oh Natural, Tropical Tango and Vanilla Almondilla with each flavors having the following bragging rights:

  • Two servings of veggies
  • 10 g of complete, plant-based protein
  • 5 g of fiber
  • 1 g of Omega-3
  • No sugar added
  • Vegan friendly, gluten free, soy free
  • No artificial anything (colors, preservatives, ect.)

Now, I’m a berry kind of person so I of course tore into the Bodacious Berry flavor first.   I opened the sample, gave it the sniff test (which it passed), added it to my organic skim milk and proceeded to follow Vega’s instructions of “just shake and pour”.

Riley says I want some, too, Mama!

Alright, so I don’t actually have a fancy-schmancy mixer thingy but my martini shaker works perfectly fine thank you very much.  *In my best James Bond voice* I prefer my smoothie, shaken not stirred.

Don’t let the greenish color scare you; those are just little particles of earthy goodness for your body to love.

The berry flavor was very prominent and I was pleasantly surprised to find it lacking the familiar chalky taste that so many supplement drinks have.  I have to be honest that I found it a bit on the sweet side but the berry flavor was the only one that was like that.  I had the smoothie as my breakfast with a side of banana.  Breakfast is typically my ‘big’ meal of the day so I was worried that I’d be famished before my 10am 2nd breakfast (yes, I eat two breakfasts) but the smoothie held over really well.  I also felt much more invigorated that morning than I normally do. Coincidence? I think not.

Vega + morning devotion = great start to the day!

Out of all of the flavors, I fell in love with the Choc-a-Lot.  I made it after my long run on Saturday and it was the perfect recovery drink!  In fact I’m going to go ahead and order the full size pouch just so I can have it as my post long run recovery drink during marathon training.  I’m excited to play around with it a bit more. I think it would be really good blended with an avocado or some natural peanut butter; might even taste like a Reece’s Cup!

Choc-a-Lot, the flavor I fell in love with.

Choc-a-Lot, the flavor I fell in love with.

Want a chance to win some Vega for yourself? Just visit their facebook page by clicking the image below and submit a picture showing them what energizes you!  They are giving away 110 prizes which gives you a really great chance of winning something awesome! Check out my entry to find out what energizes me.

On my schedule this weekend is a 5k Friday night and then a 9 miler Saturday morning.  Sounds like a great weekend to me!

10 thoughts on “Vega Energizing Smoothie Review

    • I know! I have trouble finding a good variety of health foods in my store, too. I end up doing a lot of online shopping which means I have to pay shipping & handling… 😦 Hopefully stores will start noticing that consumers like healthy options!

  1. I’ve had these sitting on my kitchen table since receiving but still haven’t reviewed. Having the chocolate one post-LR is a great idea. Thanks for the review!

  2. Sounds like a great prouduct, I have heard of it but have not tried it. I agree it is often tough to find good plant based easy foods

  3. Pingback: No Sugar Challenge Update & Vega Giveaway | Noshing On Asphalt

  4. Pingback: Thrive Forward

Leave a Reply

